We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, good location, fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Petit Hotel El Vitraux
Ranked #6 of 257 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Perfect stay! We got a very warm welcome of a great Dutch-Argentine couple, Elena and Mike, who gived us a small tour in the house. We even got a metrocard on loan, and a little explanation how the public transport worked, although it's close to the city center. We had an big room with a big bed, television, couch: very complete. The rest of the house was very nice and clean and in the morning we got a complete breakfast (cereals, fresh bread, eggs, etc). Every night we even got little chocolates on the nightstands. For all of this, the price for this petit hotel is really fair. Next time in BA, this is the place we will book again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevJohAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed 2 nights with Mike and Elena after a 3 week overlanding trip thru Bolivia and Argentina. I was by myself, so really appreciated their friendliness and hospitality. My room was spacious and comfy and plenty quiet, even tho it fronted on the street. Seems like a good, safe neighborhood. I walked from the subway station (which is close) at night and never felt nervous. The location is good; as I said, 3 blocks to the subway, close to the main downtown area, and walking distance to San Telmo. Mike and Elena are wonderful hosts, willing to help you with whatever you need. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever back in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We didn't meet Elena during our stay but found Mike to be a wonderful host! He was a fantastic source of information on things to do and see in Buenos Aires and where to eat! The B&B itself was the nicest we have stayed in on our travels through South America, our room was lovely, the bed was comfy and the hotel was quiet at night. The location was good, about three blocks off the main street and we walked practically everywhere. Mike gave us a Sube card to use the bus whch was handy for places not within walking distance. Overall a great place to stay with very warm and welcoming hosts who go out of their way to ensure an enjoyable stay-Mike even got up early to see us off the morning we left and made sure we had some breakfast before we left!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitriona k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The owners Mike and Elena were very welcoming and gave us some great tips on exploring Buenos Aires. Mike also gave us a travel card which was hugely useful! The location is good, just a short walk to the subway that links you to the main attractions of the city. The B&B has three large nicely decorated bedrooms with a shared bathroom and a lovely court yard. Really lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonymousTravell3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We love this place! Our stay at Petit Hotel El Vitraux was one of the best experiences in South America. Elena and Mike are the best (they are the best hosts among those that we met in Peru and Brazil and we had very good experience in those countries too)! They are super friendly, funny, and most importantly for first timer in Buenos Aires, they provided great recommendations for places to go, restaurants, and much more.

Elena and Mike provided assistance from the beginning to the end. Shortl after I made reservation at Petit Hotel El Vitraux Elena emailed me right away to greet and asked if I need any help to plan our trip in Buenos Aires. When we arrived the airport the taxi that she helped us arranged was at the airport. After we arrived the place Elena showed us the cute room and the rest of the house. The house is really cute with a lot of characters which my friend and I both love. Elena then gave us info about the neighborhood and recommendations on restaurants. We really hit it off and we asked Elena to join us for dinner and we had a wonderful time learning about her and Buenos Aires. Elena and Mike gives their 110% to help their guests and make them feel like home which we did.

The place is within walking distance to good restaurants and San Telmo (highly recommend to check out this place). The place is in a safe neighborhood even though there's graffiti on walls (they are every where in Buenos Aires unfortunately). There's a laundry store and small grocery store right across from the place.

Note to people who are light sleepers because the traffic on the street can get a little loud at night. I wore ear plugs and my friend didn't need ear plugs and we had no problem falling asleep.

We highly recommend this place to anyone who's going to Buenos Aires. We were really sad to leave Elena and Mike but I plan to go back to Buenos Aires and I will definitely go back to Petit Hotel El Vitruax.

Thank you for everthing, Elena and Mike!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Petit Hotel El Vitraux was definitely the best stay at our Argentina trip. The owners Elena and Mike was very friendly and the rooms are just beautiful. The Breakfast is delicous and enough. The location is very good, just a few meters to the subway. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Mueller_DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

this was the first hostel in the first city of our south american tour and it was by far the best place we stayed. the owners (mike and elena) are fantastic and make the stay so enjoyable as they are both welcoming, helpful and extremely friendly. the rooms are that of a 5 star hotel not an affordable hostel and the location is also good. i couldn't recommend it more to anyone going to beunos aires, we loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#52 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,467 reviews
Recoleta
Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
#5 of 257 in Buenos Aires
217 reviews
La Querencia de Buenos Aires
#4 of 257 in Buenos Aires
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Hotel boutique BONITO Buenos Aires
Mundo Bolivar
#1 of 257 in Buenos Aires
233 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast
Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 257 in Buenos Aires
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Hotel El Vitraux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel El Vitraux

Address: Calle Estados Unidos 1383 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1101ABA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £36 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Petit Hotel is located in the first neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, Monserrat. Next to San Telmo, La Boca, Puerto Madero and right in the city center, you are close to all the interesting places to visit. Completely restored 19th century house, with original façade, high ceilings, all original details including 'El Vitraux'. El Vitraux is owned and operated by it's owners, providing a beautiful and comfortable environment for an unforgettable stay.With it's peaceful patio and amazing green terrace, you can escape from the busy downtown when you want. If you are lucky the colibri's will join you, while enjoying a drink in the patio or on the terrace. A terrace with a Jacaranda, palmtree, roses, lemons, strawberries and the smell of lavendel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Hotel El Vitraux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing