We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic luxury hotel in perfect location in Recoleta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alvear Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Classic luxury hotel in perfect location in Recoleta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

For a long time the Alvear Palace has set the standard for luxury hotels in South America, and today is no different. You can feel the elegance as you enter the small marble-floored lobby, breeze through check-in, then pass by the Paris-style lobby bar on the way to the elevators. Fresh roses await in your room on arrival, and rooms are impeccably furnished with finest linens, towels, marble bathroom with jacuzzi tubs and separate rainforest shower. Butler and turndown service, anything you ask for, you have it immediately. While it's not the Crillon in Paris, it's very close in style, comfort, and service. The dome-ceiling breakfast room and garden with the sumptuous breakfast buffet is the best anywhere. Spa and gym are great. Try to Thai massage. Location: perfect. Walk outside and go shopping in the best shops (though with the government import restriction many high end shops have closed), good restaurants, the Eva Cemetery, music and art fairs in the part. And it's not far by taxi to Puerto Madero or Palermo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svletas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,458
    210
    34
    14
    7
See reviews for
280
756
83
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
255 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Alvear Palace for 4 nights and what a delight! The reception area, bar and restaurant is clad in marble! Opulent but not overbearing! The service was excellent. I enjoyed the well equiped spa and health area. The hotel is well situated with several excellent restaurants in the immediate surroundings. Well worth a visit!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay here on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Alvear.

Thank you again for your post and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

It doesn't get much better! In every way, this hotel tries to please, and it succeeds! !
Food, comfort of rooms, toiletries by Hermes, "Wonderful" mattress and linens and most important, location!
Butler service is a marvelous addition to your level of comfort (on certain floors). Concierge Desk
does not get better. I could go on and on, but I think you get the point! .....Loved our 5 day stay
and we will be back!

One of the warmest and friendliest 5 star hotels we have had the pleasure to stay at!!!

Don't miss "High Tea"!

Room Tip: Tell the hotel team your exact needs and I am sure they will be most helpful in planing your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWICEWRIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, as guest reviews are a truly valuable resource for us to ensure we are offering the best service and products, exceeding our guests expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alvear Palace Hotel on your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Thank you again for your post.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The last four visits to Buenos Aires I have stayed at this hotel. At the Luxury end this is the best hotel in town in my view, close to the few designer brands shops there are here and some great restaurants as well as being in the best district in town. The elegance of this Leading Hotel of the World is just exquisite. Beautiful classically decorated rooms and suites and wonderful food served for all meals. This is the place to be in Buenos Aires if you are a high end traveler. Staff are professional, helpful and friendly. You cannot help but wish you were staying longer.

Room Tip: 920 is a beautiful executive suite and 910 an beautiful junior suite. I stayed in both these rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I am a professional travel and culinary writer who was in Buenos Aires for a story on a private estancia in Patagonia and also to cover the last match of the Argentine Polo Assoc. triple-crown championship in Nov/Dec. The Alvear is tops in BA for atmosphere and luxury. My room/suite was well-appointed and the all-marble bathroom with tub and butler on call to run your bath was a divine touch ( although I was far too busy to use it). My favorite? The breakfast buffet in the lovely garden room set with fine china, good coffee, silver service, fresh-squeezed orange juice and a bevvy of local delicacies. On my last night I dined at Alvear's signature restaurant La Bourgogne- fine French service, lovely food and a terrific sommelier. (This comment is unsolicited and not advertorial- my thoughts only- I am president of the IFWTWA and travel frequently). Honeymooners, table-for-two-types and trysts recommended here.

Room Tip: I had a smaller suite away from the street. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleMWinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

In every hotel I stay, I want top service, great location with good wifi, gym and spa. Alvear has it all. Room is not what I like to be honest, too English style like a set of English tea. Room is spacious, quiet and bed is good. Took me 30hrs to arrive to Buenos Aires, quick check in, good bed and quiet room is what I would appreciate greatly on the first night. Reception is always fast and polite, so is the bell boy. 2nd night when I ordered a glass of wine, it came 20min. later and the waitress was apologetic about her slow service and told me is free of charge! I was impressed! Even more so when the glass of wine comes with small sandwiches.

Downside is their swimming pool opens at 2pm-8pm? I wish it starts the same time as the gym.
Oh! Their breakfast is disappointing with no freshly cooked eggs. You've to settle for the scramble eggs! Buffet lunch is so-so, go elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I am pleased to hear that overall you had a positive experience with us at the Alvear Palace Hotel.

I am disappointed, however, to hear that you were not satisfied with our buffet breakfast and with the swimming pool´s timetables. This is extremely valuable feedback and will be discussed with our management team.

We strive to provide each and every guest with an unforgettable experience.

We hope to seee you soon.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a four night city break and wanted to treat ourselves. The hotel far exceeded expectations. Situated in a elegant part of Buenos Aires, close to a number of the key areas of interest, we walked to everything. The hotel itself was built in early 20th century and has a classic style - we felt it reflected more of Buenos Aires style vs global brands. Staff were extremely helpful and spoke English fluently. The rooms were extremely comfortable and large walk-in shower was a bonus - not often found in the best hotels. The High Tea served in L'Orangerie was a delight and a must for all visitors. Would recommend this hotel to the most discerning with no hesitation and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: We has a Premier room on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petermooney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay. We are very lucky to enjoy such a prime location in the Recoleta neighborhood.

I am delighted to hear that you appreciated our service. I will share your kind words with my colleagues whom all have contributed to making your stay enjoyable.

We are looking forward to your next visit to the Alvear Palace Hotel.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#11 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#4 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Property: Alvear Palace Hotel
Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing