We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location subpar hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola
Ranked #9 of 258 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2012

It's with a heavy heart that I write this review. I was very much looking forward to a fabulous 6 night stay and ended up feeling a permanent state of regret. There were some positive aspects to our stay, but unfortunately they did not outweigh all the negative ones-too many to list.

First, the good:
1. Location/Neighborhood - Hands down, this part of Palermo is where you want to stay. Very cool retail stores, art galleries, design shops and hip restaurants to boot. The neighborhood attracts an interesting mix of creative locals and tourists from all over.
2. Friendly staff
3. Comfortable interiors in the common areas.

Areas for improvement:
1. Room interiors - At $330 USD (includes tax), I expected a clean room. Instead, we found mold on the ceiling, stains on the walls/drapes, faucet and bathroom fixtures that were coming undone, holes in the lampshades, and a cheap mattress - pictures attached. When we expressed our displeasure with the state of the room, the following day we were offered the room next door with twin beds with the shallow promise of a "we'll see what we can do later in the week" - needless to say, nothing changed.

2. Service - A friendly staff does not make for a service oriented one. Without trying to disparage the good nature of the people working at this establishment, there is a serious lack of training on proactive hospitality. For example, on the second day of our stay, there was an issue with the spare key to our room and the cleaning staff was unable to clean the room. I understand, these things happen. What I found unacceptable was that the "24 hour" concierge(s) never left a note on our door explaining why we were coming back to an untidy room nor gave any indication that clean towels would be left for us. Instead, it was up to the guests to inquire what happened and where said towels could be found. Full disclosure, they sent someone to clean the room later that night and we left our room key with the front desk every day thereafter. Although, we came home to an unlocked room on a few occasions. Another example of poor training was evident on our last day. At no point during the check-in experience (or 6 nights prior) were we informed of a complimentary continental breakfast. This discovery came when settling the bill for the "extra" charges we incurred, which brings me to my next point.

3. Price gauging/costs "escondido" - See attached photo of item prices at the Jardin Escondido. $10 USD for an espresso, $25 USD for continental breakfast (which is apparently complimentary?), etc etc etc. I travel quite a bit both for work and pleasure and know one pays a premium when ordering at a hotel. What I don't agree with is not informing guests that the 2 water bottles, can of pringles and granola bars on the desk is in fact a mini bar. This may seem trivial, but I really resent it when they charge you $$ for a bottle of water beside your bed.

Overall, our stay here left much to be desired. I highly doubt we will be back to stay at this property or other coppola resorts. If you're looking for a hip, well designed, boutique property in Palermo I highly recommend checking out the Ultra Boutique Hotel instead.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank TripNLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoberteMuchamable, General Manager at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

We have apologized to TripNLuxe and made a partial refund with the intention of compensating in some way for these series of inconveniences. As much as we enjoy praises, we take very seriously and we always try to make profit out of these opportunities for improving the service and guests' general experience.

Thank you, TripNLuxe. We just hope there will be another chance in the future for you to return to BA and our hotel. We know we can do better!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Cannot recommend this place more highly. The house - and it is much more a house than a hotel - is a gorgeous and relaxed environment which serves as a perfect base for exploring the city. The staff, in contrast to a number of other places I've stayed in Argentina, is charming, helpful, and eager to recommend favorite spots nearby. Free food and wine from the house's kitchen are common. Best yet, the hotel is significantly cheaper than comparable places nearby, but definitely exceeds them in comfort and environment.

Finally, it's Francis Ford Coppola's _house_. How cool is that?!

Room Tip: Ask for Francis's room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

When traveling with a large group, you may want to consider renting Francis Ford Coppola's beautiful Buenos Aires hideaway, Jardin Escondido (coppolajardinescondido.com). Yes, it is his house and he rents it when not using it. The home is exquisite and the location is ideal. It is in the Palermo Soho district. You are in walking distance to some of the best shopping in the city and restaurants too -- and not to mention some fun night life. You have to keep in mind that this place was designed as a private house, and while the rooms have private bathrooms, you do share common areas. I must admit, what made this experience ideal is that the entire place was rented by my friend for his 50th birthday celebration - so we all knew each other, and it felt very much like we were staying at someone's home. If we were all individual travelers, and you wanted privacy, you would have to pretty much be confined to your room. But if you love meeting people and don't mind a very capable and professional staff taking care of you, then you will enjoy staying here by yourself as well. It truly is a hidden garden and treasure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Innenhof sind besser
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert_und_Stefanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedeBourbon, Gerente at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank EduardoBraiaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedeBourbon, Gerente at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Yo fui a la habitacion Roman: divina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerialp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedeBourbon, Gerente at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thamelide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedeBourbon, Gerente at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,924 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,715 reviews
Palermo
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
#2 of 444 in Buenos Aires
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#3 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,042 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Palermo
Nuss Buenos Aires
Nuss Buenos Aires
#94 of 444 in Buenos Aires
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola

Address: Calle Gorriti, 4746, Buenos Aires C1414BJL, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £220 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francis Ford Coppola came to Buenos Aires for the making of his film “Tetro” and he fell in love with the city. Now his home in Buenos Aires is open to guests, offering bed & breakfast services.Located in Palermo Soho, one of the most vibrant neighbourhoods, is the lush, green oasis of Jardin Escondido. Boasting three levels of gardens, a pool, an outdoor kitchen and parrilla, and a beautiful terrace surrounded by plants of all kinds, Jardin Escondido is its own hidden paradise.If you've dreamed of a South American destination where a vibrant cultural scene is balanced with a peaceful escape, the excellent staff at Jardin Escondido awaits to make your dream a reality. Jardin Escondido is walking distance to hip fashion and design boutiques, restaurants, bars, craft fairs, and abundant street culture. There is a fresh, artistic atmosphere in the neighborhood, which makes it especially popular with young, sophisticated Argentines and foreign visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing