We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean and big rooms”
Review of Da Vinci Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #240 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Good hotel with big rooms and a decent bathroom. Central location and helpful staff.

Good value for the money. Only minus was the poor breakfast, nothing to put on the sandwich but marmelade and cheese.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gringoblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

I spent a weekend there with a friend... real nice place to stay...

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Marciosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We get to the hotel only to find out that the lost our reservation of four people. After about half an hour of the only two staff members present playing the blame game, they finally contacted the manager (who was away at the monent) to ask permission to go into his office and look through records. Upon finding our records, the battle over room availability for my husband, my two seven-year-old, and I began. They gave us a "Triple Room" which seemed ample enough for the four of us. Opening the door to the room, we were greeted by moldy wallpaper under a dripping air conditioner vent just over the doorway. In the bathroom, the soap dish and hand rail were broken and fell off after the first use of the shower. The spout of the faucet even broke off while my daughter brushed her teeth. On top of all the other problems, the only window in the room overlooked a lovely parking lot with posters shamelessly advertising strip clubs. The next morning, we were told that our family exceeded the three person maximum occupancy and that we were going to have to pay for a second room. This seemed odd to me that they were going to penalize me even though it clearly stated on the reservation confirmation that there were four guests and even though I called and emailed multiple times to confirm the reservation with the staff. They kept saying it ws my fault and that I found that to be the moment where they pushed me too far. I threatened to call my credit card company and not accept any further charges from the hotel seeing as how they threatened to make the charges without my consent. After a long and hard battle, the offered to put us up in a much cleaner/nicer/bigger apartment hotel the "Forcadell Apartments" right across the street for the same price we had set for the Da Vinci. The apartment we stayed in was an antique apartment with extremely modern and Ikea-esque accomodations which for us was just fine considering the dump we had just left. Long story short, never trust these unprofessional, cowardly thieves with your reservation and especially with your credit card number.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PLON28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoseAGrasso, MKT & Sales Manager at Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2010
Google Translation

Estimado pasajero

Nos hubiera hubiera encantado primeramente que se identifique para poder ver su caso en particular y al mismo tiempo por que un hotel tan prestigioso como este es victima de una apreciacion tan escueta con carencia de detalles. Lamentamos que haya escrito esa apreciacion tan terminante y no poder comprobar que se hospedado en este hotel y que por lo tanto que su juicio de valor sea REAL.

Saludos cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

It was fine in my opinion. I had just a complain related to the bedroom that I stayed that was the window sight. The hotel was crowded and the only room available was room #101. This particular room gives you the back view of the hotel where you find some kind of chimneys or sth else. If the window view does matter for you then don´t stay at this room# but in the other hand you don´t listen the cars noise under your window.
The hotel is old, but clean and the breakfast is good. People who work there are very gentle and nice and the hotel is very close to Florida street that is a good place to do some shopping.
From SP - Brazil

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller-SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

I've stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, even though the planned stay was for a whole week, during my honeymoon. We arrived there on a sunday night and the first thing we noticed was the smell of cigarette, since there are no-smoking rooms in the hotel. We had ordered a room with a large bed, since we're honeymooning, but all we got was a ordinary 2 regular sizes bed.

The next morning we went down to have breakfast closed to 10:30 pm and there wasn't many more options available. it seemed to us that they didn't care to refill the buffet. The next day, we had breakfast earlier and the options were quite the same.

The worst part, of course, was the bathroom. The towels were all worn-
out, the sink was very shallow and the shower curtains very short. As a result the bathroom got flooded after every single use.

I also have to mention that all furniture, sheets and quilts were worn-out. My bed quilt inclusive had a hole on it. The air-
conditioning was very noise and the closets had mold.

To sum up I would warn everyone to stay far from this hotel, even if the rates make it sound like a bargain.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Leminsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

If you need a cheap hotel in the middle of everything, this is your option.

It's not nice; it's on a dumpy side street and the rooms are on the dingy side. That being said, it's clean and cheap. It's a Howard Johnson's. That's what you get.

I would stay here again because of the price, but don't stay here thinking you'll be finding affordable luxury. If you want location but don't want to pay high prices for it, this is a great option.

On the positive side, internet was cheap here ($1.50 an hour or so) and the staff was helpful and friendly and kind. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Foddye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

We had stayed in the HJ on Florida Street at the start of our trip to Argentina, as it was booked out when we returned to BA we booked the DaVinci instead. It was ok but not anything like as good as the Florida Street one. Everything was quite dated, and the location, although also very central was not on a particularly nice street (more a side alley). The greatest problem for us was noise, either the other guests for our stay were particularly noisy or the walls and doors are really thin, but the noise in the morning of television, doors banging, people talking loudly was really annoying and meant we had to get up whether we wanted to or not! I think this hotel is down as 4 star but I would not put it in that category. We got the room for US$133 on an online deal but the rate otherwise was US$185 which it is definitely not worth!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Esmeralda Palace Hotel
Esmeralda Palace Hotel
#271 of 443 in Buenos Aires
171 reviews
San Nicolas
Regis Orho Hotel
Regis Orho Hotel
#388 of 443 in Buenos Aires
265 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#114 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Unique Executive Central
Unique Executive Central
#212 of 443 in Buenos Aires
767 reviews
San Nicolas
Galerias Hotel
Galerias Hotel
#284 of 443 in Buenos Aires
421 reviews
Retiro
Leonardo Da Vinci Residence
Leonardo Da Vinci Residence
#322 of 443 in Buenos Aires
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci Hotel

Address: Calle Tucuman 857, Buenos Aires C1049AAQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#116 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £74 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vinci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Da Vinci is a 4 star prestigious and distinguish hotel. Conveniently located in the center of Buenos Aires city, offer the guest a lifetime experience. Almost everything can be found a few steps from the hotel. But the location is not everything; the hotel design offers the guest an eclectic experience between minimalist style and the cosines and distinction of the modern-classic design. The property offers a full service with buffet breakfast, restaurant, convention facilities, Health club, pool and parking besides others ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Howard Johnson
Buenos Aires Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing