We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Buenos Aires Hostel”

San Telmo Colonial Hotel Boutique
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Telmo Colonial Hotel Boutique
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stood for three nights. The location is great, just between La Boca and the center. Everything in walking distance. Miriam is the heart of this small B&B hostel and gives you every information you ask for. OK the rooms would need some paint but all was clean and in relation to the price. Getting breakfast in a nearby restaurant is a experience and brings you in contact with the local people. The closed by Telemo Sunday market is a must. We felt very welcome there. When you search for luxury hotel, then is this the wrong place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineAndRolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for about 2 weeks.
Calm location, very friendly owner & staff.
Well the place is a bit "used" and could need some work done (refurbishing etc) but for a moderate price its ok! Great access to San Telmo Night Life & antiques, all very close!

I agree to some other comment, more of a hostel than hotel, but as said for the price that is asked its fully ok! Felt home here & we were always welcome & got good tips for visiting B.A. & Mar de Plata. Here the beeing home & familiy character counts more than beeing into a hotel.
Depending on what you expect & want you can be right here or wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location of the place isn't bad.
And that's all. I have been in lots of hotels, and this one is for sure the worst in the last years. Not clean, dark rooms, old, ... Breakfast is in a ‘café notable’, but not one of the bests.
The entire house is in a bad need of refurbishment.
The manager is a nice woman.
I spent two nights and left.
My advice: try another place

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Elba_de_vacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

What a really great place to stay. You step off the street, out of the traffic, bustle, day and night life of San Telmo, into complete serenity. Not because of the wonders of modern architecture - double glazing and the like - but because they built solid houses back in the 18th Century. As many reviewers note, the accommodation in this small hotel opens onto a couple of peaceful courtyards. And those rooms are varied. Some are small apartments on two floors, others a simple en-suite bedrooms. I had a fridge, a coffee percolator, kettle and sandwich-maker, and wi-fi. As well as the room, there is an elegant sitting room to the front of the hotel that has a computer with internet access.
One of the real blessings of this hotel is that it is shared with the owner, a delightfully interesting and cultivated woman. She has shedloads of information to share ranging from advice on restaurants to a detailed understanding of the socio-political heritage of both Argentina and Latin America in general, all of which is shared without a hint of pretentiousness. You'd go a long way to find someone as obliging, genuine and helpful.
The hotel has a "lived in" feel to it. So don't expect shiny stainless steel fittings and all the characterless hand-me-down chic of so many hotels. This is a place where people live and that people love. I don't live there, but I loved too it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a great stay at the San Telmo Colonial. Location was in a very interesting historical area, close to market, restaurants and entertainment and we always felt safe. Very accessible by public transport.

The hotel was like having a home - rooms with small kitchens grouped around a beautiful courtyard in a historical house. It had a great atmosphere - much more personal than big hotels. In particular the way Ines looked after us made our stay very special - very caring and gave us many good suggestions and helped to organise things for us. This added so much to our visit and it was like staying with a friend.

The place was very clean, had free wi fi and a good breakfast at a cafe nearby. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShelleyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

It was a very confortable and refreshing stay there. The house it´s wonderfull with its gardens and a lot of history around. There is always people to asist you with a lot of good information about the city and the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My boyfriend booked the hotel, so I didn't do my regular research before booking. The hotel is clean, quiet, and charming. It includes a decent breakfast.

The bed was very comfortable. The layout of the room I stayed in is a bit awkward. You enter thru some double doors which lead right to the bed. The doors have glass windows so you have to keep the curtains closed for privacy.

Nearby is La Poesia Bar, which ended up being my favorite spot to eat and have a drink.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRinBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#52 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,448 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#89 of 443 in Buenos Aires
493 reviews
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
#68 of 443 in Buenos Aires
406 reviews
San Telmo
Hostel Carlos Gardel
Hostel Carlos Gardel
#96 of 469 in Buenos Aires
87 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Tiana
Hotel Tiana
#83 of 256 in Buenos Aires
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Telmo Colonial Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Telmo Colonial Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Carlos Calvo 767, Buenos Aires C1102AAO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 469 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £46 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Telmo Colonial Hotel Boutique 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poised within the beautiful and historic San Telmo neigbourhood in Buenos Aires, stands a 19th Century House in Spanish Style. Utterly recicled, it provides idealistic comfort and warmth during your visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Telmo Colonial Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing