We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Hotel in Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Ranked #26 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel in Perfect Location”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We visited BA in mid-November and our first stop was the Sofitel. Arriving early in the morning, after an overnight flight, with a check-in time at 2p is always challenging, but the staff were very helpful in recommending low key walking routes to keep us awake and enjoy the sunshine of the city. Our room was very nice, very quiet and at the end of a short hallway with very few rooms on each floor. The staff was excellent at recommending restaurants, shows, etc. that met our expectations. Location is perfect for walking just about anywhere and the hotel is on a quiet, very shady street. Would definitely return to the Sofitel on our next trip to Argentina.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires and the recommendations of our location.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    249
    67
    21
    11
See reviews for
142
486
62
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

When compared to other well-located 5* hotels in Buenos Aires (such as the Four Seasons, Park Hyatt Palacio Duhau, Alvear Palace), the Sofitel is well priced and offers good value. The location is in Centro, a 10 minute walk to Recoletta (which is on the other side of Avenida 9 de Julio). The area is safe and residential, but yet it was convenient. There is a convenience store (Carrefour) just a few doors down from the hotel. Service at the hotel (front desk, concierge) is helpful, professional, and efficient. The locals view the Sofitel as one of the best hotels in the city. The room was mostly clean and they offered L'Occitane bath products. The room had a modern decor and was quiet. The size of our room was OK--it was on one of the lower floors, but oddly shaped and therefore did not have much efficient space. We made our reservation directly with Sofitel via their online reservations for convenience's sake, but perhaps we might have had a better room if we had called the reservations desk. The gym was small and had some cardio equipment (treadmills, bikes), but I would have liked to have seen more equipment and a bigger space. There was also a lap pool that we did not use. There are some good, high end restaurants nearby underneath the highway (surprisingly!) in an area called La Recova.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Otherwise, we hope your explanations of our location would be useful to our guests!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My wife and recently stayed at the Sofitel for five days. The service was outstanding and always with a smile. We always had the feeling that the staff's mission was to meet all of our needs. The room was a little small but you get over it because the design is so practical. The room was spotless and very well maintained. The bathroom was large. Excellent air conditioning and the bed mattress was so comfortable. The hotel restaurant(Le Sud) we had breakfast in every morning was quite charming. The service and food were very good. However, the regular coffee needs improvement. They should use the local coffee. There was a very charming cafe and bar in the hotel-Cafe Arroyo. We appreciated the prescence of security in the lobby. The hotel's location was excellent-walking distance to Recoleta and Palermo. These areas have excellent restaurants and shops. On Sundays, there is a craft fair in Recoleta.

Room Tip: Ask for explanation of different size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. It is a clean, modern and well-appointed hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. We felt our room was quite small though. Afterwards, I read that hotel rooms vary quite a bit so for future travelers, I recommend asking about a bigger room. The bathroom was huge and very lovely with a rainforest shower head! The location was good for us. We were happy to navigate the subway and take long walks. It's close to Palermo and you can walk to Recoleta Cemetary and other attractions too. It's a much more quiet neighborhood though then say, Palermo Soho. The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate. The spread is varied and generous but the service is slow for getting eggs a la carte and the coffee is terrible so definitely order a cappucino or espresso if you need your morning caffeine fix. The hotel has free wifi, a nice perk.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AETravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What a pleasure. Came here from the US on a tour.
So delightful.
The staff could not have been more accommodating. True hospitality professionals.
Highly recommend. There is a workout facility, spa, beautiful shop for handbags and jewelry and a top notch breakfast. What a treat!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newbiznanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo as well as its facilities. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team especially from Le Sud Restaurant, I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff and future guests because we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My last review on a hotel in Easter Island was, by necessity, fairly damning, so I had to cheer myself up by reviewing my favourite hotel on our recently completed South American holiday.
Sofitel Buenos Aires is gorgeously designed, beautifully run and maintained, well located and terrific value for money. Most importantly, the staff are a master class in how to treat guests - they were elegant, helpful and friendly. They’ll even caution you against tourist traps, advise on outside safety and steer you towards some great experiences in the Argentinian capital.
We decided to upgrade our room here, but just for fun because the hotel is built around a high tower that has marvellous views the higher up you go; and the current economic climate means these rooms are excellent value in the context of South America as a whole.
The rooms are modern with classical touches, cosy and very comfortable. Our upgrade room was absolutely stunning with a huge bathroom, separate bath and shower, two basins, a coffee machine (yes you heard right) and a very comfortable desk to work from. All amenities like internet and other electronics worked faultlessly.
There are superb dining opportunities in Buenos Aires and we are not usually big on dining in when travelling, but we found that the quality of the restaurant, bar and room service in the Sofitel and its value were so outstanding, we wound up basing ourselves for many meals at the hotel and its restaurants, and they were all marvellous, including the ones in our rooms.
The ‘Le Sud’ restaurant near the lobby is just wonderful, not cheap but certainly not outrageous either. There is also a French-style bar which serves light meals, also of a great quality and it has a terrific vintage (yet still modern) feel, a contemporary take on a club reading room.
Special mention must go to our concierge who was charismatic and helpful; he seemed to genuinely care about his customers.
There is only one negative for the hotel and it is a tiny one in the context of the stay. The hotel’s fitness facilities are very small, the pool for example can barely accommodate 2 people at once, but these facilities are still beautifully presented and maintained, fitting with the overall ‘boutique’ tone.
We are Australians and travelled as a couple through South America and we will certainly retain fond memories of this place and its staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the rooms and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janebenzadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments when choosing your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires after such a long trip in the South America. Is our a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#29 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#10 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Retiro
The Brick Hotel Buenos Aires - MGallery Collection by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Property: Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Address: Arroyo 841 | C.A.B.A, Buenos Aires C1007AAB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#17 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#18 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#36 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Buenos Aires is located in the tranquil and charming Arroyo Street, surrounded by enchanting and quiet sidewalks flanked by trees, the area is a heaven made up of antique shops and art galleries, a true epicenter of culture. The hotel features a perfect blend of the French savoir faire and the Argentine tradition, with an ambiance complementing exquisite decor and the delicate scents of soft flowers, awakening the senses of guests and giving them the feeling of being where true luxury sits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, ACCOR, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing