We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Petit Hotel El Vitraux
Ranked #9 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, the couple holding it is sweet and very friendly. Breakfast was perfect, à réal pleasure, while chatting with the owners. We are in south America since 5months and this is by far the best hotel we have been to. The price quality ratio is good. We Will definetely come back!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Iris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Petit Hotel El Vitraux
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Following our tour of Argentina, my dad and I once again arrived in Buenos Aires. We arranged to stay one night at Petit Hotel El Vitraux and it was – without a doubt – a perfect way to end our holiday!

After staying at different quality of hotels – some better, some worse – it was fantastic to discover how beautiful and cosy Petit Hotel El Vitraux was. It was by far the best place my dad and I stayed in during our trip! After an overnight coach journey from Mendoza to Buenos Aires, a room with its comfortable bed and fresh bedding was more than inviting.

We stayed at the Blue Room (Azul Cielo), the smallest one but because of its size, I may argue here, probably the cosiest. It is located at the front of the house, with the window overlooking Estados Unidos street, certainly not the busiest street but still enough to make sleeping difficult if you are a light sleeper (you may wish to consider booking a Green Room, Suite Verde, which is located at the back of the house if you anticipate a problem here). Having said that I have to admit that the noise did not bother me at all!

Elena and Mike were away at the time, so sadly I cannot add to the chorus of praises of how helpful they were, nor boast about a late night chit-chat with Elena. In their absence, Lorena, Michiel and Chris looked after us, and they did an excellent job in providing a good company and a helpful advice. Thanks!!!

Lorena, Michiel and Chris deserve a big “thank you” for allowing us to leave our luggage in the hotel on our final day in Buenos Aires, as we were awaiting our evening departure back to Amsterdam. Otherwise, killing a day in Buenos Aires, with heavy rucksacks on our backs, would have been a nightmare!

I recommend Petit Hotel El Vitraux to anyone travelling to Buenos Aires, but with only three rooms, make sure you book quickly!

A final tip: on our last day we discovered a bakery nearby: Panaderias Del Pueblo, located in Avenida Independencia 1202, esquina Salta. Try it! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is near subway and buses so it is very simple to move.
The decoration is very very nice (it seems palace design for me!) and everything is clean.
But above all, it was the warmest welcome we had during our trip (I could say the warmest I never had in a B&B!) . The hosts, Elena and Mike, are very nice, helpful and waited on us hand and foot.

I can't recommend it more and I can't imagine that someone doesn't enjoy a stay in this B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed for 5 night in the Petit Hotel and it was wonderful. Mike and Elena were the most amazing hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. They were happy to help us with whatever we needed, and gave great advice for making the most of our stay in Buenos Aires, including organising a tango show and class for us. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated- we stayed in the green room, which had a nice sofa for relaxing and a view over the patio. Breakfast was delicious- including fresh rolls each day and plenty of dulce de leche- and they wee happy to serve it early on days where we had to leave for trips.
All in all, we cant recommend this B&B enough. It was the perfect start to our trip around South America., and we hope we'll have the chance to return in the future!
Alice and Tim

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This petit hotel was absolutely the perfect place for us to stay for our seven days in Buenos Aires.
A three room hotel, beautifully decorated palace like rooms & common area with lots of advice and fun chats with the Argentine/Dutch owners Elena & Mike.
Mike and Elena helped us and advised us time and time again, they ensured that we were able to make the absolute most of our stay and entertained us with plenty of genuine fun in their common kitchen.
We looked forward to the delicious Argentine breakfast each morning, all guests at a common table having plenty to chat to Mike & Elena about, plenty of laughter and fun but also great advice and insight into the Argentine ways.
I cannot imagine having stayed anywhere else.

Some of the reviews mention the noise in the front rooms, we stayed in a front room. Traffic is loud in the morning, but usually very quiet during the night. I don't recall being bothered by the noise at all, but it was noticeable.

Thank you again Mike and Elena for such a special time in Buenos Aires - we will not forget your generosity and hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oisin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I can't recommend it more. Quaint and cosy little hotel. 3 quirky bedrooms to choose from... All cute and comfortable in their own way with a shared full bathroom and a half bath. Nice little patio outside, heaters work great, wifi available. Most supportive, endearing, warmest owners that I have met during my entire trip! Mike and Elena have a gem of place and treat every guest with kindness and honest best interest. If you're looking for quiet cozy helpful company, right near the center of the city... This is your place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aegarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After reading some great reviews about this B&B on trip advisor, we were left disappointed from our experience there. We are a young couple and thought this place seemed ideal given the reviews about the warm welcome and comfort. I can see why some people like it...
Elena is a natural hostess and was always warm and friendly and would go out of her way to help in anyway she could, she is very caring and hospitable. However we found Mike a lot less friendly and helpful. Our first night in the blue room, we found very noisy being at the front of the house. You can clearly hear every car and person that passes, We appreciate it's in a city, but there are ways to reduce the noise like soundproof double glazing, which this doesn't have and its a shame because the room was very comfy and nicely decorated. We then arranged to move in to the green room after discussing the level of noise with Mike and Elena. This room is larger, and although it doesn't have the same level of noise, there is a problem with rising damp all up the wall and on to the ceiling which left the room smelling very musty.
Mike approached us to discuss what we thought was paying the difference for upgrading to the bigger room, instead he informed us that another couple were coming back to stay who had stayed before and if they wanted the Green room, we would have to give it up to them and move back in the blue room, We were shocked as we were paying customers and it sounded as though the choice for the room was up to another customer (who Mike knew previously). We said we would not go back to the Blue room as we did not find it value for money with the level of noise. Mike seemed unbothered by this and basically said that was up to us and left.
Aside from this the actual property is lovely though it does need practical work, aside from decoration, some damp proofing and sound proofing.
The breakfast served is great and varied. Though if you do want privacy you wont find It as The hosts are constantly there, so its like staying with a family - really depends what you want from your stay.
There are lots of nearby restaurants and the Sunday markets aren't far to walk to. At night I did feel some unsafe characters about walking back from the restaurants. A homeless drunk was just across the street from the hotel yelling into the night and urinating on the corner, this could be intimidating if you're travelling alone. All in all, I stayed in better places whilst in travelling South America but stayed in worst too. It was mainly our encounter with Mike that left us disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tutabellle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetitHotelElVitraux, Owner at Petit Hotel El Vitraux, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hi! Thank you for leaving your review. Unfortunately all positive things have their negative sides as well. All the positive reviews we received so far, create high expectations, which can cause disappointment. We're really sorry we couldn't live up to your expectations, but we want to make one aspect clear to avoid misunderstanding. After the first night we gave you the possibility to change rooms. The other room was only available for the next 2 nights, while your reservation was for another 4 nights. Because of this reason, we sent an e-mail to the persons that booked the other room, to ask them if they were ok, if we would change their reservation (which they made the month before, when they already stayed with us the first time). They already stayed in the blue room and didn't experience any issues, so we were pretty sure it wasn't a problem for them, but since they are also "paying customers" and made the reservation one month ago, we had at least to check with them. We don't understand why you can't see this is fair. We can't imagine how your review would have been, if we would have changed your 1-month-old-reservation without consulting you first. Finally they were very happy to stay in the blue room, but the damage was already done and you left not only El Vitraux, but also Buenos Aires 2 days before planned. We're still not sure, if this all was an excuse to swap the busy Buenos Aires for the much quieter San Antonia de Areco...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,433 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#138 of 443 in Buenos Aires
564 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 443 in Buenos Aires
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast
Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 256 in Buenos Aires
297 reviews
Mundo Bolivar
#2 of 256 in Buenos Aires
218 reviews
Recoleta
Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
#5 of 256 in Buenos Aires
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Hotel El Vitraux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel El Vitraux

Address: Calle Estados Unidos 1383 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1101ABA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £28 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Petit Hotel is located in the first neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, Monserrat. Next to San Telmo, La Boca, Puerto Madero and right in the city center, you are close to all the interesting places to visit. Completely restored 19th century house, with original façade, high ceilings, all original details including 'El Vitraux'. El Vitraux is owned and operated by it's owners, providing a beautiful and comfortable environment for an unforgettable stay.With it's peaceful patio and amazing green terrace, you can escape from the busy downtown when you want. If you are lucky the colibri's will join you, while enjoying a drink in the patio or on the terrace. A terrace with a Jacaranda, palmtree, roses, lemons, strawberries and the smell of lavendel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Hotel El Vitraux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing