We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dessert heaven !!!! ”

Smeterling Patisserie
Ranked #3 of 33 Bakeries in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Recoleta
Description: Smeterling Patisserie & Boutique is a special shop located in the exclusive neighborhood of Recoleta in downtown Buemos Aires where you will discover sweet delicities and the best coffee in town. Taste the Cakes, Macarons, Whoopies and Cupcakes accompanied by an Illy coffee or Twinings tea at our charming shop with an European-inspired atmosphere, or take-away and enjoy them at the confort of your hotel. Another of the stores's surprises is a diverse collection of pastry books and kitchens accesories to inspire your baking. Do not hesitate to stop by with your pet, as there is an adorable "pet-parking" at your disposition.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Dessert heaven !!!! ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Oh my golly goodness this is dessert heaven. This gorgeous little dessert bar is simply delightful with the chefs baking, icing and decorating the desserts right before your eyes. The coffee is beautiful - rich and consistently delicious! They serve the cakes on gorgeous little plates and range from rich chocolate cake topped with fresh raspberries, lime cake, strawberry and chocolate, macaroons and biscuits. It seats about 10 people so you can grab a quick coffee and dessert or alternatively get take away! We had two coffees and an Argentinian cake with a rich chocolate cake, white chocolate cream topped with dulce de leche (caramel). So delicious! It was only 93R. You must pop in here for a visit - absolutely divine!

Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    57
    25
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, good ambience great pastries”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This patisserie had some of the best pastries I have ever tasted

Don't usually give 5 out o 5 but no place to put 4.6

quite a little gem of a place to stop by

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 999PeterA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You have to visit this place”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This little shop is tucked away in a residential area that is so calm it does not seem to be buenos aires. Very small place, sits no more than 10 people, has a fabulous variety of sweets and coffees. I strongly suggest to eat the Dulce the Leche smeterling. out of this world.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank taioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious deserts”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This is absolutely magical place to have a great dessert.
The atmosphere is great and you can watch how they prepare their delicious desserts in front of you.
We were lucky to find a place to seat inside, as there is only a small counter and one table.
The dolce de leche was excellent.
Definitely a must when you are in ricoleta.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gadidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious cakes - Must try!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This pastry shop was on our must-try list during our recent visit to BA's. It's located on what seemed to be a residential area and not on a main street, therefore we almost walked past it when looking for it. The pastries are beautifully presented in the window. Before our visit we thought that Smeterling P was a small cafe where people would eat-in but when we got there and said that we'd like to eat cakes in the shop, the shop lady (possibly the owner) seated us in the small corner of the shop which had only 1 table and two chairs. It looks like most people go there to buy take-out cakes.
The staff explained the flavour of each cake to us and it was difficult to decide which cake to choose as they all looked and sounded delicious. We really enjoyed the mini cakes we chose with our tea and this pastry shop did not disappoint. It's definitely a Must-Try place on your next visit to BA's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbee_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smeterling Patisserie also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Smeterling Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing