We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic but cool and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is one of the top hotel I ever been among the numerous hotels I shared in my diplomatic life.
The hotel is very chic and old fashion style , bur not snob as the Hyatt located in the same avenue, and not fake as the too modern Four Seasons up the avenue some blocks ahead.
The staff is very friendly and very dedicated.
This is the best address you can find in South America.
Patrick Howlett Martin
France Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Room Tip: The rooms are huge, no need to ask a suite. Second floor on the avenue Alvear is a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcousteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel for our wedding night.
We stayed two nights and the place is a fairy tale come true!
The Suite was dreamed, jacuzzi bath with incredible, memorable breakfast!
I can only say that the attention of the front desk was not what I expected, it was not by site and category of hotel: Ovid leave us champagne and strawberries (typical of a wedding night package) and when we discussed it at check out the employee's response was not consistent with a hotel of this nature.
Outside of that incident, super recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sol_Juan_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

After a long-haul flight, it feels so nice to be in luxury, which is what this hotel offers. Perfect check in, with early AM arrival, and remarkable rooms where one feels like they have "come a long way and can see and experience something new" while having that home-like (ok, better than home-like) comfort.

The beds are huge and comfortable, and Hermes bath products rule (who knew Hermes made Bath Products?!).

There is a great gym, and even better "foot bath" where you walk across stones in super hot water then super cold water then have a hot tub. This made the perfect transition from day time (major walk, 2 museums, Eva Peron's grave) to evening for a wonderful dinner completely refreshed after all of the travel and visits.

My only regret is that my luggage did not contain 2 items that needed "pressing" (this is comped). Alas, I travel with "wash & wear" but maybe next time.....

This hotel is really special, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Santenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

From the moment we arrived and for our entire stay we couldn't have been more pleased. The location is perfect, the service is wonderful, anything you need will be taken care of. I'm not a breakfast person but you cannot miss these!

Room Tip: Only know that our room on the 4th floor was quiet, clean and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 33map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stayed in this grand hotel several times over the years and I am never disappointed with the accommodations or the service. The breakfast buffet is excellent and draws people in from other hotels.

Room Tip: My travel agent was able to arrange a free room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boyohboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

hotel alvear is a fabulousl hotel, very chic and also very expensive. the staff is formal, not very nice. brunch is a unique experience. very well served and everything tasty. brekfast is also great. whenever i travel to buenos aires even if do not stay at alvear i always try to eat there.

Room Tip: excellent rooms. big and confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clariceRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is a grand old place with top notch EVERYTHING. The service, the amenities, location all are over the top. A bit expensive but everyone should splurge at least once so treat yourself. We stayed prior to a hunting trip and were treated very very well. Impressive!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadowhider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#7 of 443 in Buenos Aires
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,680 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#18 of 443 in Buenos Aires
750 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#21 of 443 in Buenos Aires
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £305 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing