We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Ranked #140 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Sendai, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I had a three-night stay at the Sheraton Libertador with my wife in February 2014. It was an anniversary trip, and I am an SPG platinum member, so we were upgraded to a presidential suite.

The good

-amazing upgrade to a fabulous room. This very much made our stay and I really appreciated it.
-convenient location, near shopping, restaurants (we enjoyed Chacra for meat and La Barra for informal dining), and not too far from attractions
-one excellent staff member on the front desk who really went out of her way to be friendly and helpful
-reasonable and tasty room service
-a great rooftop (inside) pool
-decent club lounge breakfast

The bad

-the hotel is a little worn and noise (loud humming, banging pipes) was noticeable but not a problem. One of the toilets was leaking slightly in our room.
-the gym is a little small and under-equipped (but will do at a pinch)
-although most of the staff were professional and friendly, there were a couple who were not

Overall

Despite some small issues, this was a wonderful stay and a great experience for my wife and I. We would definitely return to the Sheraton Libertador and hope to do so in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendaiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_TeamSheraton, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Sendaiben,

Thank you for having chosen Sheraton Libertador Hotel for your recent visit to our wonderful city as well taking time to share your review.

We are delighted you enjoy your stay at our property. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with us, as it really help us to improve our quality service.

We look forward to host you again..!

Kind Regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    554
    271
    84
    53
See reviews for
256
379
97
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

February 01, 2014 for one night, pre-cruise:

We selected this property based on Tripadvisor reviews, and the fact that fellow cruisers would also be there. No need to belabor what so many have already reported ... the location is very convenient. Restaurants, shopping, wine shops are all close by.

My first impression? Well, somewhat unimpressive. The lobby was dated, there were no shop fronts for interest, and the furniture was somewhat past its prime. The lobby reminded me of a conference hall. And at 08:30 in the morning, there were already arrivals from all-night flights hoping to check in early. But no such luck for us ... although we'd booked the "Club Floor," we were told that we could only check in early if we paid an additional $50. That infuriated me, because even with an early check-in, we'd still only be there for 24 hours. And, they did have rooms available! On principle alone, we refused to ante up and retreated to one of the few available seats close to the check-in desk.

During a 3 hour wait, we observed several couples paying the extra $$, as well as a near mob scene as two lone clerks tried to handle an endless line-up of cruise passengers attempting to check in. Finally though, and only after asking, we were issued our room key card.

The halls were dark and narrow as we approached Club Room 2012; a little depressing. The room was minimally decorated and I didn't see much evidence of the refurbishment that I'd read about. Still, it was spacious and very quiet; quite comfortable in fact. The Euro-style bathroom was lovely, even though the old pipes would bang whenever a toilet (above or below) was flushed! Warning about the hot/cold water in the shower ... very difficult to control the settings.

The overriding positives:

Again, location. For a tourist, couldn't be better. Room 2012 (well away from elevators) was dead quiet. No view, but I'll take quiet any day.

The Business Club Lounge proved to be a veritable oasis! Sooo nice to wander in after a few hours rest from the flight and be able to enjoy a cappuccino and delicious cookies before heading out to explore the area. The lovely hostess was gracious and welcoming.

We returned to the Club Lounge for "Happy Hour" and delighted in the relaxing atmosphere and the attentive service of that same hostess. We found the generous hot and cold appetizer selections to be first rate ... far better than what I'd expected. We couldn't have been more pleased! And contrary to some of the negative comments written about the breakfast, it was absolutely fine. Hot offerings of eggs/bacon/potatoes. Fruit/yogurts/cheese/meats/cereal/breads and choice of juices. Perhaps not the selection you'd find in the restaurant downstairs, but more than enough to satisfy even a picky eater.

Adding it all up, yes; we'd probably come back to the Sheraton Libertador. But I'm spoiled now ... only a Club Floor room will do!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anole215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ileana L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Dear anole215,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel for your visit to Buenos Aires city and sharing your experience as well.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our property. And of course we take all your comments of your review.
We really appreciate it since it help us to know what we need to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

We look forward to receive you again!
Warm Regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I was at the Libertador 3 times in last December/Jan; position of the hotel is fantastic one block from Florida street and 10 minutes to Puerto Madero.

I am an SPG Platinum, and I can say that this hotel is fantastic for the SPG member, I had twice the Presidencial Suite and a Club Floor room.

The presidential is fantastic with also the sauna in the bathroom and also the club room was nice. Club lounge is good , with good wine and canapés.

Also room service, was good.

Wery helpful staff the only think its that the hotel is a little bit old!!

But for me a very good Hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoalebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton L, Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received.

Thank you very much for the gift of your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Sheraton Libertador Hotel's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Such a great location...just one block off Florida St. Many great restaurants close by..including in the Galleria Pacifica. Staff helpful and pleasant! Ask for washcloths and they will provide!! Our friends had booked the upgrade with the breakfast and evening happy hour...we didn't but were able to join them in the lounge with our own wine, which was nice!!

Room Tip: We were given a choice and asked for a high up room at the back of the hotel...no noise issues at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton L, Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience at Sheraton Libertador Hotel!
We are glad to hear that you spent a wonderful time us!
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Sheraton Libertador Hotel's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was in this hotel the first week of February 2014. The room could use a face lift because it was gloomy. As a matter of fact, the hotel needs a face lift. I did not have washcloths in the bathroom and there was not enough soap.

On the other hand, the staff was friendly and the location is great.

Room Tip: The photos on the Sheraton website are very misleading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyV409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_TeamSheraton, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel for your recent visit to Buenos Aires as well for share your reviews with us.

We apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. I have forwarded your comments about missing items to our Housekeeping Manager.

In order to better accomodate our guests, our Lobby Bar and Front Desk areas will be reburfished during this semester.

We appreciate your comments, it help us to improve our quality service.

We look forward to host you again!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel is old!! but the rooms are great!!! the service is great about 90% of the employees. Hope you do not encounter the other 10% very often....
Location, location,location... if you what you are doing is visiting and vacationing this is a good hotel. The management go the extra mile to help you feel at home!!! A+ ..
The lounge is good for the price but there is room for improvement!! But this lounge is way better than the other Sheraton in Buenos Aires..
Laundry, Maid, Restaurant are good. The restaurant could need a little of love but the people are very good.

Room Tip: This is a very good option if you are a Marriott frequent customer. Now that there is no marriott in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paeslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_TeamSheraton, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Paeslim,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel for your recent visit to Buenos Aires as well for taking time to write your review.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel, we will forward your congratulations to all our staff.

In order to offer a more comfortable experience to all our guests, we will be refurbishing our Lobby Bar and Front Desk areas during this semester.

We appreciate your comments, it help us to improve our quality service.

We look forward to host you again..!

Warm Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I am visiting this hotel for the last year approximatly once a month for business travel.
The staff are allways friendly and helping. allways a warm welcome and in-realtime responses to needs. rich breakfest, and food is good also for diners in the lobby if you dont want to look for a restaurant, but there are also plenty of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_TeamSheraton, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear AmiKI,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador in your recent business trip to Buenos Aires.

We are delighted you enjoy our property every time you visit the city. We appreciate your comments, it help us to know how we are delivering our quality service.

We look forward to host you again..!

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
San Nicolas
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
Panamericano Buenos Aires Hotel
#72 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,451 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#51 of 446 in Buenos Aires
3,274 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#62 of 446 in Buenos Aires
2,027 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#54 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Libertador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Libertador Hotel

Property: Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Address: Avenida Cordoba 690, Buenos Aires C1054AAS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#78 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#93 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#102 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Libertador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Downtown Tower Hotel located next to shopping area, near business district, banking, & Teatro Colon Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Libertador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing