We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alvear Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mio Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Recoleta Plaza(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CasaSur Recoleta(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Intersur Recoleta(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Club Frances(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Etoile Hotel(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Guido Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,976)
Filter reviews
1,976 results
Traveller rating
1,649
247
47
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,649
247
47
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla bourgognehermes toiletrieslobby barold worldbutler serviceleading hotels of the worldbreakfast buffetwinter gardenclassic hoteljunior suitebeautiful hotelfour seasonsconcierge deskrecoleta districtan upgradepublic areassouth america
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 1,976 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights over New Year. Loved the room, the staff (mostly) and the hotel in general, which oozes class and luxury BUT we attended the New Year's Eve black tie Gala Dinner which we thought was a rip-off and which was made worse by the APPALLING breakfast service on January 1st where there was a queue of around 40 people at 10.30, most of whom - including us - waited between 10 and 20 minutes to be seated and which was entirely caused by the fact that they did not have enough staff or managers on duty. Other than that we loved the hotel which although pricey was very good value.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you not only for staying with us but also for taking the time to write about your recent experience.

While we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, we were disappointed that you encountered a few issues, specifically with our Food and Beverage Department.

For those issues I wish to apologize and can only hope that they won't prevent you from returning to The Alvear Palace Hotel the next time you travel to Buenos Aires.

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Alvear is beautiful and elegant with outstanding service. It's equl to the Willard, the Stafford and
L' Europe in Amsterdam. We dined at the La Bourgogne and the food was superb. The Alvear is expensive, but worth it if you want the best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lysippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take pride in your kind feedback which has been shared with The Alvear Family members.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to visit us on your next visit!

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Luxury at its finest. No detail is overlooked. From the logo stamped into the sand of the ashtrays to the lite bites served with evening cocktails. The concierge is the best I have ever seen. No guest is underdressed as you may not walk around in athletic attire. Class and refinement like no other. Perfect is the only way to describe this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Alvear Palace Hotel, your feedback is much appreciated.

I am deligted that overall your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Thanks again and it would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is the grand dame of Buenos Aires. I've visited the city several times and have stayed at two other hotels, both of which I like very much, but this one is the tops. The rooms are elegantly furnished, amenities terrific (the Hermes bath products are truly luxurious), service is impeccable, the lobby and bar as well as restaurants are top notch and the location is terrific. Because our travel agent is a Virtuoso agent, we were upgraded to a suite with a wonderful view and beautifully appointed, although we did see a couple of the rooms and I would have been perfectly happy in those as well. The hotel has the old world charm and elegance which is missing in so many of the newer properties. This is now my choice of hotels when visiting Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us on what seems to be a fantastic stay. There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us!

We hope to be at your service again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We love the hotel particularly its elegant décor, butler service (interesting range of DVDs), room service (food menu was good) and posh room features (including fresh daily flowers). Breakfast was good with a wide variety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews