We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #53 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel was great, and the rooms very clean. The location was central enough and close to two subway lines although still a little bit of a walk to visit areas such as San Telmo, Recoleta, and Puerto Madero. However in saying that we still managed to walk everywhere! BA is a huge city so everything is quite spread out and when we stayed (between xmas and new years) the city was quite quiet so it could be a little daunting walking home at night from dinner sometimes as it was eerily quiet at some points. It never felt dangerous, however as a female I wouldnt have chosen to walk the areas alone. The hotel itself though was great, very clean, breakfast was good and rooms were very spacious. The reception staff were friendly although not overly helpful so if seeking tourist advice you may need to look elsewhere! One more thing - they do claim to allow guests to share a pool with another local hotel - but please note that hotel is 20 mins drive away - in fact the reception staff did not even know where exactly it was!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backpacker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

A great hotel sityated close to all areas.
Everywhere pretty much in walking distance.
Clean room every day
No flash mod cons but spacious and clean which is the main thing.
On arrival our room was in disrepair and the front desk immediately ensured we were moved to a better room.
Definitely one to recommend for putting your head down.

One downside was gym thatis advertised was not in use and we had read this from soem months before. Check first if you need the gym.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Positive; Service was good and friendly from the staff that speaks well English. We were 6 adults 4 children for 3 nights,we all got rooms next to each other.well taken care of, good free wifi in rooms, 1 room had a bathtub and 2 rooms had showers.We could check out later from one of our rooms.Cleaning is well.very close to a metro line, we had view to 9 of July street which is great.great price ( approx 1500 peso for 3 nights for a double room, without breakfast). It's located in San Telmo area,one of the oldest of the city.approx 20 min walk to the pink palace.
Negative; not able to check in early, a hassle with 4 small kids that's been flying for 12 hrs. Breakfast was not incl. in our price, and we had to pay 15 us dollar pr person if we wanted breakfast.gym is not ready jet,so three old instruments are place in a small room. My boyfriend complained of noise from street, but I slept good. We stayed in 4 floor.

Room Tip: High floor that overlook 9 of July avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakypaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We only stayed the one night but it was enough to really enjoy this grand hotel.

Checking in was simplicity itself and within moments of completing the registration card we were taken up to our room overlooking the main boulevard. That was a bonus as we had arrived at 11:00 and check-in wasn’t officially until 14:00.

The room was huge and very comfortable with a high ceiling and plenty of space. Indeed, we’ve stayed in smaller apartments.

A large double bed with good linen and pillows, flat screen TV and enough English speaking channels (although the picture was not the best quality), plus air conditioning, free in-room wi-fi, mini bar and enough storage space to house the global debt. One of the wardrobes housed the large than standard safe which could readily accept our laptop and other valuables.

The bathroom was equally as impressive with a big walk in shower cubicle, WC, basin and bidet, plus good quality towels and free toiletries.

Both rooms were spotlessly clean.

It was peaceful and comfortable and we had a very pleasant stay, with the hotel even looking after two of our bags as we travelled on through Argentina.

Staff were excellent, many spoke good English and we would readily recommend staying here for business or pleasure.

NOTE: We booked without breakfast but it was on offer and check out is a very early 10:00.

As usual feel free to drop us a line or checkout our Blog site (see profile for details) or Google “ktelontour” for more info, tips and pictures.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 night before flying back to SCL and on to SYD. There was no one around and we had to struggle throu door with luggage. The check in was slow and muddled and we then had to go back down to reception to retrieve our bags as bell boy was not around and we waited in room 30 mins. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and their is price value but I prefer to pay more and have more home comforts.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Drjamieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel is the best one I have stayed in thus far! I travel frequently and have to say that Scala Hotel in Buenos Aires was impeccable. They have the cleanest rooms I have ever seen. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. I was sick the last day and they brought me a glass of warm water, lemon and honey, I felt special. Everyone in the hotel is friendly and courteous. I even meet the owner, when I asked her for a store to buy something she went above and beyond & was kind enough to take me there. I have never received that kind of service. This is the hotel everyone needs to stay in when in Buenos Aires! I am recommending it to all my friends and can't wait to return. The rooms and breakfast were tremendous!!! On a scale of 1-10 I give it a 10 on all aspects. It is better to change currency in the hotel you get a better rate.

Room Tip: room was perfect, I was in the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RosieMendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed two seperate nights at the scala and I really liked it. The rooms were clean and pretty big. The food I had was great. The Internet worked good for me. The breakfast is something to be seen. You feel like you have to try it all but you realize pretty soon that you won t make it.
The only downside was that I had to pay another half day because I did not leave until 5 pm. My flight back home didn´t leave before 9 pm. But, that was okay, better than beeing outside in 5°C.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andiv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#62 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,271 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#42 of 442 in Buenos Aires
835 reviews
Montserrat
Eurobuilding Hotel Boutique Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
#41 of 442 in Buenos Aires
949 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#52 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,072 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#65 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scala Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scala Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Bernardo de Irigoyen 740, Buenos Aires C1072AAP, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £47 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scala Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located over the famous 9 de Julio Avenue, a few steps away from the traditional San Telmo neighborhood, stands the Scala Hotel Buenos Aires, a refined building, built in 2011, which offers spacious rooms and suites, specially designed to enjoy a comfortable stay, whether you are for business or pleasure. Because of its strategic location, near the historic, cultural, financial, and gastronomic part of Buenos Aires, the Hotel allows easy access to the main attractions of the City, and to the principal highways and airports as well. In addition, the Hotel has also five meeting rooms of different capacities, both suitable for corporate or social events. International Restaurant │Bar │Parking Lot │Wi-Fi free │Gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scala Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing