We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I had high expectations, I found it very average, but is a problem in all Porteño Hotels. People at the door not friendly, I had to look for taxis myself. Everytime we drove through the port cochere no one was there to open the door. The Concierge very professional. front desk just doing their job, nothing extra, no anticipation of needs, careless.
Rooms too traditional, I wont say is horrible, I would say is not my style.
At breakfast waiter brought me the check to sign, 10 minute after I started to eat, in the middle, I found lack of training in this area. the fine dining restaurant was really good, service is not up to par to the place and food they serve. I don't think I will come back, maybe I will try Alvear Art.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huarpe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and sharing your concerns.

I apologize for not providing an excellent experience during your stay-I would be delighted if you contacted me at nsalvagno@alvear.com.ar so we may discuss your stay and enable us to do better in the future.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope you will return-if I can assist personally.

Warm regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,836)
There are newer reviews for Alvear Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,836 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Every time I enter the doors I hear tje McCluskey orchesta crooning "Dancing in the Alvear". The rooms are too small and the gym and pool are lacking but that's not the point. Kings and Queens stayed here for generations. The history paints the walls.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BenLo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel.

Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alvear Palace Hotel in the future!

Best Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just came back from staying at the hotel for 3 nights. The staff was amazing, very helpful answering all our questions. Great location, some really great restaurants all around the hotel.
They are building a pool on the roof - don't know when it will be ready.
When I go back to Buenos Aires, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ny-likestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on this website, following your recent visit.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience in our hotel.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Alvear Palace Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Most of the other reviews say it all .........
This hotel is excellent. Everything about it was perfect or near-perfect.
The rooms, staff, service, restaurants and bar are all among the best.
This hotel rates right up there with the finest in any big city.
My only regret was a lack of an outdoor swimming pool when it was 40 degrees outside and after a day of touring; but no hotel of this quality in BA has this.
If you want something more modern, there is a nice hotel down the street - but if you want an old world classic with all the modern amenities, this is it.

Room Tip: Splurge for a larger room on a higher floor
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgurudoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted to hear of your experience.

We have also noted your comment about our indoor swimming pool. We are glad to inform you that we started a project which involves building a new swimming pool with an outdoor area.

We look forward to welcoming you home to the Alvear Palace Hotel in the near future!

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

BA is said to be the Paris of South America, and this hotel is its Ritz. Old world beauty and elegance is combined with top service and electronic convenience. It is located in the Recoleta, the chic district of the city, with the equivalent of New York's Madison Avenue around the corner. There are innumerable doormen and security people in the lobby and in front of the hotel, which has its own drivein entrance off the street. The place is entirely appointed in Louis XVI furnishings and décor, the dining room is like Versailles, and the breakfasts take an hour to luxuriate in if you have the time to eat wonderful things.

The rooms are large with high ceilings, comfortable sofas and chairs, and Wifi, to which you can connect as many devices as you like without extra charges. There is butler service to help you unpack and pack, to attend to, well, all butlery duties. Some of us know what that means...only kidding, but it's like having your own personal concierge and housekeeper. Room service is 24/7 and you must eat the steaks morning noon and night. Even the vegetarians do that while wearing masks at the table.

This is truly a five star experience and a must stay place in BA. We saw some other supposed five star places while there, but the lobbies at least don't hold a candle to the Alvear. If you want to feel like a king or like Marie Antoinette, this is the place.

Room Tip: If you can spring for a suite of any kind, you'll really feel royal.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted you discovered the Alvear Palace Hotel. We are also very lucky to enjoy such a prime location in the Recoleta neighborhood.

We have shared your positive comments with our team. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed at the Alvear Palace only once and I can tell you, that's not enough. The Alvear defines old world charm with modern conveniences and finely honed service. Rooms are spacious, the bath is a delight for women (no amenity forgotten, a vanity that accommodates every "paint pot"), 2 doz. roses on arrival and unique specimens at that, valet beautifully trained to provide unobtrusive attentiveness. Location is superb in the best part of the city. Their restaurant is more than a restaurant with all parts of their service offering at their peak. Well worth the price; it will make your stay in South America all you hoped. And more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiscerningWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this website.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works very hard to ensure that we do not only meet but exceed guests expectations, and I am delighted that they were able to do just that for you on this occasion. It will be my pleasure to share your positive remarks.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Alvear Palace Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is wonderful by world standards !

I simply love it , it has old world charm good taste but in every way retains the perfect balance between old and new .

The rooms service and management are up to modern day quality but have an aura of a bygone age .

simply perfect and the best five star hotel in BA .

The breakfast is the best I have had anywhere in the world .

Room Tip: All rooms are good with floor butler service , wherever you are located you will enjoy
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on this website.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. The exceptionally Buffet Breakfast as well as the service we offer are aspects we are indeed very proud of.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#7 of 443 in Buenos Aires
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,660 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#16 of 443 in Buenos Aires
747 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#17 of 443 in Buenos Aires
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £272 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing