We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I can not think of anything that could be done better, or improved on. The Alvear Palace is simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in, and the afternoon High Tea was a highlight of our visit to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay at The Alvear Palace.

I am delighted to hear that you appreciated our service. I will share your kind words with my colleagues whom all have contributed to making your stay enjoyable.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,488
    220
    37
    17
    10
See reviews for
290
775
85
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location in Buenos Aires. We stayed for 4 nights in November 2013 for pleasure and were very well looked after. The staircase is amazing and well worth a visit to a high floor to peer down - or up from the ground floor if you suffer vertigo. The waiter breakfast services was great. Little touches that you don't usually get in a buffet like they refill your juice. I ordered poached eggs and they were served under a cloche so they were still hot from the kitchen. The rooms were very comfortable although ours didn't have a view. There was free Internet which was reasonably fast. The concierge was very knowledgable and delivered a pack of suggestions to our room. Door staff were helpful getting taxis. The hotel car service from the airport was rather expensive but a nice luxury. The pool is basic but the gym was very good. Finally, housekeeping was excellent and well deserving of praise.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 612 which didn't really have a view but was perfectly quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Absolutely awesome hotel It is a real wow. The food is superb, the room is beautifully appointed, the gym was very nice (not great-I guess no place is perfect). The service is splendid. Just a real great place that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a 9th floor overlooking the city and the bay to the right and it was real nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are hoping to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We went here on a business trip with a 100+ person group and it was fantastic! The rooms were nice and comfortable. It is located in the Recoleta neighborhood and is close to many nice restaurants ans shopping. It is a quick walk to the market on Sunday. Watch your valuables when outside the hotel as you would anywhere in BA. Also, remember that locals don't wear jewelry and you become a target when you do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments!

We hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My second visit after a four year gap, Alvear Palace goes from strength to strength, it is outstanding and since the most recent redecoration even better. The beds are the most comfortable of any luxury hotel in the world, the service from a truly professional team just shows that Management have invested in training a great team.
You just know when you walk into this fabulous property that it is cared for and loved by its owners and it shows, bravo to the entire team.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Alvear Palace Hotel. I am happy hear you enjoyed our confortable beds and also our redecoration.

I will make sure to inform all the staff members of your kind words.

We hope to see you next time you return to Buenos Aires.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

One of the icon of the european architecture of the 20th century in Buenos Aires, marmol from Italy, huge colums, old style and luminous garden, great and fresh buffet for lunch and breakfast, and a top professional staff always greeting you with smiles to make sure your stay will be perfect...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review. I am delighted to know that you were pleased with our services. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

If you are thinking about visiting Buenos Aires, for business or private purpose, my recommendation is to stay at Alvear Palace. It's probably the best service in the country - Leading Hotels obliges. This means attention to your individual smallest wishes and habits on top of required level of service, accommodation and food. Central location in an upscale neighbourhood. Beautiful hotel starting from its lobby. Beautiful comfortable rooms. Fresh roses waiting for you and a butler happy to attend to any kind of your requests and necessities. Of course you pay the price for it. But you are always getting extras on top your expectations.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NataliaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#18 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Property: Alvear Palace Hotel
Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing