We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive experience, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #102 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews, I almost cancelled my reservation and booked with the hotel where most of my business colleagues were. However, being a loyal marriott stayer, I decided to give it a shot and I'm so glad I did!

I had an absolutely huge room that overlooked the plaza. Was it totally new? No. But well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The Internet was fast, the concierge lounge well stocked, and everyone quite friendly. I had an extremely comfortable bed as well.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dcurtis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Yes the hotel is not new...yet it feels more European than an American Marriott and that is great. The service is differentiator. For those like me who use Marriott, this is a place to feel at home. Perhaps I liked this place since it was adjacent to a small park, or walking distance from the office and good souvenir shops. I would only stay here in BA.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World-travellerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was travelling on business and spent at the hotel 4 nights. It was old, dark and a bit smelly. TV had limited list of English channels. We haven't tried food but the menu looked very limited. The hotel was renovating during our stay so perhaps in time it will be a bit better place. A nice trendy bar would be a great improvement.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at the Plaza hotel for four nights during a recent vacation. The hotel was amazing. The best part was the friendly service and attentiveness of the entire staff. They went out of their way to answer any questions or meet our requests. The staff would greet us each and every day. Open doors. They even walked us halfway down to the metro station when we could not find it. The rooms was clean and updated, although a little small, but definitely functional. Since we did not spend much time in the room, the size did not matter. The gym and spa were great and updated. Unfortunately, the pool was closed as it is winter when we went, so did not get to experience it. The location is amazing as it sits right at the end of the Calle Florida, which is the peatonal in Buenos Aires. Overall...five stars!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was here for 3 days on a business trip, its a nice comfortable hotel, but definitely not what you would expect from a Marriott....I guess thats why they took the Marriott name off.....
You still get rewards points though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chavo_mx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I decided to try the plaza because of its location which is excellent. it is an older hotel, and after you checkin, you have to walk up a big staircase to get to the elevators on a different floor, the elevators sometimes require a wait, and the two restaurants are in the basement and overpriced for the quality of food. the service is ok, and internet is free only in the lobby. used to be a Marriott but that affiliation will end in December . older furniture and carpeting . people friendly and nice, but for the money there are better options in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: if you are used to modern rooms, and fast entrance and egress on business this is not your first cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel is an old "name" place in BA and needs a modern refurbishment, not really up to normal standard and glad I stayed n points. Even on the Executive floor it was poor by normal levels, limited food and drinks. I would not stay here if it wasn't free! The location is good downtown and the BA bus tour stop is nearby. Staff were very expecting of tips for nothing.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndesAlps B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Str...
#100 of 440 in Buenos Aires
671 reviews
Retiro
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Retiro
Park Tower, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#125 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,360 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#10 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,939 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#64 of 440 in Buenos Aires
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#67 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#77 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#86 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of Argentina's most distinguished hotel, the Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires. Conveniently located in the heart of Buenos Aires just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin, this Buenos Aires hotel offers exclusive guest rooms amenities with the best high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy the culture of the Retiro District's businesses, shops and restaurants as well as experience the tango dance in Buenos Aires. With nine ballrooms, our elegant hotel provides the perfect venue for any type of Argentina group meetings and memorable events. The Plaza Hotel houses the five-star Plaza Grill, known as one of the best Buenos Aires restaurants. Guests can also unwind at the Plaza Bar, chosen by FORBES as one of the top hotel bars in the world. Whether staying at the for business or pleasure, you are in the perfect place for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing