We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Decided not to come back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #101 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location. Decided not to come back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Plaza Hotel is centrally located on San Martin Plaza, very close to shopping, afternoon free tours of Buenos Aires and historic sites. It is easy to walk around Bs As from this starting point. The hotel is really historic and has a gorgeous drive-up entrance. The reception staff and lounge club staff were excellent and very attentive. The lounge on the 8th floor has bottled water (still and sparkling) and coffee 24 hours. Breakfast was on the smaller end of breakfasts we have had in Bs As and Argentina - 3 types of cereal, a few juices, some pastries, meat/cheese and some eggs. When we arrived for breakfast, it felt pretty picked over.

We arrived on our international flight and they had our room ready at 9:30 AM, which was excellent. Our room was on the 9th floor and when we arrived, they said that we had been moved to the top floor with a terrace. Our room was small, but did have a lovely terrace. Unfortunately, the terraces are closed for "guest safety", ours did seem a bit crumbly. It was a disappointment to not be able to open the window or crack the door for some air. The curtains were held up by velcro and when we tried to close them they came crashing down (with the lovely ripping velcro sound!) revealing some cracked paint and what looked like mold on the walls and ceiling. We were leaving the next morning and it was late, so we didn't request a new room. The bed was very comfortable and we had an excellent nights sleep. The tub is worn, but the rest of the bathroom was lovely. The business center is small but convenient and the printers were broken, but there was no sign letting us know.

We had difficulty getting in touch with the hotel in advance of our arrival to arrange a few services that we required, they don't publish an email address, so phoning them to make initial contact was the easiest. We had arranged transportation from the airport to the hotel and upon arrival asked about getting a ride the next day to the local airport. We were assured that with 10 minutes notice, that they would get us a radio taxi or car. The next morning, the person in charge of arranging cars said that there was no way for him to get us a taxi or a car and that we should just go (with all our luggage) and find a cab. They weren't willing to help us get a cab or to help us with our luggage to the street to find a cab. We dragged all of our things past the doormen and walked onto the street to hail our own cab. Ruined the high quality service we had received from the reception desk and the lounge.

Overall a good night sleep in a small room that is really close to where we wanted to be in Bs. As. Rather than coming back during our other stop overs in Bs. As., we elected to try the Park Tower (SPG next to Sheraton a few blocks away). Ended up staying there the remaining times we were in Bs. As. You still get Marriott points for the remainder of this year at the Plaza Hotel, which made that a hard decision.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TriangleTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    526
    271
    110
    58
See reviews for
250
519
78
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is over a hundred years old, bur very well kept. The service is exceptional! Breakfast was very good, large selection. Plenty of hot water and the room we had on the 8th floor was very quiet every night.

Room Tip: Facing the park is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

A very pleasant stay at this historical hotel. An great location for shopping nearby, eating in this area, as well as the walking outside.

The king size bed room is decent sized. The closet is on the small side especially they put iron board in there. The build-in drawers in the closet is nice to have. The bed and pillows are pretty comfy. The bathroom is nice too. Other than a regular toilet, there is a washing thing for ladies. The bath tab, however, needs some remodeling. The bottom was kind of wore out. The water pressure was high so the water spills every where when I turned the water on initially. The other thing is the room smells like an old house a bit.

The services were decent. Every staff was nice and polite. The lounge is on the 8th floor with a nice view. I like they have both water and sparkling water bottles available. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. They do have a chef who cooks the omelets so I liked my daily egg white omelets. The wait staff serves the juice and coffee at the table. They were nice enough to fill up my coffee mug before I left the hotel every morning.

I only used the fitness center once. Not a big place but equipped enough machines. The small outdoor pool was closed for the season. They do have some classes but none of the time worked out for me. I ran outside every early morning at the small park across from the hotel. One time I ran to Teatro Colon which is not far neither. Just watch out for the uneven sidewalk or the wet surface when people wash the side walk infront their shops.

The location of this hotel was perfect for me. There are plenty restaurants in 5 minutes walking distance. Also only steps to Florida st. for shopping. The pacific gallery is closed by for shopping as well as the nice food court there.

The layout of this hotel is a big confusing. There no elevator could be directly accessed from the lobby without stairs. It is cumbersome when you have the luggage. The staff got luggages to my room for me when I checked in. When I was leaving, I ended up on the top of the stairs from the 1st floor elevator after I came up from level 0 where the restaurant is. A staff came to rescue to help me get the bags down.

Overall a very nice stay. For business travelors, I was told they still give the Marriott points till the end of this year. The transition has not changed the staff or other things. They are planning to do the remodeling and of course increase the price too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My family of four stayed at The Plaza for five nights. We enjoyed every aspect of this hotel. Most importantly, our family easily fit into one room. In South America, it is hard to find a large hotel room with adequate space for 4 people. The hotel is centrally located and the service is top notch.

Room Tip: Our 6th floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skystew101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great Hotel, amazing service (if anything needed.. just ask Sr. Acero, bell boy)
Amazing location!!!
everything great... dont understand people saying it needs an update... too old.. bla bla bla... Buenos Aires is like this!!! at least this part of the city... old, romantic, and.. this look that you will just find here!!!
If youre arriving from Ezeiza.. just take the bus (Tienda Leon) hotel is located 4 blocks away from Madero Bus Station (95 Pesos!!!) you'll save a lot... and if youre feeling too "unplugged" @ the station you'll find free wifi!!
Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 616... infront of elevators but no noise at all... room can have better view, BUT... if you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrés A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is located in one of Buenos Aires traditional area across of the General San Martin Park. Close by Galerias Pacifico shopping center and Florida street. A five minute taxi ride will get you to puerto Madero.

The rooms are comfortable with excellent linens and soft beds. The only downsize of this hotel is the internet access is very costly, but you can always free internet at the lobby or dinning areas.

Room Tip: Is staying more than 3 nights for $40 more upgrade to business floor your breakfast and internet are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews, I almost cancelled my reservation and booked with the hotel where most of my business colleagues were. However, being a loyal marriott stayer, I decided to give it a shot and I'm so glad I did!

I had an absolutely huge room that overlooked the plaza. Was it totally new? No. But well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The Internet was fast, the concierge lounge well stocked, and everyone quite friendly. I had an extremely comfortable bed as well.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dcurtis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#140 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
San Nicolas
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
#71 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#46 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#63 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#82 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#97 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of Argentina's most distinguished hotel, the Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires. Conveniently located in the heart of Buenos Aires just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin, this Buenos Aires hotel offers exclusive guest rooms amenities with the best high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy the culture of the Retiro District's businesses, shops and restaurants as well as experience the tango dance in Buenos Aires. With nine ballrooms, our elegant hotel provides the perfect venue for any type of Argentina group meetings and memorable events. The Plaza Hotel houses the five-star Plaza Grill, known as one of the best Buenos Aires restaurants. Guests can also unwind at the Plaza Bar, chosen by FORBES as one of the top hotel bars in the world. Whether staying at the for business or pleasure, you are in the perfect place for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing