We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, sad breakfast and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Ranked #141 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice location, sad breakfast and service.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The Sheraton liberator is in a nice location in Buenos Aires. There are many places to visit near by. The rooms are just OK (club level) and the breakfast is just not in par with other Sheratons. The service is OK as well, the staff will not go above and beyond their duties like they woul in Sheratons in Peru, and Ecuador...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guisum,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we deeply appreciate you taking the time to offer constructive comments regarding your stay with us.
We are really surprised about your comments regarding the breakfast experience. At our Club Lounge we offer our guests full buffet breakfast the same one, with an ample variety of options, served at La Pergola Restaurant on the 3rd floor. We apologize if you could not find on our offer what you needed.

Again, thank you for the comments, constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    549
    262
    83
    51
See reviews for
250
375
96
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The great thing about Tripadvisor are the warnings: you reviewers really do set our expectations.

Yes, the rooms are tired and dated. We were even on a Club Lounge floor and they were dated. The tub is so tiny that you can't even sit in it. The water temperature would fluctuate from freezing cold to scalding hot.

I can tell you what I did like: the staff here. Guido in the front desk and Tamara who works in the Guest Lounge are off the charts wonderful. I can name them, that is how good they are: Guido and Tamara. They go the extra mile to do everything that they can do to make your stay comfortable. Here in the United States, people like them would be working at top hotels.

Guido: he went out of his way to help us when our luggage didn't arrive. Really in control of the situation. People like him should be picked up from Starwood and put into management training. That man is going places.

Tamara: she works in the Club Lounge-she is a wonderful sweetheart-great manners and a warm personality. Again, she was helpful and very kind in giving us advice about how to make our time in Buenos Aires better. My husband and I felt very cared during our time here.

Look, the hotel facilities may not be first rate. However, the people who work here are gifted and talented. That makes up for any issues that I had about the tub size.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFGB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed a few days at this hotel and found it to be ideally located with the Galeria Pacifica mall right beside it. In fact, the hotel is right in the center of the city. Our room was quite spacious, clean and fresh with a big washroom. It definitely was one of the better hotel rooms we stayed in during this South American tour. It is close to many of the tourist attractions, shops, restaurants and a basilica. For those on the go, this was the best bet.

Room Tip: It appears that there are older rooms in the hotel. It may help to ask for the newer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Serendipity8,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in our property.

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stayed at our hotel and it’s a pleasure to know we feet your expectations and needs.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff.

Again, thank you for your feedback, constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I usually really like the Sheraton but not this one. I was there on business. Small dumpy rooms and they will probably stick you in a smoking room. I don't smoke for a reason, I don't like how it smells or breathing it in all day and night so why the hell would they put me in a smoking room. They finally moved me after I couldn't breath any more. They couldn't just avoid they issue and give me a non-smoking room upon request at check in. It's close to a mall an shopping but there are many better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sublime99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear sublime99,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel and trusting us with your accommodation during your trip to our wonderful city.

We are deeply concerned to learn the inconvenience you went through with your room preferences. Unfortunately if your reservation was made under a smoking room and at the moment of check in we don’t have the option to change it, we have to give you the room you booked and if a nonsmoking room gets free we move you. We try to feet all our guests needs but sometimes we are captive of the availability at that moment. We recomend our guests to check this important preferences at the moment they request the reservation.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review giving us your feedback. Without any doubt your comments are our most valuable tool to improve our service and I truly hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again in our Hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a really nice hotel. It's big so do not expect that familiar service as boutique hotels, but it was a great staying and I don't have anything against the service.
The room is BIG and the bathroom simply great. Beautiful, spacious and with an amazing bath tube.
The breakfast was amazing and a sir called Henrique always brought my hot and delicious chocolate. Expect fruits, breads, yogurts, everything from a Sheraton hotel.
So whats wrong with it? THE LOCATION. It's far from Palermo and Recoleta which are the best places to spend your time in Bs As (so you must choose to stay in one of those places). Its close to Florida Street which I hate (crowded, not cozy at all, very popular).
I would recommend this is it was in another location but unfortunately I cant do it and I would advice you to choose a place in Palermo Soho or Recoleta instead.

Room Tip: With bathtube - they were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuiMilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear GuiMilani,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in our property.

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stayed at our hotel. Your comments about Enrique’s service are very kind and we are proud to count with him as a part of our team.
It’s a shame you did not enjoy the area, but most of the 5 stars hotels are located here around.

Again, thank you for your feedback, constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Although well located, sheraton Libertador is an example of a hotel that although good at the ore (good location, breakfast, etc) is very rough around the ages. I stayed three weeks in July for business and felt that :
- great location- close to shopping centres, restaurants, and in a very touristic and safe area
- rooms overall are not too bad - large closet space, beds are comfty
- no ironing board in the room (unbelievable!). You need to call reception and wait for them to bring an iron which you need to return in half an hour.
-no complimentary water, coffee or tea in the rooms.
- my room had a problem with the a/c and heating, in which i would set the desire room temperature and the temperature will remain completely different. I had to call reception on three occasions to get this fixed
- i had to run water in the bathroom about 10 mins to get some hot water in the mornings. Would end up showering in cold water some times in order to avoid the guilt of wasting so much water. You can tell the hotel is quite an old building and renovations have done little to fix these sort of problems
- breakfast is very good and the staff in the restaurant friendly
- club lounge is comfortable and the food is quite good
- gym is ok, though in various occasions they had run out of towels or water
- small pool which i did not use looked ok for a refreshing swim
- people in the reception are friendly, but at times you have to wait very long times for them to be able to speak to you (understaffed?)

Room Tip: Stay far from the elevators as these rooms are too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianatennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear dianatennis,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel and trusting us with your accommodation during your trip to our wonderful city.

We are deeply concerned to learn the inconvenience you went through you shower and the room temperature. We had report this to Manteinance to avoid any future problem to other guests.
We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay and you found the hotel confortable, with great restaurants and a staff friendly and helpfull.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review giving us your feedback. Without any doubt your comments are our most valuable tool to improve our service and I truly hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again in our Hotel.
Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had the pleasure to visit this hotel 7 years ago when travelling around South America on holiday. My last 5 days on vacation were in BA and I had booked the Libertador using SPG points and had an amazing experience. Got a room upgrade to a suite and really enjoyed the location. I had the opportunity to return to BA for business in August 2013 and chose this hotel based on my previous experience (upgraded to the business level for lounge access). The location is still ideal, steps away from the main shopping/dining areas, but also close to my office. However, I'm sad to report, there were a number of things I found lacking which need to be addressed. The staff are still very friendly, and made amazing recommendations for local restaurants. But the rooms seemed a bit sad/dated, and the shower is an absolute joke. First, it takes a while to "dial the shower in" so you're not either freezing or under scalding water. Second, while I enjoy a rain shower, this shower head was so far to one side of the tub, I literally was standing on the incline of the tub to get to the water. Rain showers should not be in tubs, only shower stalls. And why not also have a toggle switch to toggle between the rain shower, and a hand held shower? Come on Sheraton, that's pretty much standard. When it came to checkout, I had upgraded my business colleague to business level (my upgrade was complimentary as I have SPG status), but my colleagues bill was a joke. Instead of just charging him the room charge for the upgraded room, they charged him for the normally daily rate for a standard room for 3 nights, and then had a single line item in the bill called "upgrade". How the heck is my employee supposed to expense a large hotel line item called "upgrade"? I expected his bill to show an executive room rate + tax for three nights, not a standard room rate + tax + a single "upgrade" charge. Sheraton, realize that many of your visitors are business travelers and have to deal with the pains of expensing our travel charges. Sadly, I might look for other places in the same area instead of picking the Sheraton again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivaPamplona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
#102 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Retiro
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
San Nicolas
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
#70 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,195 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#62 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Libertador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Libertador Hotel

Property: Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Address: Avenida Cordoba 690, Buenos Aires C1054AAS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#79 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#94 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#103 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Libertador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Downtown Tower Hotel located next to shopping area, near business district, banking, & Teatro Colon Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Libertador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing