We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alvear Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mio Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Recoleta Plaza(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CasaSur Recoleta(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Intersur Recoleta(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Club Frances(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Etoile Hotel(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Guido Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,977)
Filter reviews
1,977 results
Traveller rating
1,649
247
48
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,649
247
48
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla bourgognehermes toiletrieslobby barold worldbutler serviceleading hotels of the worldbreakfast buffetwinter gardenclassic hoteljunior suitebeautiful hotelfour seasonsconcierge deskrecoleta districtan upgradepublic areassouth america
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 1,977 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

That's the second time at Alvear after 7 years. Very good as the first time. Very classy instalations, caring people, and very good location. Good reaction as we requested a chance in accomodation. Top destination in Buenos Aires. Priced a little bit over, I have to say...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PPullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The moment you enter the Hotel you know you belong somewhere in the 40's...
Fantastic attention to all minimal detail; as agreed with our FHR card, we were upgraded to a suite; the service was impeccable, fine china, marble baths, chandeliers.
Is located on a the Buenos Aires top Recoleta district, so walk to many architectural gems,La biela cafe, Sanjuanino Empanadas, and lots of great parrillas and restaurants.
Managerial and wait staff are so well coordinated makes you feel you are really waited on.
Location,Service, and really comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for an avenue room or suite... they are the best.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this great feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our colleagues to be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Buenos Aires.

Thank you again for your post.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

For a long time the Alvear Palace has set the standard for luxury hotels in South America, and today is no different. You can feel the elegance as you enter the small marble-floored lobby, breeze through check-in, then pass by the Paris-style lobby bar on the way to the elevators. Fresh roses await in your room on arrival, and rooms are impeccably furnished with finest linens, towels, marble bathroom with jacuzzi tubs and separate rainforest shower. Butler and turndown service, anything you ask for, you have it immediately. While it's not the Crillon in Paris, it's very close in style, comfort, and service. The dome-ceiling breakfast room and garden with the sumptuous breakfast buffet is the best anywhere. Spa and gym are great. Try to Thai massage. Location: perfect. Walk outside and go shopping in the best shops (though with the government import restriction many high end shops have closed), good restaurants, the Eva Cemetery, music and art fairs in the part. And it's not far by taxi to Puerto Madero or Palermo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svletas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in the Alvear Palace for 4 nights and what a delight! The reception area, bar and restaurant is clad in marble! Opulent but not overbearing! The service was excellent. I enjoyed the well equiped spa and health area. The hotel is well situated with several excellent restaurants in the immediate surroundings. Well worth a visit!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay here on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Alvear.

Thank you again for your post and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

It doesn't get much better! In every way, this hotel tries to please, and it succeeds! !
Food, comfort of rooms, toiletries by Hermes, "Wonderful" mattress and linens and most important, location!
Butler service is a marvelous addition to your level of comfort (on certain floors). Concierge Desk
does not get better. I could go on and on, but I think you get the point! .....Loved our 5 day stay
and we will be back!

One of the warmest and friendliest 5 star hotels we have had the pleasure to stay at!!!

Don't miss "High Tea"!

Room Tip: Tell the hotel team your exact needs and I am sure they will be most helpful in planing your stay! We had suite 912 sunny beautiful decor great view and wonderful butler service.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWICEWRIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, as guest reviews are a truly valuable resource for us to ensure we are offering the best service and products, exceeding our guests expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alvear Palace Hotel on your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Thank you again for your post.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews