We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Buenos Aires!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Petit Hotel El Vitraux
Ranked #10 of 257 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in Buenos Aires!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I visited Buenos Aires in June 2013 and stayed at the Petit Hotel El Vitraux after reading numerous good reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. By the time we got there it was the end of our trip, we were already traveling for quite a while, and we were very tired. But Elena and Mike made us feel so at home that I wished we could stay longer than 2 nights. They have two adorable cats which they keep out of the way if you are not a cat person, but since I am, Elena let me cuddle them as much as possible!
It is a very cosy place and the breakfast each morning was delicious. Elena and Mike are both brilliant people and VERY helpful with everything and they helped us pick out a tango show to attend. Elena gave us a map and spent a lot of time helping us find good places to go.
The location is great ... in the San Telmo neighborhood and you can pretty much walk to La Boca (although I would recommend taking a bus). From San Telmo you can also take a metro to Palermo and some of the other neighborhoods.
It is very good value for money to stay here and they even give you a key to the house if you want to come in late after a dinner or tango show.
We loved staying here and would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
133
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

G'day,

My fiancee and I stayed here in July of 2013. We chose this little B&B because of its stunning rooms and great reviews.

As we pulled up in the taxi, we were greeted with Mike, who helped us inside with our luggage and then made us a coffee to relax with as our room was being made up.

Over the next 3 nights we got to know both Mike and Elena well, Mike being so full of great information and always a step ahead of you to help out and Elena, is just so lovely who really does treat you like one of her own family.

We stayed in the violet room which is a great size, and the bed is fantastic. The decorations are spectacular and very tastefully done. The shared bathroom is also very big and has everything you can ask for.

The only thing about the rooms at the front of the house (blue and violet) is they can be a little noisy as they are on the street. Again, no-ones fault and I was only woken once, very shortly on the first night and never again.

Location is good enough with a laundry directly across the road, and a number of dining options within a few blocks, Subway is 3 blocks away and the famous Defensa street is about a 10 minute walk along estados unidos.

Breakfast here was very professionally done with plenty of options.

Prices of the rooms are very very reasonable, it's actually cheaper than many of the private rooms in the hostels around the place.

This B&B was a fantastic choice for a short stay after our engagement a few nights beforehand and i'd go back there in a heartbeat.

David and Lina.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Perfect stay! We got a very warm welcome of a great Dutch-Argentine couple, Elena and Mike, who gived us a small tour in the house. We even got a metrocard on loan, and a little explanation how the public transport worked, although it's close to the city center. We had an big room with a big bed, television, couch: very complete. The rest of the house was very nice and clean and in the morning we got a complete breakfast (cereals, fresh bread, eggs, etc). Every night we even got little chocolates on the nightstands. For all of this, the price for this petit hotel is really fair. Next time in BA, this is the place we will book again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevJohAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed 2 nights with Mike and Elena after a 3 week overlanding trip thru Bolivia and Argentina. I was by myself, so really appreciated their friendliness and hospitality. My room was spacious and comfy and plenty quiet, even tho it fronted on the street. Seems like a good, safe neighborhood. I walked from the subway station (which is close) at night and never felt nervous. The location is good; as I said, 3 blocks to the subway, close to the main downtown area, and walking distance to San Telmo. Mike and Elena are wonderful hosts, willing to help you with whatever you need. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever back in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We didn't meet Elena during our stay but found Mike to be a wonderful host! He was a fantastic source of information on things to do and see in Buenos Aires and where to eat! The B&B itself was the nicest we have stayed in on our travels through South America, our room was lovely, the bed was comfy and the hotel was quiet at night. The location was good, about three blocks off the main street and we walked practically everywhere. Mike gave us a Sube card to use the bus whch was handy for places not within walking distance. Overall a great place to stay with very warm and welcoming hosts who go out of their way to ensure an enjoyable stay-Mike even got up early to see us off the morning we left and made sure we had some breakfast before we left!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitriona k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The owners Mike and Elena were very welcoming and gave us some great tips on exploring Buenos Aires. Mike also gave us a travel card which was hugely useful! The location is good, just a short walk to the subway that links you to the main attractions of the city. The B&B has three large nicely decorated bedrooms with a shared bathroom and a lovely court yard. Really lovely B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousTravell3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We love this place! Our stay at Petit Hotel El Vitraux was one of the best experiences in South America. Elena and Mike are the best (they are the best hosts among those that we met in Peru and Brazil and we had very good experience in those countries too)! They are super friendly, funny, and most importantly for first timer in Buenos Aires, they provided great recommendations for places to go, restaurants, and much more.

Elena and Mike provided assistance from the beginning to the end. Shortl after I made reservation at Petit Hotel El Vitraux Elena emailed me right away to greet and asked if I need any help to plan our trip in Buenos Aires. When we arrived the airport the taxi that she helped us arranged was at the airport. After we arrived the place Elena showed us the cute room and the rest of the house. The house is really cute with a lot of characters which my friend and I both love. Elena then gave us info about the neighborhood and recommendations on restaurants. We really hit it off and we asked Elena to join us for dinner and we had a wonderful time learning about her and Buenos Aires. Elena and Mike gives their 110% to help their guests and make them feel like home which we did.

The place is within walking distance to good restaurants and San Telmo (highly recommend to check out this place). The place is in a safe neighborhood even though there's graffiti on walls (they are every where in Buenos Aires unfortunately). There's a laundry store and small grocery store right across from the place.

Note to people who are light sleepers because the traffic on the street can get a little loud at night. I wore ear plugs and my friend didn't need ear plugs and we had no problem falling asleep.

We highly recommend this place to anyone who's going to Buenos Aires. We were really sad to leave Elena and Mike but I plan to go back to Buenos Aires and I will definitely go back to Petit Hotel El Vitruax.

Thank you for everthing, Elena and Mike!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#56 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,394 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,830 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mundo Bolivar
#5 of 257 in Buenos Aires
207 reviews
Palermo
Abode Buenos Aires
Abode Buenos Aires
#1 of 257 in Buenos Aires
147 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel boutique BONITO Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Hotel El Vitraux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel El Vitraux

Property: Petit Hotel El Vitraux
Address: Calle Estados Unidos 1383 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1101ABA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Petit Hotel is located in the first neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, Monserrat. Next to San Telmo, La Boca, Puerto Madero and right in the city center, you are close to all the interesting places to visit. Completely restored 19th century house, with original façade, high ceilings, all original details including 'El Vitraux'. El Vitraux is owned and operated by it's owners, providing a beautiful and comfortable environment for an unforgettable stay.With it's peaceful patio and amazing green terrace, you can escape from the busy downtown when you want. If you are lucky the colibri's will join you, while enjoying a drink in the patio or on the terrace. A terrace with a Jacaranda, palmtree, roses, lemons, strawberries and the smell of lavendel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Hotel El Vitraux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing