We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well located...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #58 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean and well located...”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I've spent 10 days in Buenos Aires for businees reasons and my agent book this hotel for me considering it well located for me.
It was. Very close to mrt station, walking distance from business city and at the same same time quite well located for local attraction expecially if you are willing to take a taxi.
Common areas and room are simple but clean.
Restaturant does not offer big choises but anyway hotel consierge can suggest you any kind of restaurant nearby located.
Overall good money for value.
Gymnasium was under rennovation at my time and this actually was my biggest dissapoint... Anyway, not a big trouble, hope now it's well renewed.
Surounding looks ok, you are not in the core of the movida of course... But it can be manage if you are there for business.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego S, Director Comercial at Scala Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know our hotel fulfilled your expectations, and we do hope you come back in the future not only for work but for vacations as well! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    346
    63
    12
    14
See reviews for
163
409
39
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Scala hotel in Buenos Aires is a very good choice.
The reservations office works very good, friendly people and effective work.
Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Good restaurant, breakfast is good and has many choices and good service.
A month after departure, I had to ask for a copy of my invoice, it took just a couple of hour to get it by email.
The infrastructure and service of the hotel are similar to a higher level hotel but keeping a good value.
I will definitely stay again while visiting Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuanCSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego S, Director Comercial at Scala Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your important feedback and for your preference. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our infrastructure and service. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bariloche, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

If you want a modern 4**** hotel with the absolute best price/quality rate, look no further. SCALA is the place. You pay a very low price for what they offer, unbeatable in Buenos Aires as far as I know (and it´s my job to know).

It starts with the modern building, right on the impressive Avenida 9 de Julio, where the bellboy awaits to take your luggage when you leave your taxi. The lobby is very spacious and everything looks in tip-top condition. Checking in is fast and professional and the 3 elevators are modern and big enough for two or three persons with luggage. That may seem normal to the average traveller, but then you don´t know Buenos Aires hotels :)

Room is very spacious, especially if you opt for a superior room (only a few dollars more per night, really wordth the extra). If you´re on the frontside, do keep in mind that there will be some traffic noise, even though the windows are double glass. Bathroom is ok, with the basic amenities and, as always in Argentina, a bidet. Bathtub is a normal size, water pressure is very good.

After a good night sleep you´ll go down to the lobby where you´ll find the breakfast area. And this is maybe even the best part of the experience, the breakfast is huge and with good variation, even some scrambled eggs (although I didn´t try them). Coffee is pretty ok too, but that´s always a personal taste.

Only minor drawback maybe is the location. It´s on Avenida 9 de Julio, wich is perfect, but just a bit far "south", you´re on the edge of San Telmo. Personally, I´m not a big fan of San Telmo, but if that barrio is your thing, you´ll love the location. There are always taxis passing by the hotel and the underground (Subte) station Independencia of the C-line is right next door.

In all, a very good stay for a perfect price, highly recommended if you want some luxury for your buck.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter ofcourse, but miss the view to the hectic Avenida 9 de Julio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tipica_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego S, Director General at Scala Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience with us. We do appreciate your comments regarding the facilities as well as our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Scala Hotel Buenos Aires. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenosAires
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Yeah both.

See if you are a) you will pay less (by far) and you'll get better service. So you'll probably like this hotel, unless your priority is service. If you're from Bs As and are visiting, or from other provinces, approach with caution and do your research, there are better options nearby.Read on.

Service is Argentina like: either really great or non existant. This will be random so you might get a 100% great experience or you will encounter some bumps here in there. It depends on who gets your email,who is in the reception desk,etc,etc. For 4 stars I expect consistency,you won't get it here .

If you're from BsAs or Argentina in general you'll be treated with familiarity which can turn into a lack of good service, if you let them feel comfortable with that. You'll also pay more in dollars, I recommend booking with a foreign site as a minimum.

On the other hand, this hotel has excellent rooms, you'll love them. Pick one of the top floor rooms,they're bigger and you'll enjoy the view. Noise isolation is decent, but you are in front of one of the major avenues,so don't expect cemetery like silence. Everything is clean too.

If you plan on using wifi,pray its not holiday day in Argentina,and that your room is near one of the better hotspots. When it works it's great, but I had to literally jump between access points to be able to maintain an stable connection. Also no Ethernet, if you care about that. Service on holidays is spotty,not enough staff to cover demand I guess. But I'm not getting a discount so....

Oh the gym. Wait no "Fitness Center". Ok, they don't have any,they are building it on the top floor, but meanwhile there is just a small room (half the size of your room), with a tradmill, a tv and a fan on the floor (?). If you care about this, go elsewhere.

I would return if a) service is better and more consistent b) cheaper

I rate it 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PandaPeleador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Very pleased with this hotel. We paid $69 US a night plus local taxes through Expedia. Stayed for eight nights. The website shows a top notch upscale place. We were wondering if, with the very reasonable price, would we be getting what we saw in the website. The answer is yes! Lobby is large, bright and shiny. Staff well dressed, well mannered and attentive. Person is almost always at the front door, ready to help with bags, etc. Comfortable seating area in the lobby.

Restaurant in hotel is call La Fuente. Each morning they have a buffet which comes to about $14 US. It is a good layout of product and should be sufficient for most tastes. One day the scrambled eggs were undercooked and the meat product was sub par. I advised the waiter and they did not charge for the meal. The menus are limited, prices ok. Dinner starts at 8pm.

Exercise room: one exercycle, one treadmill, one other piece I did not recognize.

Room - Our room, 512, was huge. One separate room with a table and four chairs, all in good shape. We used for computer time and recharging batteries. Lots of outlets.
Internet - Excellent wireless. Appears that they have servers on several floors. No passwords to deal with.
Air conditioning - Excellent and easy to use.
Electrical outlets - many outlets but you are out of luck if you don't have adapters and converters
Smoking - for the longest time, we did not notice any smoking. However, we are lately getting occasional whiffs of tobacco smoke. It is minor enough not to be a problem Then we noticed containers adjacent to elevators that are for ashes. However, no ashes in them. So not sure what the deal is but we have found it acceptable as non-smokers.
Safe for valuables - yes
Towels, linens - towels large and absorbent, linens for bed were clean, crisp and not worn out.
Tissues (kleenex or equal) - no
Facecloths - no
Bed and pillows- King size in this case and pillows large and fluffy
Television - yes. Sometimes the reception was poor but most of the time it was good. Wife found five to eight stations in which one program would be in English and the next would be in Spanish. So you just channel surf to find what you want.
DVD player - no
Shower / bathtub - both but no stopper for the tub. Shower is great. Large volume of water. Sometimes takes a while for the hot water to arrive at the faucet.

I would visit this place again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tukwilaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We returned to Buenos Aires from Patagonia without a hotel reservation and our taxi driver recommended the Scala, a new hotel on the edge of the city center and the San Telmo district, which is within 30 minutes walking distance of some of the main attractions in Buenos Aires. The rooms were large, comfortably furnished and impeccably clean. The breakfast spread is huge with fresh fruit and a variety of pastries, meats, sandwiches, cereals, juices and eggs.

But the best thing about the Scala is the service. The rooms are cleaned quickly and efficiently every morning. I had a problem with the air conditioning in my room and the manager immediately switched me to another room. He let us keep the room late on our day of departure, as a courtesy for the malfunctioning air conditioning. Everything was done efficiently and with a smile.

Equally important was the price. The room was essentially the same price as some of the older "quaint" hotels in Palermo and Recoleto, with much bigger, nicer and cleaner rooms. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have a great view of the avenue, rooms to the side & back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geo_Jorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel was great, and the rooms very clean. The location was central enough and close to two subway lines although still a little bit of a walk to visit areas such as San Telmo, Recoleta, and Puerto Madero. However in saying that we still managed to walk everywhere! BA is a huge city so everything is quite spread out and when we stayed (between xmas and new years) the city was quite quiet so it could be a little daunting walking home at night from dinner sometimes as it was eerily quiet at some points. It never felt dangerous, however as a female I wouldnt have chosen to walk the areas alone. The hotel itself though was great, very clean, breakfast was good and rooms were very spacious. The reception staff were friendly although not overly helpful so if seeking tourist advice you may need to look elsewhere! One more thing - they do claim to allow guests to share a pool with another local hotel - but please note that hotel is 20 mins drive away - in fact the reception staff did not even know where exactly it was!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpacker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#44 of 446 in Buenos Aires
748 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#63 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,227 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#50 of 446 in Buenos Aires
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#54 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,000 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#47 of 446 in Buenos Aires
499 reviews
Montserrat
Tango de Mayo Hotel
Tango de Mayo Hotel
#30 of 446 in Buenos Aires
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scala Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scala Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Bernardo de Irigoyen 740, Buenos Aires C1072AAP, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scala Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scala Hotel Buenos Aires Facing the beautiful Avenida 9 de Julio, be surprised by a new urban icon, neoclassical, to accompany the famous avenue, which connects the north and south of the City. A majestic building that adorns the neighborhood, comes with the purpose of providing its guests an unforgettable experience. Imposing from its entry and lobby for its exquisite style that combines elegance with advanced technology. Because of its strategic location, Bernardo de Irigoyen 740th, San Telmo neighbourhood, known internationally as the birthplace of tango. Buenos Aires Scala Hotel allows easy access to the historic, cultural, financial, and gastronomic part of city. It has 143 spacious rooms and suites designed for comfort. Multiple rooms connected and adaptable to the needs of any type of meeting, product launches and conferences. Social and corporate events. International Bar and a Restaurant of Mediterranean cuisine that will amaze any exquisite taste. Fitness and business center. A swimming pool & Spa will be soon available. Warmth and experience of out staff provide the resources and solutions to the most diverse customer requirements. It makes Scala Hotel Buenos Aires an irresistible proposition in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scala Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing