We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic eatery...”
Review of Cafe Margot

Cafe Margot
Ranked #705 of 4,844 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: Argentinian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic eatery...”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

A quaint, local restaurant in Boedo - No one spoke English, and we didn't speak Spanish, a diner at the next door table helped us order ice for the wine - and we loved it! We randomly pointed out something on the menu, and was served a light dinner consisting of bread, cheeses, and meats a while later. Prices were reasonable, service was friendly and prompt, and food and wine was good!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank EugenieNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    109
    33
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for!”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I don't think I've ever seen a menu with quite so much on it! At first we were under the impression that it was a sandwich bar, but there is much, much more to it than that.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank speedbirdSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A non-touristy "Bar Notable" with good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I live in Boedo, just two blocks from Cafe Margot, and whenever we go out to eat, we like to go there, despite the fact that there are many restaurants on Ave. Boedo close by. Margot has a wonderful old atmosphere (even though it's not really old, but a copy of the previous cafe), it feels authentically old. Good traditional fare--I always have the Brochette Mixto and it's delicious. Lots of their dishes are homemade. Nice wines. Another good point is that you can eat there at any time, as it's a "cafe," and not a restaurant that opens at 9:00 p.m.

Non pretentious and reasonable. Just don't put any faith into the turkey sandwich they brag about inventing!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tangocherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Authentic local cafe”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

This is an authentic local cafe in the Boedo district recommended by locals. A straightforward menu, lots of meat, reasonable selection of wine and beer. Very busy especially after 9 PM. Recommended.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Margot also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Cafe Margot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing