We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, with a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #101 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy, with a central location”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The area is a little dodgy, but you are right on Calle Florida... a main street where you can change money, and buy a lot of souvenirs. The hotel itself has an excellent staff, and a beautiful pool overlooking an old church. We were upgraded to a massive suite through our status, which really made the stay enjoyable. Watch out though, this hotel will not be part of the Marriott family for long, and your benefits soon wont apply.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    533
    273
    110
    59
See reviews for
250
523
80
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Chose this hotel before getting on a cruise as we had Marriott points. Had to relinquish 30,000 points, which was fine except it did not include breakfast. Breakfast turned out to be very expensive.Have to rely on stairs to get from the lobby of hotel to 1st floor. Room was OK, After looking out the window, left the curtains closed. The location of the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 686Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Plaza Hotel. Your opinion is very important to us and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,


Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
571 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is in a central location meaning you are close to a ton of restaurants and stores. You
can walk to most places or catch cabs which are generally reasonable. We used Radio Cab and
found them to be top-shelf all the way, no scamming tourists.

This hotel has been around but hasn't been updated in probably 20 years or so. It has an old
pseudo-European feel.

The check-in process was smooth and they were very nice to allow us to check in quite early.
Lord knows we needed after our 9 hour flight.

The bed was awesome very comfortable and lots of pillows. There were plenty of toiletries and
good quality.

The view we had wasn't that great, it was the building next door.

The staff did a good job but no one went above and beyond.

If the price is right then this is a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingHuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Plaza Hotel. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us to identify areas that need improvement. Please, let me tell you that we are making some renovations in several sections of our hotel in order to improve our guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to receive your visit in a near future.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was pleased with the Plaza Hotel, during a recent business trip to Buenos Aires. There were no other options for a Marriott guy so I was happy to have this hotel, albeit until end of June when it will no longer be partnered with Marriott. Being Platinum Elite, I had an upgraded room with park view and the best A/C I’ve even experienced in SA. They also honored the other Marriott benefits of free Wi-Fi and wired internet for all my devices and bonus points for platinum status. No doubt it’s an older hotel but my room was well maintained with all the comforts of home. The executive lounge was nice and concierge very helpful with all my needs, including finding a mass on Sunday morning. Breakfast and hot hors d’oeuvres each night in the lounge helped with the travel budget and nights I wanted something more substantial, room service quality was exceptional and very reasonably priced. On off hours however the lounge only offered beverages and any food was promptly removed including snacks. The front desk was also helpful but not the warm caring reception I’ve had from other Marriott properties in LATAM and elsewhere in Buenos Aires. The hotel is situated in a nice area for walking and with a weeklong stay I found it to be very suitable for an evening stroll each night, even enjoying some street performances and tango exhibition along the way. Like others have reviewed, I also found the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very expensive, so the executive lounge did make for an attractive alternate. Short of some elevator issues the week I stayed, I rate the experience as very good and would not hesitate to stay at this hotel next time I’m in Buenos Aires and it’s under Marriott partnership

Room Tip: Park view was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCT-NJ-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Plaza Hotel, it is good to know that you found this hotel a friendly place to stay.

We are very lucky to enjoy such a prime location in the Retiro district, just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel far from blew me away. I booked on points (after June they will no longer be a Marriott property). While they did upgrade me (platinum) and give lounge access, they were almost a little annoyed I asked. They did store our bags for a week prior to our trip down to Patagonia-which was nice. The room was nice enough, but the hotel needs a renovation. The styling is nice, but lots of wear is starting to show. The basement bar was nice, but it's BA and nicer bars are all around. Location is good (next to Florida ave and San Martin plaza) but only for real tourist type stuff. I don't regret staying here (mainly because I booked on points) but I wouldn't again. The Hilton is far better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WilliamD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Plaza Hotel. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us to identify areas that need improvement. Please, let me tell you that we are an independent hotel and Marriott Business Partner and we are making some renovations in several sections of our hotel in order to improve our guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to receive your visit in a near future.

Best regards,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Pro: Quit old but nice place to stay. Comfortable room and has a good localization. It's just few minutes walking from Porto Madero. The employs are very friendly.
Cons: Breakfast are expensive and can be better. The internet is also charged.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MarceloTomoyose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Plaza Hotel. Your opinion is very important to us and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,


Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here in January with two other couples, we used points, the others paid. I would have felt very aggrieved if I had had to pay as they did. One couple had to move as the bathroom had mould and smelt. They couldn't draw their curtains in the second room as they were stuck so a member of staff brought a small ladder and just yanked them shut, they left them shut for the rest of their stay. Ours were hanging off at one end in our room. The rooms are small, the bathrooms pokey. We had no light in the room as it looked straight into an office block. The shower in the bath was average. The reception staff were less than helpful and found it difficult to cope with the number of hotel guests. The worst Marriott i have ever stayed in and the worst hotel by far on our 3 1/2 weeks trip of Chile, Argentina and Iguazu Falls in Brazil. All of our party felt the same.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fizzyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#139 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,257 reviews
San Nicolas
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
#70 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,434 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#61 of 447 in Buenos Aires
2,009 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 447 in Buenos Aires
747 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#49 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#82 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#97 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of Argentina's most distinguished hotel, the Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires. Conveniently located in the heart of Buenos Aires just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin, this Buenos Aires hotel offers exclusive guest rooms amenities with the best high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy the culture of the Retiro District's businesses, shops and restaurants as well as experience the tango dance in Buenos Aires. With nine ballrooms, our elegant hotel provides the perfect venue for any type of Argentina group meetings and memorable events. The Plaza Hotel houses the five-star Plaza Grill, known as one of the best Buenos Aires restaurants. Guests can also unwind at the Plaza Bar, chosen by FORBES as one of the top hotel bars in the world. Whether staying at the for business or pleasure, you are in the perfect place for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing