We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to buy wine!”
Review of Vinotango

Vinotango
Ranked #34 of 173 Nightlife in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best Argentine wines in the heart of San Telmo. English available. Note: Tango show and wine tastings suspended. (Business description edited on August 13th, 2014)
Ct
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to buy wine!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The store is full of wine from many small wineries that you can't find in the supermarket. The prices were good and fit any budget. The lady running the shop was very helpful in suggesting wines. All-in-all, a great place to buy wine!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The liquid essence of San Telmo”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Juan's wine store, situated on the outer rim of Mercado de San Telmo, is enjoyed by locals and travellers alike. Juan, and his mother-in-law who also works in the store a few days a week, are very friendly and knowledgeable about wine, and it's always a pleasure to drop in and find some new wines to try.

Take the time to look around the shop and wait talk to Juan about what you want, he can suggest wine(s) for all levels of wine knowledge, price range, and taste (in castellano or english).

I highly recommend including at least one visit here on your itinerary!

PS - The pictures are a little misleading. They do organise wine tastings, but this is a shop, not a bar!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LexiAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Want to take home a sample of the best wines of AR?”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were introduced to this shop by our BA Cultural Concierge- Madi. We wanted to take home a sampling of the better wines we had tasted and didn't know where to start. This shop owner speaks fluent english (see earlier reviews) as did his assistant in the shop. Recommendations have been right on, based upon the ones we have now sampled upon return. I highly recommend if you want to take home some of Argentina's finer wines (which are quite good). His prices seemed very reasonable. Convenient location in an area of town you will want to see in any case.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine and wonderful service (wine store, not bar)”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Juan is just really lovely guy with excellent wine knowledge who gives you as much time as you need to discuss wine or anything else about Buenos Aires or Argentina.

You can browse at your own pace but really, just ask Juan. His English is great and his wine opinions are unpretentious and very valuable once you tell him what you prefer. But again, just ask Juan what he likes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in Buenos Aires for Argentinian wine”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I met Juan when he was building the furniture in the store. I bought my first bottles from him some days before VinoTango opened and on every ocasion back in Buenos Aires I always pass by Juan just to see what new things he has got on the shelves.
The good thing about Juan is that he has almost everything and especially the wines from small bodegas that no one has ever heard off. Wine that is not priced in the skies but where you can still find gems at very affordable prices. If you like wine and you don't mind a Little treasure hunting, then VinoTango is definitely the right place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vinotango also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Vinotango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing