We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, amazing hosts”
Review of Adentro Dinner Club - CLOSED

Adentro Dinner Club
Price range: US$65 - US$65
Cuisines: Argentinian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Palermo
Description: Adentro Dinner Club is a closed door restaurant run by an American and an Argentine out of our home. While Gabriel has an executive chef degree from Gato Dumas culinary school, his specialty is Argentine asado- the most representative and beloved tradition in the country. The setting is intimate (8 diners plus the 2 hosts share the dining room table) and you are meant to feel at home- diners can walk through the kitchen to have a drink on the patio or terrace and watch the master at work. Everything is home-made: from the country bread to the chimichurri sauce to the passion fruit liquor served with champagne. Food is served family style- take as much or as little as you like of the empanadas, salads, ribs, chorizo, steak, corn on the cob, portobellos, grilled prawns etc. We love having guests in our home and Gabriel lets anyone who likes help prepare some of the meal and freely shares his recipes. If you are looking for a truly authentic asado and the feeling of being included as an honored guest in someone's home, we look forward to sharing an evening with you in Adentro Dinner Club.
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

What a great night! A former coworker from Seattle recommended this place to me and I am so happy he did. Kelly and Gabriel fit us in even though they were already full for the night. They made us and everyone else instantly feel as though we were amongst friends. And then there was the food...wow. Absolutely delicious. I had dreams about it that night! We can't wait to come again and would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to BA!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kellyrod11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Adentro Dinner Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Everything about this dining experience was wonderful. The food is relatively simple, but cooked perfectly. What really makes this meal special though are the hosts. It truly felt like going to a friend's house for a dinner party, and within the first 20 minutes you feel at home -- they even invited the guests to wash up and help toss the meat on the parilla (grill). After dinner, we hung out for hours talking with the hosts and the other guests. I was completely surprised to find that it was after 1am by the time we left.

If you're from out of town, and if you have the option, I recommend coming here at the beginning of your trip. You'll meet people and get advice on what other restaurants and bars and sights to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Abraxas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Adentro was a great experience and what a puerta cerrada should be like. Kelly and Gabriel are amazing. She makes you at ease right away and he is the expert chef we all want at our dinner parties. From the passion fruit cocktail, to the empanadas, the best salad ever, the perfectly seasoned shrimp, the huge amounts of steak served, the amazing pear dessert, and the great conversations had with total strangers; this was a great experience. Definitely recommend it. Thank you. The nurse practitioner and the IT guy :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lina333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were so excited to have made a reservation a week before leaving for Buenos Aires for this highly rated experience. Unfortunately, we could not access our e-mail in our hotel, therefore did not receive the notice that dinner was cancelled. We took a taxi to the address but on arrival, there was a note pinned to the door saying dinner was cancelled as others had cancelled & not enough people would attend to make it worthwhile. SO disappointed, however, our nice taxi driver got us into another "closed dinner" event at I Latina & it was spectacular & made up for our being stood up by Adentro, even though it cost a little more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jillyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Owner at Adentro Dinner Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi,
We're so sorry that out of all the reservations it was yours that we had to cancel- we know how difficult it is to plan events while on vacation and it must have been a terrible surprise to find out at the last minute.

Just to give some context- we had had several people cancel or simply not show up for our dinners the previous 2 nights- meaning we had to scramble to contact hotels and find people to fill in at the table- friends of ours or neighbors. This is due to the nature of the dinner party atmosphere- at a table for 10, only 3 guests makes for a pretty crummy experience- we've dealt with it before. When on Thursday and early Friday morning we had 5 people cancel for your dinner, added to the fact that I had begun to get a splitting migraine and knew I wouldn't able to be at the table facilitating conversation between the 3 guests, we decided to cancel. We have only cancelled a few times in the past 2 years and it is never an easy decision. We hoped that with 17 hours of advance notice, the email would get to the affected parties, but didn't count on a lack of internet access on your part. We left the note as an added precaution as Gabriel and I did end up going to the emergency room for my migraine.

Again, we are so sorry for the cancellation and we are working on a way to collect a deposit at the time of the reservation to discourage people from canceling last minute. We will also be adding a question on the reservation form asking for the contact info of the hotel or apartment as another safeguard to prevent this kind of miscommunication in the future.

We're very glad you were able to enjoy a nice dinner at iLatina and we hope the rest of your stay in Buenos Aires was spectacular.

Again, our most sincere apologies,

Kelly + Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Delicious food. Overall, the entire dinner was great - from the appetizers to dessert. Certainly the best empanada I have ever had (and I have sampled many in BA). Nothing disappointed at all. Great way to enjoy the asado experience in someone's home here in BA. Hosts were very welcoming, gracious and personable. It was great to have the hosts sitting down, interacting with everyone and treating you like friends in their home, which is certainly different from many other closed door restaurants. Would definitely go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Div L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adentro Dinner Club also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing