We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The coolest place to stay in the hippest part of Buenos Aires”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola
Ranked #14 of 274 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hanalei,kauai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The coolest place to stay in the hippest part of Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having recently returned from a fantastic 3 month trip to Colombia,Argentina and Brazil this was the best hotel experience of the entire trip and i stayed in great places everywhere! This hotel quickly becomes your home away from home due to the fantastic staff and ambience. There are only 7 suites built around a central courtyard with a small pool and bbq, the guests are welcome to use that space and the living area, where a great breakfast is served, as a hang-out zone. Everyone quickly gets to know each other, guests and staff intermingle and friendships are quick to develop. The area the hotel is in, the Palermo is fantastic for the best shopping, cafes and restaurants and the architecture and vibe is very parisien with a twist of funk, that is BA. Every member of staff is beyond helpful, from Gladys the fantastic go-to girl for everything to Magali,Fernando,Pablo and even down to the cleaning staff, nothing is too much trouble for them to organize. Glasses of wine, cups of tea, scones, laundry, trips to flea markets, the best moneychangers, advice on far-flung parts of the country and beyond, the best yoga,massage and even trips to see River Plate or Boca Juniors soccer matches, they can organize everything. As a fellow small boutique hotel owner i recognize a fabulous place when i see one and have no hesitation in saying this place is the best in town, look no further and just book. I look forward to returning to this sanctuary in Buenos Aires next year and for many years to come.

Room Tip: Any of the 5 suites away from the road Gorriti tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanaleimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedeBourbon, Manager at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Dear Sir/Madam,

It is with great pleasure that we have received your rating, as well as the compliments paid to Bourbon Be Jardín Escondido.

We thank you for sharing your experience during your stay, as it is extremely important to hear your opinion.

We are glad to know that the customer service, location, infrastructure and provided services exceeded your expectations.

Our greatest pleasure is to service you.

Best Regards,
Magali Escandarani,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
46
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

When you live in a far off land, a visit from your mother (with your god-mother and a their friend in tow) is no small matter. In preparation I researched and visited a number of properties in various areas of Buenos Aires to find the perfect spot. As soon as I arrived at Jardin Escondido I knew it was the right one. The experience that followed did not fail to please. The house is intimate, relaxing and homely, and from start to finish the ladies and we who visited them during their stay enjoyed the hotel immensely. The roof terrace is gorgeous place full of plants and flowers where you can literally hide away and the bedrooms and living spaces are stylish and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. All staff were attentive, generous and genuinely interested in looking after their guests and helping them make the most of their time in Buenos Aires. Thanks to German and all the team!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedeBourbon, Gerente geral at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for visiting Be Jardín Escondido by Coppola. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our accommodation and enjoyed the special service and care we provide to our guests.
We waited for a new opportunity to receive your visit.
Regards,
Magalí Escandarani, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Jardin Escondido is decorated with a lot of taste. Although our bathroom was small, our room was large and beautiful. The breakfast in the morning is great. Everything is fresh and you can choose from a variety of tasty meals. If you come to Jardin Escondido, do not miss in any circumstance the breakfast. On the negative side, rooms are a bit expensive (no swimming pool, no fitness).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebblon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
German R, General Manager at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Gracias Rebblon. We appreciate your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Francis Ford Coppola house in Buenos Aires! On behalf of the JE staff, Germán Rozo.-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Jardin Escondido is a cross between a boutique hotel and a B&B. It is a house with only 7 guest rooms and limited ammenities (i.e. no room service, fitness center, etc.), but has the concierge staffing of a boutique hotel. We booked through a home/apartment rental company and thought that we were getting a house just for our family for the week and so were very surprised/disconcerted when we discovered we actually had hotel rooms. This turned out to be a happy mistake because we loved Jardin Escondido. Friends that live in BA instructed us to stay in Palermo and the location is really great -- in the middle of a very vibrant (but not loud or boisterous) area with tons of boutiques, restaurants, bakeries, etc. Despite being in a hotel, we felt like we were in a house. The common areas (living and dining rooms and garden) are welcoming and lovely and a great place to relax. As far as rooms go, remember that you are staying in an old house with character and so don't expect Hilton-like homogeneity. The 2 bedrooms on the other side of the garden are the best -- large, very quiet, comfortable beds, but perhaps a bit dark. The upstairs rooms facing the garden are also nice. With construction going on across the street, the street-facing rooms are the least desireable if you like to sleep in. It comes with a great (and I'm picky!) full continental breakfast (juice, coffee, yogurt, cereal, loads of delicious fresh fruit, pastries, toast with jams, homemade banana, apple and carrot breads, meat and cheese and eggs to order). Top to bottom, the staff was superb. Thinking that we were staying in a house with access to a washer and dryer, we all packed light; upon discovering this misunderstanding and our dilema, the staff offered to do our laundry. They were also great with various recommendations and reservations. We invited our BA friends to the house/hotel for a wine tasting arranged by the hotel and an asado (BBQ) prepared by the staff; it was delicious, a blast and we almost felt like locals or at least friends invited to a great BBQ! We loved BA and Jardin Escondido so much that we left our next stop in Argentina a day early and came back to the hotel for our last night in Argentina.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyof5Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoberteMuchamable, General Manager at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hola Familyof5!!! It was a pleasure having you staying at Jardin Escondido and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Big THANK YOU from everyone at the house! Salud! GR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

It's with a heavy heart that I write this review. I was very much looking forward to a fabulous 6 night stay and ended up feeling a permanent state of regret. There were some positive aspects to our stay, but unfortunately they did not outweigh all the negative ones-too many to list.

First, the good:
1. Location/Neighborhood - Hands down, this part of Palermo is where you want to stay. Very cool retail stores, art galleries, design shops and hip restaurants to boot. The neighborhood attracts an interesting mix of creative locals and tourists from all over.
2. Friendly staff
3. Comfortable interiors in the common areas.

Areas for improvement:
1. Room interiors - At $330 USD (includes tax), I expected a clean room. Instead, we found mold on the ceiling, stains on the walls/drapes, faucet and bathroom fixtures that were coming undone, holes in the lampshades, and a cheap mattress - pictures attached. When we expressed our displeasure with the state of the room, the following day we were offered the room next door with twin beds with the shallow promise of a "we'll see what we can do later in the week" - needless to say, nothing changed.

2. Service - A friendly staff does not make for a service oriented one. Without trying to disparage the good nature of the people working at this establishment, there is a serious lack of training on proactive hospitality. For example, on the second day of our stay, there was an issue with the spare key to our room and the cleaning staff was unable to clean the room. I understand, these things happen. What I found unacceptable was that the "24 hour" concierge(s) never left a note on our door explaining why we were coming back to an untidy room nor gave any indication that clean towels would be left for us. Instead, it was up to the guests to inquire what happened and where said towels could be found. Full disclosure, they sent someone to clean the room later that night and we left our room key with the front desk every day thereafter. Although, we came home to an unlocked room on a few occasions. Another example of poor training was evident on our last day. At no point during the check-in experience (or 6 nights prior) were we informed of a complimentary continental breakfast. This discovery came when settling the bill for the "extra" charges we incurred, which brings me to my next point.

3. Price gauging/costs "escondido" - See attached photo of item prices at the Jardin Escondido. $10 USD for an espresso, $25 USD for continental breakfast (which is apparently complimentary?), etc etc etc. I travel quite a bit both for work and pleasure and know one pays a premium when ordering at a hotel. What I don't agree with is not informing guests that the 2 water bottles, can of pringles and granola bars on the desk is in fact a mini bar. This may seem trivial, but I really resent it when they charge you $$ for a bottle of water beside your bed.

Overall, our stay here left much to be desired. I highly doubt we will be back to stay at this property or other coppola resorts. If you're looking for a hip, well designed, boutique property in Palermo I highly recommend checking out the Ultra Boutique Hotel instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank TripNLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoberteMuchamable, General Manager at Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
We have apologized to TripNLuxe and made a partial refund with the intention of compensating in some way for these series of inconveniences. As much as we enjoy praises, we take very seriously and we always try to make profit out of these opportunities for improving the service and guests' general experience.

Thank you, TripNLuxe. We just hope there will be another chance in the future for you to return to BA and our hotel. We know we can do better!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Cannot recommend this place more highly. The house - and it is much more a house than a hotel - is a gorgeous and relaxed environment which serves as a perfect base for exploring the city. The staff, in contrast to a number of other places I've stayed in Argentina, is charming, helpful, and eager to recommend favorite spots nearby. Free food and wine from the house's kitchen are common. Best yet, the hotel is significantly cheaper than comparable places nearby, but definitely exceeds them in comfort and environment.

Finally, it's Francis Ford Coppola's _house_. How cool is that?!

Room Tip: Ask for Francis's room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

When traveling with a large group, you may want to consider renting Francis Ford Coppola's beautiful Buenos Aires hideaway, Jardin Escondido (coppolajardinescondido.com). Yes, it is his house and he rents it when not using it. The home is exquisite and the location is ideal. It is in the Palermo Soho district. You are in walking distance to some of the best shopping in the city and restaurants too -- and not to mention some fun night life. You have to keep in mind that this place was designed as a private house, and while the rooms have private bathrooms, you do share common areas. I must admit, what made this experience ideal is that the entire place was rented by my friend for his 50th birthday celebration - so we all knew each other, and it felt very much like we were staying at someone's home. If we were all individual travelers, and you wanted privacy, you would have to pretty much be confined to your room. But if you love meeting people and don't mind a very capable and professional staff taking care of you, then you will enjoy staying here by yourself as well. It truly is a hidden garden and treasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Legado Mitico
Legado Mitico
#12 of 452 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#11 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Palermo
Nuss Buenos Aires
Nuss Buenos Aires
#88 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola

Property: Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola
Address: Calle Gorriti, 4746, Buenos Aires C1414BJL, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francis Ford Coppola came to Buenos Aires for the making of his film “Tetro” and he fell in love with the city. Now his home in Buenos Aires is open to guests, offering bed & breakfast services.Located in Palermo Soho, one of the most vibrant neighbourhoods, is the lush, green oasis of Jardin Escondido. Boasting three levels of gardens, a pool, an outdoor kitchen and parrilla, and a beautiful terrace surrounded by plants of all kinds, Jardin Escondido is its own hidden paradise.If you've dreamed of a South American destination where a vibrant cultural scene is balanced with a peaceful escape, the excellent staff at Jardin Escondido awaits to make your dream a reality. Jardin Escondido is walking distance to hip fashion and design boutiques, restaurants, bars, craft fairs, and abundant street culture. There is a fresh, artistic atmosphere in the neighborhood, which makes it especially popular with young, sophisticated Argentines and foreign visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Jardin Escondido by Coppola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing