We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Five-Star Oasis”
Review of Mio Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mio Buenos Aires
Ranked #21 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is a sleek, elegant and quiet oasis in the heart of the most elegant part of Buenos Aires. Decor is modern, sophisticated, and quiet. First floor has seating areas for dual use as venue for daily breakfast (included in room price if you dine on the first floor and available as room service for a charge of $20 per person). Bar is open all day and includes many call brand liquors that are common for Americans but not readily available in Argentina (such as high-end vodkas). Reception personnel speak English and are able to offer helpful advice on tourism and travel matters. Free wifi thoughout the hotel and well-maintained computer and travel library area (most literature is written in Spanish) on the second floor. Heated pool, spa area, and 3 exercise machines on a high floor of the hotel. Junior suites include balcony overlooking courtyard, separate rainforest shower, separate toilet/bidet, open area with wooden bathtub and handheld shower and sink area with big mirror; elegant king-size bed; iPod dock and flat screen tv//DVD; free wine pour !; mini bar; safe, l-shaped couch in sitting area. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Mio is located in the heart of Recoleta, a very nice area to stay when in BsAs. It is literally walking distance from Recoleta Cemetary and many restaurants/activities. The front desk personnel was very nice, helpful, and ever willing to make sure our stay was the best. And it was. Martin and Franco were really informative about activities in and around BsAs. And if they were unsure, they would find out and let us know within minutes. We had a basic idea of what to do when in BsAs, but these guys really made our trip wonderful. The rooms are great, we had a Jr. Suite and it's very spacious, comfortable and clean. The only issue we had (and that too, it did not last long) was prior to getting in the shower, there would be a particular smell but it would go away within minutes and was not present when in the shower. The breakfast was good, typical...eggs (cooked your way), varied meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, coffee/tea/juices. Overall, the location was really the best. 1 block from Alvear Palace. But the front desk staff was incredibly helpful which really makes it a friendly place. I would highly highly recommend staying here when in BsAs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intltraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Mio.

Staff - We thought the staff was great. They were helpful, spoke fluent English and made reservations and dealt with issues that came up without any problems.

Location - This hotel is in the heart of Recoleta. It is one block from the Alvear Palace, two blocks from the Hyatt and 5 blocks from the Four Seasons. This location is superb for touristy stuff and exploring BA. The area is very upscale, clean and always felt safe.

Facilities- The hotel is new and everything is modern with wood and slate. We liked the decor. It was very luxurious. The facilities were all maintained and clean.

Breakfast - Breakfast was served at their bar area in the lobby. Eggs cooked to order were good. They also had juice, coffee, pastries, bread, fruit, etc. Very nice.

Room - We stayed in the Deluxe room which are their smallest. The room was spacious and had a safe, flat screen tv, wifi (Which was fast), a gorgeous tub made of wood, nice stall shower, etc. The bed was very comfortable and all of the towels were fluffy and high quality. The furnishings were to the highest standards.

Issues - The AC in the room didn't work well. It kept turning off so the room never got particularly cold. Also, the walls are extremely thin. Our neighbor on our first night was loud. We could hear his TV, his music, his speaking, etc. Luckily he moved out after our first night so it wasn't an issue, but if you are a light sleeper, the thin walls could be a problem.

Overall, it was a nice stay. The hard facility is as nice as any hotel in BA (Hyatt/4 Seasons included) and the staff was nice. Assuming you have quiet neighbors, this is a great hotel in pretty much the best location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adamtope23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My partner and I (in our 40's) spent four great nights at Mio BA, after a 9 day cruise from Rio to BA. After extensive online research, we booked a junior suite at Mio. We are ardent travelers, and have stayed at high end hotels (Ritz, Four Seasons, etc.), to smaller independent hotels in cities around the world. Mio Buenos Aires exceeded our expectations. The neighborhood is fantastic (peaceful, yet convenient to everything), service blows other "high end" hotels out of the water, and our room was an oasis after long days of touring the city. Certainly a "boutique" hotel. The room was expansive with sitting area, king bed, marble, unique wood tub, fantastic steam shower. Free WIFI, champagne on tap, and balcony. Phenomenal breakfast too. If you are looking for a traditional room layout, then perhaps the Mio isn't for you. The tub and sink are in the main space, elevated on a beautiful marble floor. A great urban feel overall, and the room was incredibly comfortable. Service was a stand out. Kudos to Egor, Bruno, and Martin, who all provided us the service that surpassed even the best hotels worldwide. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Only 30 rooms, and all are great. For quiet, ask for a room in the back. Top floors have dupex roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BostonTraveller000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The area where the hotel is just couldnt be better
The service was just OK
I live in NYC and my standards were high
Also, the reviews on TripAdvisor were amazing
For the price we paid I was definitely expecting more
The decor is cool, the rooms are cool, the area is amazing but I was definitely expecting better service

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChristianSteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Open only 8 months this hotel was a wonderful discovery on a recent trip to Buenos Aires. On arrival tucked away in one of the busy streets in upmarket Recoleta is an imposing double vaulted wooden front door. This sets the tone for the hotel immediately. Discreet and stylish with the most friendly helpful staff I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.  Beautifully designed, chic, modern and spacious comfortable rooms with a carved wooden bath in the middle of the bedroom and a tiny balcony overlooking the street we found it a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. The bed was very comfortable and the spa pool on the 8th floor was a wonderful place to unwind at the end of the day. The breakfasts were outstanding with freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly baked croissants, breads and cakes, fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as a cooked breakfast. The staff are outstanding and accommodating serving us 1/2hour earlier than their starting time so we could eat before leaving to catch an early flight.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlaneurTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

A friend of mine, who has traveled to BSAS many times, recommended MIO BUENOS AIRES based on an email invitation he received. I was planning a weekend escape for my wife b-day, and booked a couple of nights there! Wow, what a pleasant surprise it was!! The room was perfect! A wooden bathtub in the room (first I thought a llitle odd), but then when I used it, changed my mind...
Location, Location, location.... It couldn't be better! In the middle of Recoleta! Near bars, restaurants, shops, antiques, etc.
Service was superb! They know you by name...being a small boutique hotel.
Since I mixed business and pleasure i during this trip, I stayed also at the Marriott and the Four Seasons. After the first night at this hotels, I wanted to go back to the MIO!!!! I can't wait to go back to Buenos Aires to stay there again...
Breakfast was plentiful and varied (included in my fare). The other restaurant did no try (but been told that it was very nice).
If you're a wine fan as me...visit nearby wine store, Le Choix du Vins at Posadas street. Just a couple of blocks away from the hotel. The best wine store in town.
Regards,
Rick

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanoa1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#17 of 442 in Buenos Aires
770 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 442 in Buenos Aires
818 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#7 of 442 in Buenos Aires
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#34 of 442 in Buenos Aires
845 reviews
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#37 of 442 in Buenos Aires
775 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mio Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mio Buenos Aires

Address: Avenida Pte Manuel Quintana 465, Buenos Aires C1129ABA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#15 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#32 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £146 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mio Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mio Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mio Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing