We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with Character”
Review of Intersur Recoleta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Intersur Recoleta
Ranked #139 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a nice older hotel that has all the modern conveniences. The rooms are large with a comfortable king-size bed, compact but adequate bathroom. The A/C that works very well is welcome in the sticky summer heat.
Unfortunately our room did not have a night-table and lamp on one side - if I had not had an electronic reader I would have been very upset.
The best buffet breakfast during our trip. Excellent, helpful service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

I am giving this an average rating based on the location of the hotel. The hotel itself could use some upgrades including a paint job in the halls and rooms. The staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpful when it comes to advice on touring. The breakfasts do not change at all and after a couple of days become boring. It was raining quite a bit when we were there in February and the hotel did not have complimentary umbrellas, Friends who stayed in other hotels in the area had hotel umbrellas. This is something that this hotel should consider.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our stay in Buenos Aires was to be one of the highlights of our visit to South America. Our stay at the Intersur Recoleta helped to make our stay of 5 nights both enjoyable and memorable - whilst the hotel is a little tired, it was very comfortable, staff were helpful and breakfast was good.
We were caught out on the local scam whereby I gave the taxi driver a hundred pesos note and was short changed - it could have been a lot worse!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days post cruise. The service level at this hotel is not up to any standard - it doesn't exist. Upon arrival the hotel staff was wholly unaccommodating in regards to our early arrival. It was pouring rain and we were being looked after by a local who had picked us up and the airport and was able to communicate with the staff but to no avail, we were told to come back at regular check in time. They have one bell boy, and I use this term deliberately-a very young man does try and help with the bags but he is basically on his own even though there are several men on suits in the lobby that we can only assume are security since they do not do anything other than stand around. The rooms are in shameful condition. The walls are not just banged up but the wall in our sitting room had clearly suffered a flood as there was a line across the whole wall about 2 feet from the floor of bubbled and flaking wall. The room size is nice but I have to say, the window on to the "courtyard" is really a window on to a dark space surrounded by windows rendering it unusable in any way. The bathroom appears to have been renovated and is ok, the water pressure is amazing and will spoil you as it did us!

There is a fridge with a few items and the only glasses in the room (at all) are found in there. We found glasses complete with lipstick smudges and fingerprints. So gross as I type this it still revolts me.

We had asked the front desk to make us a reservation-they called and got off the phone stating we didn't need one. (we did and a wait at our destination ensued). We asked them to call us a cab, they said their phones where busy but when the bellboy gets back he will hail us one-we waited, he did. No biggie but still; service? Not the type we are accustomed to.

Breakfast is not worth trying to find. It is in an out of the way place with no signage-follow the vague instructions until you hear the clink of dishes. Nothing felt clean in there and the food was not appetizing.

The location. The location makes this place all worth it. Easy walk to Recoleta Cemetery, malls, Florida Street. the Pink palace etc-you can walk almost anywhere and see almost everything. Though our guide warned us over and over about pickpockets etc we felt safe in the Recoleta area overall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnietheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great location for being able to walk to many sites. Supermarket was 200 metres away and many nice places to eat within walking distance. Felt safe walking in the area at night. Had a junior suite and rooms were a good size but upkeep has not been maintained. All the walls had many marks and chips on them. The carpet as you enter the area for breakfast had a large stain. Each morning we ate breakfast the crockery, especially the bowls had chips on them. We often had to ask for crockery as they had run out. Staff were helpful though the front reception was small and often had to wait for assistance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beinys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a great location in Recoleta for seeing things by foot. We felt safe at all times in this area. The staff of the hotel was extremely helpful and didn't seem to tire of our many questions. The suite was of good size and the bed was extremely comfortable. Everything was kept very clean and we had clean sheets and towels every day. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very generous with hot and cold dishes, many choices of pastries and fruits, cold cuts, coffees and teas and fresh juices. We would return here.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor over looking the street and still it was very quiet. The elevator is fast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0ckinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on a pre-cruise stay. We arrived early in the morning and managed to get into our room by noon - which was much appreciated.

The hotel is in a good location - with parks, and shops close bye.

We had booked a Junior Suite and were a little disappointed with it. The room was a good size with a large area off the bedroom which would have been ideal for a seating area. But all it had was a desk and chair - no sofa. Our friends had a standard room and although it was smaller, it had exactly the same furnishing. So there was little point in paying the extra for the Junior Suite.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atomise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Esplendor Plaza Francia
Esplendor Plaza Francia
#61 of 444 in Buenos Aires
441 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#112 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,332 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#38 of 444 in Buenos Aires
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#18 of 444 in Buenos Aires
761 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#175 of 444 in Buenos Aires
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intersur Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intersur Recoleta

Address: Avenida Callao 1764 | Entre Guido y Quintana, Buenos Aires C1024AAQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#77 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#78 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#89 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#116 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £81 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Intersur Recoleta 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining classic architecture with luxurious interiors, Intersur offers a spa and gym facilities in the exclusive Recoleta neighbourhood. Wi-Fi is free. Intersur Recoleta has elegant rooms with cream-coloured carpeted floors, upholstered chairs and flat-screen cable TV. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, work desks and bathrooms with baths. Some rooms feature city views and hydro massage tubs. Intersur is only 7 blocks from the Museum of Fine Arts and 4 blocks from the famous Recoleta Cemetery. The trendy restaurant district, Puerto Madero, is a 10-minute drive. The tour desk can assist with tips and tango show tickets. A buffet breakfast with pastries and croissants is served daily at Recoleto Bar, featuring plenty of light and glass panelled ceilings. Open to guests and general public, Marcelo Restaurant offers Italian cuisine dishes and an exclusive wine menu. There is a 24-hour front desk. Jorge Newbery Airport is 4 km away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Intersur Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intersur Recoleta Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing