We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Ranked #71 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is wonderfully situated right across from the opera house and within a short walking distance of Recoleta Cemetery. Our room was "tired" and needed to be remodeled, but friends in another room already had theirs redone. Public areas were great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy321NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Gerente at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments related our Hotel, really we are very pleased you enjoy your stay at our Hotel as well as our city.
We are also very pleased to know that our staff help you to choice the best places to visit.
We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    528
    193
    84
    57
See reviews for
169
638
68
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

They claim to be a 4 star property but the service and condition of the rooms barely qualifies as 2.5 stars. Our unpleasant experience started at check in when after an overnight flight from the US, my wife and our two children (Ages 4 and 1.5) tried to check in at the hotel. The disinterested gentleman who was assisting us notified us that we would have to pay an extra $60 per night (of a six night stay) because I had pre-paid for a room for 2 adults and turned up with 2 adults and 2 children. Frankly, I think this was an incredibly petty way to handle the situation, the room was already paid in full, we are very comfortable sharing a king bed with 2 adults and 2 toddlers...I was not asking for anything other than the keys to the room so that we could rest after an uncomfortable transcontinental trip and here was this man trying to force me into a $360 upgrade. After a few minutes of back and forth they relented and gave us keys to a room that had already been paid for. Room itself was nothing special, rough around the edges, but the wood floor was nice and the bed was comfortable. Later on in the evening we realized the down side of the wood floor...when the person in the room above us started pacing back and forth in heels and watching TV and having a conversation. We could here every detail...we could also here the people in the room next to us having a regular conversation. Unfortunately for our neighbors when our 1.5yr old started screaming for milk at 5:30am, they were probably abusing us the same way. So if you are a light sleeper or very noise sensitive this might not be the right place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Recently spent three nights at this hotel as part of a tour group. The location was ideal for walking to most all the charming neighborhoods of Buenos Aires . A pedestrian mall is only a block away with many restaurants and several small establishments for purchasing items like wine, snacks, and other supplies. We had an amazing room with a separate sitting area, walk in closet, dual head shower and a bath tub. The hotel is on the main avenue near the obelisk but we never experienced issues with street noise. Don't miss the view from the patio pool area on the 23rd floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Gerente at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments related our Hotel, really we are very pleased you enjoy your stay at our Hotel as well as our city.
We are also very pleased to know that our staff help you to choice the best places to visit.
We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a large hotel, but it manages to provide a high level of personal attention. The rooms are well appointed, although for a city view, you will have to upgrade. The bar is pleasant enough,witha pool table in the club bar. The hotel is on the main avenue, and a short taxi ride( or 20 minutes walk) from La Recoletta, where the art museums and cafes abound. The waterfront with its many bars and restaurants is also about 25 minutes walk away. The staff are all extremely efficient and friendly

Room Tip: Upper floor roooms have better views, but come at a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Gerente at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments related our Hotel, really we are very pleased you enjoy your stay at our Hotel as well as our city.
We are also very pleased to know that our staff help you to choice the best places to visit.
We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked our room through a timeshare exchange (royal-holiday) so cannot comment on rate/value. The staff was friendly and attentive. We arrived by overnight bus from Mendoza and reached the hotel about 9:30 AM. A little early to check-in, so I was not surprised when our room was not ready. I was surprised when the reception staff suggested we head up the spa and use the showers to clean up after our trip. They called up and when we arrived the spa staff were expecting us. The spa staff carried our two (quite heavy) suitcases down the one flight of stairs to the showers, gave us towels and told us to leave our luggage at the bottom of the steps when we were done and they would carry them back up. After a great hot shower and drying off in a nice soft towel, I was very refreshed and ready to begin touring BA. First, we enjoyed the view of the city from the patio deck in the spa (23rd floor). The obelisk is so close, I doubt there is a better view of it anywhere in the city. We took so long enjoying the spa that our room was actually ready (10:30 AM) when we went back done. So we took our luggage up and settled in. We had a nice large room on the south side of the north tower. This had us facing the south tower, but with a view to the side onto the main avenue. We were next to elevators, so I was concerned about noise, but never heard the elevator our entire stay (4 nights). Room was large with two beds, a settee and three chairs. The large LCD TV was mounted on the wall in a strange way in the middle of the room. This enabled it to be turned to both the beds and the settee, but left it hanging in the middle of the room. Fortunately neither of us bumped into it in the middle of the night. Bathroom has one shower stall and a full whirlpool tub with shower. The stall shower did not work well for us as the shower head reached the floor with the door open to turn it on, so we opted for the tub shower, which worked fine. Safe in the room worked fine (no issues). We did not use the hotel restaurant - we never do when in a city like BA. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Gerente at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments related our Hotel, really we are very pleased you enjoy your stay at our Hotel as well as our city.
We are also very pleased to know that our staff help you to choice the best places to visit.
We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Central location, Liked the efficient front desk, free local papers, fast elevators, wood floors in hallway and room, big bathtub, internet. Did not like the noisy cleaning staff in hall way (at times), the German classical orchestra practicing their instruments in the rooms near mine during the day, all those convention people, no real security - feels like anyone can walk into the elevators - and the hot water in the bathroom, which kept stopping and starting with bursts of water spouting out. The breakfast was average, but it was very busy. Biggest worry, looks like bedbugs or infection from the bed. Can happen, but first for me.

Room Tip: Stay away from the corner near the staff cleaning quarters
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Gerente at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments related our Hotel, really we are very pleased you enjoy your stay at our Hotel as well as our city.
We are also very pleased to know that our staff help you to choice the best places to visit.
We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

i had to stay there for a workshop, I loved the breaksfast with the best Argentinean delights.

However I was surprised by the tiny room and by the view from a window of a wall.

I think there is no need to stay next to "El Obelisco". I would rather stay at a hotel farther from downtown but with better amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director Comercial at Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments related our Hotel, really we are very pleased you enjoy your stay at our Hotel as well as our city.
We are also very pleased to know that our staff help you to choice the best places to visit.
We hope to welcome when your travels bring back to Buenos Aires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#143 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,277 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#50 of 445 in Buenos Aires
3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,012 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#62 of 445 in Buenos Aires
2,033 reviews
Retiro
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
#81 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel

Property: Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Address: Calle Carlos Pellegrini 551 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1009ABK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#52 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#55 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#68 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel is situated on 9 de Julio Avenue, just in front of the Obelisk and the Colon Theater, in the downtown area of Argentine's Capital Federal known as "microcentro". Located in towers the Panamericano Hotel offers 314 rooms with unique views of Buenos Aires. With imported Italian furniture, delicate adornments and original paintings, they do of the rooms of the Panamericano Hotel the only place. Check each of the rooms in our web. A world of tranquility, pleasure and beauty located in the 23rd floor of the Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel. It has a wonderful panoramic view of the city, and offers an elegant heated swimming pool, solarium, a highly equipped gym, spinning room, sauna, massages, beauty salon and all kinds of treatments. In short, a state-of-the-art Spa and Health Club. Everything with a view to ensure a personalized attention, both for our guests as well as for customers who are not staying at the hotel. Our idea is to design a package tailored to the requests of every customer, whether they would like to come alone or with a couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Buenos Aires
Panamericano Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing