We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Hotel Club Frances

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Club Frances
Ranked #37 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Club Frances was above excellent. The staff is superb, the rooms are spacious, quiet and well appointed. We were there for six days and then off to Uruguay returning a day earlier than planned back to the Hotel as we loved it so much.

The location could not be better and the food at the hotel was excellent as well as the recommendations we received from the staff at nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director Comercial at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Delphia, you too have left a mark at Hotel Club Francés, since everyone at the Hotel remembers you dearly and always with a big smile on your face.
Thank you for your comments and for the extra day you spent with us.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    50
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
140
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We recently returned home from a 12 day holiday in BA where we stayed at the Hotel Club Frances. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay in the hotel. Hotel is located in Recoleta the best district in BA. The fantastic staff are more then happy to help at any time. The room was large, clean and stylish. The king size bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and was made to order daily. "Very highly recommended".
Linda

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director Comercial at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Linda, It was so nice having you! Such a pleasure to talk to and so eager to see Buenos Aires in the eyes of a local, finding always the little spot not written in books. We enjoyed very much having you stay with us, thank you for your warm review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The lobby and public areas were beautiful and majestic, retaining the beauty of the past. The room was however very modern (I understand there are some rooms that retain the beauty of the past also). It was clean, sleek, and had everything you could want. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They even provided us with a wonderful full breakfast in the dining room before breakfast hours because we had to catch a plane. Even though it was 6:30 am the staff were very gracious and the breakfast was great. We wished that we could have stayed longer. I would highly recommend this hotel - best one we stayed in in Argentina. It was in Recoleta where there is great shopping and lots to do. We loved it.

Room Tip: We had the least expensive room which was modern, but beautiful. I understand that the more expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SABTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director Comercial at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear SABTravels, this hotel is at one of the oldest French institutions, the Club Francés and we wanted to anchor in it´s rich history. The restoration took more than 5 years and we used most of what was in the building because we wanted to give this taste of the past that you could sense. Indeed we have some rooms decorated in a more contemporary style and others with époque furniture.
Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you soon for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 10 day visit to Buenos Aires and I wanted to make sure to write about our stay at Hotel Club Frances. We could not imagine a better hotel for us. The hotel itself is small, intimate and absolutely exquisite. The staff is kind, responsive, friendly and helpful. We always had a good, welcome feeling each time we entered the doors, and the staff spoke excellent English. The rooms we stayed in (we had two as our stay was split) were beautiful, spacious and spotless (as was the bathroom - for a long stay the bathroom is particularly important and it was great). We were in a Junior Suite for the majority of our stay. The little touches that are sometimes taken for granted that are so important on a long stay: incredibly comfortable bed, quiet housekeeping staff, quiet rooms, fabulous breakfasts and a nightly chocolate that was amazing. The elegance of the hotel gave us a great feeling every time we entered the building, without feeling overwhelmed by people or bustle. The location was convenient and allowed us to feel immediately immersed in this city that has so much to offer. If you want a hotel that is large and bustling, this is not for you, if you want a place that makes you feel embraced by Buenos Aires, stay here!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EPDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director Comercial at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear EPDZ, thank you for your wonderful review! Though we always know that everything can be better it´s nice to know we are on the right path.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have to say the bathroom in the room we stayed in is the bathroom of my dreams. Rainfall-style showerhead with great water pressure and a huge beautiful tub. Plus the dual sink was helpful for my man and I to get ready at the same time for the wedding we were attending. The staff was very sweet, incredibly helpful and gave us a great deal. I would absolutely stay here again if I ever come to town. Thank you for such a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonijo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director Comercial at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Tonijo, it was such a pleasure having the whole group at our Hotel!
Thank you for your lovely review, only women can understand the importance of a spacious bathroom when getting ready for a night out on time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

So much hallway noise, mostly from staff made for a disconcerting stay. Also street noise at all hours of the day and night... windows are not soundproof.
Food was excellent however and was the only redeeming quality here. This is a family owned and family run hotel and it appears as though they are trying very hard.
Recommend to go elsewhere for the true 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YachtMasterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director Comercial at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We're sorry to hear that despite our effort (which we appreciate you pointed out in your review) you could not enjoy your stay with us.
We do have double glass windows (soundproof) which is why yours is the first and only comment about noises from the street, from one of the best companies in the business worldwide the German Welttechnik. The only noise we could not shut down was your next door guest who was a well-known French violinist (invited by the French Embassy) that decided to practice for his concert in his room. As soon as we noticed we quickly switched you to the tenth floor to our Deluxe Suite (upgrading you for the inconvenience) were there is only that suite so that your stay would be as silent as could be.
Thank you for your positive comments on our restaurant, we have a very good team which many gourmet clubs in Buenos Aires choose to boast their monthly diners.
We also find it strange that you rate average our location, since Recoleta is one of the top locations in Buenos Aires, we are a block away from two Virtuoso hotels and the most expensive shops and landmarks of Buenos Aires.
Thank you for your review , we feed from our guests comment to become better every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,077 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This elegant palace opened as the French Club of Buenos Aires in 1966. It is palatial, maintaining all the glory of its illustrious past.

The staff is warm and helpful, the premises are magnificent, and the lobby bar and restaurant a very reasonable discreet meeting place in Recoleta.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María C S, Director Comercial at Hotel Club Frances, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear EANYC, it was a pleasure hosting you during your stay in Buenos Aires, thank you very much for your review and for all your positive comments at our hotel during your stay to make it even better. We are very open to hear everyone´s experience and trying to become better every day.
Once again thank you very much and if you return to Buenos Aires we´ll be happy to hear from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#15 of 447 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#36 of 447 in Buenos Aires
732 reviews
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#34 of 447 in Buenos Aires
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#18 of 447 in Buenos Aires
642 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#43 of 447 in Buenos Aires
777 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Frances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Frances

Property: Hotel Club Frances
Address: Calle Rodriguez Pena 1832 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1021ABN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Club Frances 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATIONThe Hotel Club Francés is located in one of the most outstanding neighborhoods of the city of Buenos Aires in the area in which its architecture is reminiscent of Paris: La Recoleta.Surrounded by history and culture it is a highly valued location for tourism.HOTEL INFORMATION The Hotel opened in 2011 after a complete refurbishment 28 rooms in total Wi-Fi access in all public space and guest roomsACCOMODATIONS Broadband and wireless internet access Satellite television Individual climate control 100% cotton bath towels Bathroom with shower/bath Non-allergenic pillows Luxury bathrobes and slippers Hairdryer Twice-daily housekeeping attention In-room safety-deposit box Electricity: AC 220V All guestrooms are non-smokingRESTAURANT, BAR & LOUNGE Restaurant Bar Roof Terrace SERVICES & FACILITIES 24-hour in-room dining 24-hour concierge service Limousine service upon request Complimentary wifi Multilingual hotel staff Babysitting on request Major credit cards accepted Garage facilities to be booked in advance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Frances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing