We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel with a wonderful location for Walking Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #98 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
cumming, ga
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel with a wonderful location for Walking Downtown”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was a pleasant surprise with an online reservation...great service from an attentive and friendly staff...both vacationers and business folks will appreciate the unbelievable location, as it is close to so much!

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ccmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    534
    273
    110
    59
See reviews for
250
521
80
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I spent one night here, and I would probably stay here again, but you need to set your expectations properly. First, it is exceptionally clean, and the service is A+ (some of the best I have had yet). They also allowed me to check in at 7:00 AM after the overnight flight from Miami and I am sure I could have checked out late if I wanted to.

There is only ONE thing I could hit the hotel for, and it is the neighborhood. In the evening I am not sure it is the safest part of town, but during the day it is perfectly safe and fine. I really can't ding the hotel for that. It's just my impression. My hosts while in country insisted that after dinner they walk with me back to the hotel, and they then walked to their cars together. They indicated that the evenings, you just don't know. So I take that as a sign that you need to be aware. It is in the business district, but the smells that are present let you know that it's not the best place to hang at night.

In terms of my status at Marriott, I don't care that they didn't recognize my status. They never did at any other foreign Marriott I have been to before either. The room was fine. It was clean, comfortable, modern and had a fully functional iron and a outlets that took 110 power cords.

I'll stay here again without question.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelBA, Gerente at Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mr. David,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Plaza Hotel. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. I will share your kind words with my colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Perfect location across the street from the Plaza San Martin it is a great classic hotel built in the early 1900´s. It is NOT past it´s prime at all Wonderful room, they did upgrade me as I am a Platinum member with Marriott. The concierge level for breakfast was simple, had all you need fruit eggs, toast, etc The evening snack was very good salad something small and then potatoes or rice and meat last nite was rice with an excellent pot roast and then a very good chicken with excellent grilled veggies Would most definitely stay here again Until you are used to very high end hotels this is the perfect place to stay Great staff, very very accomodating. Not one issue occurred great bed and linen big big towels PERFECT I spend months at a time in hotel travelling for work so I am used to all types of places

Room Tip: Plaza view is the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daliabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malawi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this place by accident, but ended up staying for quite a while. Gives you everything you would need with a great breakfast! Worth a look for sure and good value for money. We were given a room with stunning views of the plaza, but, be aware, this comes with road noise below. If you know buenos aires...you will understand the hooting problem.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We really wanted to like this hotel... It appears to be a grand old hotel when you arrive. It has a good location in relation to proximity to things and cab traffic. But for safety it's probably best to have cabs drop you at the door as opposed to on the street. It's across the street from a park that has a kids playground too. The room had a decent amount of space. The beds were comfortable. Concierge was helpful with restaurant reservations. We commiserated with other guests as we waited for the elevator as usually only one elevator was running which resulted in long waits. Pool bar service was super slow too. No free wifi in the rooms. We didn't get anything for our Marriott status.

Major problem was that our air con didn't work. It was over 100 degrees fahrenheit and our air con didn't work. Really??? We paid over US$1,000 for 3 nights for a room with no air con. We had maintenance up to repair it few times and were told it would cool down. We awoke sweating. SWEATING!!! We asked to be moved... nope. We asked for fans and received one. We propped the door to the hall open because the hall was nice and cold. It didn't help. Finally on the last night we were moved at around midnight to the empty room next to us that HAD air con. They couldn't do that when we first reported the problem? Our folio says we had room 588 but I'm not sure if that was the good or bad room. The good room was a corner room and the bad one was next to it. We spoke to people in the elevator who were on the top floor and they said their hall was really hot but that their room was fine. Think we got a discount for a non-air conditioned room? Nope. Think we got a sorry from the management? Nope. Very poorly handled situation and our poor sleep and inability to relax in our room really ruined our last days in BsAs. We wouldn't stay there again. We wouldn't take the chance that our air con wouldn't work and it wouldn't be rectified.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with functioning air conditioning. We didn't get moved even though our air con d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank nagiffag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Plaza for two separate one-night stays in early April, 2014. Had also stayed at the property 12 years earlier.

Hotel is in an excellent location. Plaza Florida is a few steps away from the hotel and other sites are easily withing walking distance.

Our rooms at the Plaza Hotel were both very large with lots of storage space. Beds were comfortable, linens soft, and the rooms very, very clean. Bathrooms were large and well appointed.

We found the staff at the Plaza Hotel efficient, friendly and helpful.

Our only complaint was the negotiated fees for taxi services. The bellmen highly recommended using the taxis arranged by the hotel, "for safety purposes and concerns." The rates charged are about double what a normal fare would be. I would not recommend using this service.

All in all, the Plaza Hotel was perfect for our needs: a comfortable room, a helpful staff, and a great location for one night in BA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenBear_Husker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were in Buenos Aires for a week. The Hotel was comfortable and accommodating. Convenient location in the city and walking distance from anything we wanted. The hotel staff were a little "standoffish"...... could have been friendlier. The Hotel is very old - classic old - but clean and nice if you like classic instead of new, boring Hotels that all look alike.

Room Tip: No one told us how to turn on electricity in room. There is a little card holder on the wall when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#31 of 445 in Buenos Aires
739 reviews
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#142 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,278 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#62 of 445 in Buenos Aires
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#23 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#81 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#89 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#96 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of Argentina's most distinguished hotel, the Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires. Conveniently located in the heart of Buenos Aires just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin, this Buenos Aires hotel offers exclusive guest rooms amenities with the best high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy the culture of the Retiro District's businesses, shops and restaurants as well as experience the tango dance in Buenos Aires. With nine ballrooms, our elegant hotel provides the perfect venue for any type of Argentina group meetings and memorable events. The Plaza Hotel houses the five-star Plaza Grill, known as one of the best Buenos Aires restaurants. Guests can also unwind at the Plaza Bar, chosen by FORBES as one of the top hotel bars in the world. Whether staying at the for business or pleasure, you are in the perfect place for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing