We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Telmo Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Telmo Luxury Suites
Ranked #161 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

There is nothing to complain about, this place is simply perfect: location, room, service, breakfast, ambiance, price! To be recommended without any hesitation. San Telmo does not have very good reputation, but if one is smart and vigilant, there is nothing to be afraid of in this particular area. Around the hotel, there are many cool restaurants, some with service in English with many tourists and some mostly with locals. Quick walk to Plaza de Mayo, at the same time - cobblestone street with all the charms of the "real" Buenos.

Room Tip: Make sure to walk to the top patio and relax there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    79
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
143
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is not the usual 5 stars luxury hotel, but the service is impressive. Everyone there is nice, attentive and most important, helpful. From the morning coffee to the daily itinerary advice and best/convenient dinner restaurants, they will not hesitate to help you. And especially, if you have a serious need, they go the extra mile. My wife got seek one night and we needed an ambulance. We got it fast and I didn't even need to pull my insurance card; was on the hotel insurance. They took care of everything. Overall, a great hotel to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite facing the courtyard. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busy_Dubai_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministradorSTLS, General Manager at San Telmo Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Sir:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this coment with the comunity.
Indeed this is not "the regular five star hotel": it is a very special and charming historical house from 1867, placed in the heart of the most bohemian "barrio" of the city. Our goal is to achieve not only excellence, but to make people feel at home and secure in all matters. Calling a doctor is the less thing we can do about it...!
I hope your wife is well by this days and also hope to see you guys soon back again.
Our pleassure and kind regards from the Team.

Patricio Harrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We arrived at San Telmo Luxury Suites for the first few days of our 2 week honeymoon. We had a very helpful 30 minute introduction to the city by Juan, who took the time to give us tips to some of the best coffee houses, steak restaurants and areas of Buenos Aires.

The rooms are so spacious and good value for money. From here you can walk or grab a cab to other parts of town easily, and as taxis are not expensive, this works well. There are some good neighbourhood places to visit and go to, and we felt at home very easily.

We have ended up returning to the hotel after a visit to Iguazu Falls, and chose the hotel as we feel it is so good. My husband has now come down with a fever, and once again, Daniel and Juan are being fantastic looking after us, finding soup, making fresh orange juice. Superb.

We would recommend to anyone looking for a character filled and stylish hotel, with great staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie-Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministradorSTLS, General Manager at San Telmo Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Sophie-Jane:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are very happy for your kind words, but most of all because we´ve been part of this nice begining...!!! Me and the Team wish you both a beautifull life together and we really hope to get the chance to see you guys back again soon.
Mi casa es tu casa...!!!
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights and have to say it was excellent. The space you get in the rooms is brilliant, it's quiet and private with free wifi and great service.

Good location for exploring the old town.

Cannot give them enough praise, I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The missus and I really loved this place. Large stylish rooms, great location and friendly staff. Free wifi seems to be the norm in Argentina and this was no different. Don't hesitate to stay here as you get a pretty good all round hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

What an amazing find the San Telmo Luxury Suites is! My 5 night stay was truly enjoyable. The rooms are so spacious & clean. The breakfast & wifi are both excellent and free. The staff are friendly. But above everything else, the location is excellent. I have no complaints whatsoever from my stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHBingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

1) Location is great
2) price is right
3) Noise is an issue.
4) bathroom situation is tough

If you're a light sleeper do not stay here. You will hear the front desk noises, phones and bells ringing, printers, and voices galore echoing off the brick floors and walls up to your room.

If you need to use the bathroom in the night-- good luck. Steep stairs in the dark are treacherous. I'm pregnant and had to do this 2x per night. Very frustrating. In addition the shower is very "modern" with no door on it to close it in, just a short piece of glass. It's very drafty!!!

All that being said service was friendly and rooms are super modern and cool. If you like modern style rooms, this is your place. An authentic feeling suite in the heart of San Telmo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdministradorSTLS, General Manager at San Telmo Luxury Suites, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Kanastel

Thank you very much for taking the time and share your comment. All experiences are placed under observation, because they really helps us to improve in the path of quality.

We are really sorry that your stay was not that confortable. That is one of our mayor goals and, in a way, its a little frustrated that we didnt note that before, because we would change you to another room of your preference just in a minute....!

As you mentioned, the Junior Suite that you reserved (the smallest in the Hotel) has only one bathroom in the ground level. How ever, all the rest of our rooms (as we mention in the web site) has TWO BATHROOMS: one in ground level and the other in suite with the bedroom. Our best tip of advice is always to rent Superior Suite. For a little extra amount of U$ 10 (aprox) you receave a much more bigger room, with double bathroom and extra services. We are taking note of this in order to provide this accomodations in future stays and also those rooms with Patio View, wich are pretty much silent.
According to the stairways issue, its a pitty you didnt notice it has an exclusive light sistem (as the ones you can see in cinemas) that lights up only the stairs, so you do not need to turn on all the lights arround and let people to continue sleeping.

As we always say: our bilingual staff is well trainned and its at your dispossal 24hs a day in order to work in any little detail, doubt or need that helps our guests stay to be wonderful.

Hope to see you back soon. Im quite sure that your next stay will be nothing but perfect.

Patricio Harrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#141 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#58 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#97 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
#83 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Montserrat
Unique Palacio San Telmo
Unique Palacio San Telmo
#160 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
#105 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Telmo Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Telmo Luxury Suites

Property: San Telmo Luxury Suites
Address: 437 Chile, Buenos Aires 1019, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Telmo Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Telmo Luxury Suites. Many years ago, when this dream started, we thought of you: a guest interested on San Telmo’s neighborhood, willing to walk through its cobbled streets, discover and explore its restaurants, traditional bars, markets and magic antique stores. But specially interested on experiencing the unique sensation of living at a typical San Telmo ‘casona’: a place where secrets and history are revealed in every corner.With a lot of love and dedication, we have restored this building, and given back its value to every single little detail. Our specialists worked side by side with the Historical Preservation Association; a relationship that ended with the declaration of this house as a Historical Monument of Buenos Aires City. And today, from the very heart of our Barrio, we introduce you to San Telmo Luxury Suites: a solid bridge between past and present, to the lovers of excellent service and comfort who prefer a more private and fascinating alternative for their stay in Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your San Telmo Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing