We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Ranked #69 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

first of all, user of internet, the free access is ONLY in the lobby. You will be charged 6 dollars usd and its very slow
second, no airdryer in the room
I paid 140$ dollars usd and these things are absolutely incredible for that kind of great hotel.
I was at the NH Crillon in Santa fe street and the room was more bigger, airdryer, free internet for 130$ usd

So sorry, i wont recommend this hotel

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bibitte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

First of all we want to apologize because our staff did not inform you that you have wifi in all the public areas, perhaps you refer to the computers we had at your disposal.It is a pity you did not ask to our reception for giving you inmediately a hairdryer if it was not in your room. Many thanks
for letting us know your experience because that means we have to improve the way to inform to the guest that under any lack of service the Manager on duty has to know inmediately for satisfying your request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel's location is excellent, walking distance to most central sights in Buenos Aires. The rooms are maintained meticulously clean, and are well appointed.

There is a nice spa and pool on the 23rd floor overlooking the city, and a gym with great views.

We felt the staffing is excellent and all the staff were very helpful.

The breakfast is very good plentiful and fresh fruit etc.

We stayed three nights and felt it was a great introduction to Bueno Aires

Room Tip: Ask for a room high and at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wally70Tamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Gerente at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments related our Hotel, really we are very pleased you enjoy your stay at our Hotel as well as our city. We are also very pleased to know that our staff help you to choice the best places to visit.
We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Staff at the front desk were very helpful and checkin, while not very fast, was painless enough. We had a family room which was clean, comfortable and very spacious. However, the bathroom left alot to be desired. It was small and far from modern with visible chips to the marble tiles and areas where the plaster was peeling off the walls. The shower leaked continuously and required a big 'clean up' every time we showered. The bath tub was tiny and not in keeping with a 5 star hotel. The breakfast selection was limited. On the upside, the gym on the 23rd floor is easily one of the best we've seen in a hotel anywhere and the pool and the view from the pool deck, were spectacular.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

We regret a lot you did not enjoy your stay with us, it was a pity not to know your complaint related the bathroom for doing a quick change to another type of room, there' s always a Manager for listening your request. We regret a lot you did not enjoy our Breakfast but we are improving it every day, we hope during your next stay with us you taste the changes. Many thanks for the comments related oour Health Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed three nights at the Panamericano. There were pluses and minuses, totaling in my mind up to an average rating. On the plus side, the hotel offers a multitude of restaurants and public spaces and a great location on Avenida 9 de Julio near the obelisk and Teatro Colon. Also on the plus side was the interior of our room, a nice size with a sitting room adjacent to the bedroom area and bath. The AC worked well. On the negative side, our room on the 5th floor looked out on another building about 10 feet away, so we kept our draperies closed at all times. The floor was hardwood that looked good except in an area in front of the closet, where the boards had separated in a random pattern. The breakfast area service was OK with a decent selection of hot and cold items. Elevator service was very good, but there are two banks of elevators, so I can only vouch for the ones near the breakfast area. The hotel lobby was always very busy and the local business community seems well represented. In fact, the hotel really seems to be more of a business and group hotel rather than one oriented to independent travelers. Be aware that Argentina suffers from frequent massive demonstrations and strikes. Many seem to take place in the vicinity of the obelisk which definitely affects pedestrian and auto traffic in front of the hotel. One night it was a rowdy crowd of Boca Juniors soccer fans and another night it was a "celebration" of something that seemed to get out of hand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on something other than a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GPBurdell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Gerente at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments related our Hotel, really we are very pleased you enjoy your stay at our Hotel as well as our city. We are also very pleased to know that our staff help you to choice the best places to visit.
We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed at the Panamericano for a trip in October. the Hotel has a great location in central Buenos Aires close to shopping on the pedestrian streets and close to banks, pubs, restaurants and public transport, metro and taxis right in front of the hotel.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful and their suggestions on where to go for tango lessons, dining and so on was very helpful. We especially enjoyed to go to the Palermo district (nice restaurants) and San Telmo for the sunday market and the atmosphere in this nice part of town, also the harbour area host many nice cafe´s and restaurants. We would have loved to go to the Boca area to see the special scenery of this old part af Buenos Aires, but was adviced not to by the hotel staff, who considered the area for being to unsafe for us to visit. We also took the ferry acroos the river Plate to Uruguay to visit the old town of Colonia, which is definitely worth the trip.
Last but not least we watched a soccer game while we were in Buenos Aires which is highly recomendable .
The rooms is very nice, good beds with good sleeping quality, nice bathrooms which worked nicely and good and frequent housekeeping, which helped to make our stay enjoyable.
Beware of the fact that not all major credit Cards are accepted on the ATM or in the banks, so bring some us dollars with you. US dollars is widely accepted as payment in restaurants, and shops and are easy to change to Peso´s in banks. And be aware that some parts of Buenos Aires is considered unsafe for tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments related our Hotel, really we are very pleased you enjoy your stay at our Hotel as well as our city. We are also very pleased to know that our staff help you to choice the best places to visit. We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Centrally located on the impressive Avenuda 9 de Julio this hotel certainly looks a 5 star and is used for conferences because of its facilities. However,the service is really less than 3 star! The staff don't appear to know the words"customer service" and are generally indifferent!
On arrival we were given a room facing a concrete wall which was very claustrophobic and it was only with persistence that we eventually were offered something more acceptable. However,even this room hadn't got a plug for the wash basin,let alone dressing gowns and slippers!
The breakfast selection was poor and even at 6.30am they ran out of orange juice! On one occasion when we asked for a table to be re-set,we were told to get our own crockery/cutlery!
Free WiFi is available in the Lobby but it takes forever to be given the password as you have to join a queue of people checking in/out!

Room Tip: Request one which faces the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 892Janpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

We are very concerned after reading your experience with us. Due to your comments we have reviewed our supervision due to the lack of attention in our service, front desk, housekeeping and food and beverages. We are very sorry you couldn' t enjoy a pleasant stay. We are engaged with the improvement of each department, so we hope to welcome you to taste the changes we have done many of them due to your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Rated as a 5 star hotel, probably based on all the amenities. Once inside and checked in, it all changes. Tried for assistance for wifi sign in, and clerk was not helpful at all, a quick explanation and they excused herself.

The service leaves a lot to be desired. The safe in our room didn't work, asked for assistance which came about 1 hour later. Bellboy didn't speak English and we had to leave. So the next day I asked again. Bellboy came right and set it. He looked for the instructions, and couldn't find it. Interesting he said, This is a 5 star hotel and doesn't even have instructions for the safe! That was an interesting comment

Breakfast was buffet style, but not much selection. Meat trays, scrambled eggs, bacon, bread, yogurt and cereal. Same thing each day, and if you are there on Saturday, it looks like the left overs were put out. The eggs had a funny taste.

Cleaning tables was very slow.

Many restaurants on site, wine shop, cigar bar, business office, but nothing worth a comment.

Rooms were nice, well appointed, and maid service good. Rug had a funny smell to it.

There is a nice spa and pool on the 23rd floor overlooking the city 18 deegrees.

Good enough for one night, but no more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing street and not a outside wall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Many thanks for letting us know your experience with us. Your comments related the front desk, the lack of instructions at your safe box, the delay in answering your help request, the lack of a daily changes at our buffet breakfast, they have helped us a lot for improving the items you were so kind
to inform us. We appreciate the time you took as written above for letting us know the problems
you found during your stay. We hope to welcome when your thavels bring back to Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#137 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,316 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hotel Madero
Hotel Madero
#36 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#51 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,054 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 444 in Buenos Aires
3,421 reviews
Retiro
Pestana Buenos Aires
Pestana Buenos Aires
#72 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel

Address: Calle Carlos Pellegrini 551 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1009ABK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#49 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#68 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £96 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel is situated on 9 de Julio Avenue, just in front of the Obelisk and the Colon Theater, in the downtown area of Argentine's Capital Federal known as "microcentro". Located in towers the Panamericano Hotel offers 314 rooms with unique views of Buenos Aires. With imported Italian furniture, delicate adornments and original paintings, they do of the rooms of the Panamericano Hotel the only place. Check each of the rooms in our web. A world of tranquility, pleasure and beauty located in the 23rd floor of the Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel. It has a wonderful panoramic view of the city, and offers an elegant heated swimming pool, solarium, a highly equipped gym, spinning room, sauna, massages, beauty salon and all kinds of treatments. In short, a state-of-the-art Spa and Health Club. Everything with a view to ensure a personalized attention, both for our guests as well as for customers who are not staying at the hotel. Our idea is to design a package tailored to the requests of every customer, whether they would like to come alone or with a couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Buenos Aires
Panamericano Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing