We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, great location”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Alvear Palace met all our expectations of a hotel in this class. To top it off, the beautiful old building is in a very central location, walking distance to main attractions, good restaurants in a safe neighborhood.

Our room was large and luxurious. Turn down service was a nice touch every evening.

Service was impeccable throughout our stay. It was our honeymoon and they surprised us with a bottle of sparkling and chocolates on arrival.

The only thing I would fault would be perhaps the breakfast buffet as I am not a fan of sweets and pastries for breakfast. The breakfast did have scrambled eggs, however poached or fried eggs were extra charge.

Overall highly recommend this hotel, but perhaps consider having breakfast in one of the many nearby cafés instead.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tez0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience at the Alvear Palace Hotel, and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We would like to inform you that we have a Egg´s menu and you can order it.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.


Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    223
    40
    18
    10
See reviews for
298
797
87
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Please put this all into perspective. I have a love of all things 5 star. I LOVE staying at Four Seasons Hotels, for instance. I hesitated before booking here, as the Four Seasons in Buenos Aires also has received excellent reviews.

Our group of sex decided that we wanted to stay in a classic Buenos Aires hotel, if only to enjoy the experience, and knowing that the Alvear has somewhat recently gone through an extensive update, we decided to go there, instead.

The Alvear is located in the Recoleta region of the city, which is among the priciest places to live in the city (if not THE priciest). Recoleta is also the home of BA's famous cemetery, which is always among the must see areas of the city. It is where Eva Peron is buried, among many of the cities luminaries. In fact, it's just a couple of blocks away, so the Alvear is convenient.

It IS a classic hotel, with all the accoutrements one would expect of such a place, including the marble, high ceilings, and classic details.

Our rooms (all suites) were over-the-top. We each had two bathrooms, outrageous storage, extremely high ceilings, chandeliers (in each room), and beautiful furniture.

They also had poor drainage in the bathrooms, bad water pressure in the showers, dated gold fixtures, poor use of space, and areas of bad lighting.

The hotel lobby had a small check in area which would have seemed luxurious many decades ago, a concierge desk staffed by a collection of disinterested professionals, despite the fact that we were staying in three of their suites.

There were times where we stood patiently awaiting assistance from the concierge on staff, only to be ignored while he or she was on the phone.

Perhaps if I tipped them they might offer more courteous service, one might ask? Alas, I did, and received no more attention than before.

Their lobby restaurant served breakfast each morning with classic white glove treatment, and I did appreciate several of the servers.

But the breakfasts, in this internationally recognized foodie city was at best eh...nothing special.

None of us appreciated the sign that suggested that we be dressed formally in lobby. It struck us as snobbish, and this coming from someone that stays at five star resorts.

Bottom line:

Is the hotel beautiful in a classic sense? Absolutely
Are their suites spacious and beautiful? Definitely
Is the location great? Yes, of course

Would you stay there again instead of the nearby Park Hyatt or the ever glamorous Four Seasons? Sorry, I wouldn't.

And so, I give them an excellent rating, which they certainly deserve, as it truly is a unique property. Doing anything less would be a travesty.

But...I would suggest staying elsewhere. Sorry, but I would.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered on your stay with us. Please know that this is not the 5 star standards that we value and I will look into the issues you have mentioned.

I would like to discuss these issues with you further, please contact me nsalvagno@avear.com.ar

I look forward to talking with you soon.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This is your fantastic, classic, five star, old world, top of the line hotel. Probably one of the best I've stayed in, in this category. From the beds, to the towels, to the bathroom sundries, room service, to the staff, to the breakfast buffet, to the bar, nothing missed. La Bourgogne Restaurant was one of my top five restaurant experiences ever! If you've read my other reviews, I'm picky. We stayed here on the way to and from Antarctica, which I might add was amazing.
Hotel was in great location for walking around. Local craft market two blocks away. A must, the Opera House.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank croakies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guet,

Thank you kindly for your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Everything you mentioned, from the great service provided by our staff to the comfort and of our beds is exactly the experience we wish to create for you.

I am so glad you had a great experience with us and I look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a beautiful, "old world" type hotel with an outstanding staff who will take care of all your needs. The location is excellent, walking distance to most major sites and museums. The buffet breakfast is top notch. My only gripes were our junior suite view [on the even-numbered side of the hotel] was of the inner courtyard [really the interior of an entire city block so not claustrophobic] and thus faced the rather dull apartment buildings around the courtyard. I suspect the street side rooms might have had to contend with street noise and traffic [it's on a major intersection] so we did not request a room change. Also, the bathroom configuration [the result of a renovation of the entire hotel, I think] was not very practical for us. The commode and bidet shared a room with a tub and wall-mounted tv while the shower and sink area was cramped and movement impeded by dueling doors. Seemed like the tub could have been eliminated in favor of a double vanity but we managed. Otherwise, the hotel offered a very pleasant stay, comfortable bed and soft linens, windows that opened, fruit and water in the room each day. There is a spa, work out room and pool. The hotel has a map of jogging trails and will provide car service anywhere you want upon request.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed two nights before our cruise and had a wonderful experience. The staff was excellent and very helpful. One time I had to check email and the business center was closed. A staff member took me up and let me in. The concierges were very helpful in recommending a nearby restaurant for dinner and telling us how to get there on foot. The breakfasts and lunch were outstanding and delicious. The variety of the offerings was incredible. In my opinion, the Alvear Palace Hotel was better than the Grand Hotel in Stockholm.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRogerTill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to hear you had such a great experience here at the Alvear Palace Hotel! I am glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities in the hotel. It is nice to hear that you had such positive interactions with our hotel staff.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment about your most recent stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to me should your travels bring you back to Buenos Aires!

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have stayed in some great hotels over the years. The Goring, the Milestone and 41 in London, the Ritz-Carlton in Montreal, the Hazelton in Toronto. All of them were exceptional.

The Alvear Palace is in the same league, with remarkable old-world charm that's fresh and unfaded and utterly attentive service. I worked with several concierges over the two night I stay there and all made me feel like my petty concerns were the center of the universe. They gave great advice on places to go and things to do.

Where the Alvear, to my mind, exceeds some of these other hotels is that not only their staff but their policies are remarkably hospitable. I was delayed for a day due to bad weather in Atlanta. No problem, I wasn't charged for my room. I wanted a late check out -- this was not a given but once they figured out that they could do it, there was no charge. A free shoe shine comes with the room. I also got other courtesies that usually, even at the best hotels, cost extra. I never once felt like I was being nickel and dimed. I loved the Goring -- and will go back -- but had to pay for internet access. Seriously? Never once at the Alvear did I have that unsettling feeling of: damn I paying a million dollars for this room and you want to charge me for (fill in the blank.)

The room itself was perfect, the bath room large and accomodating with Hermes toiletries. Gym and spa are very up to date (and when I was there empty...)

Perhaps the only slightly off note was that I from time to time found the bar staff not as on the ball as they might be. And this when bar wasn't crowded. But the bar is so amazingly beautiful (and the people-watching so first rate) I was easily able to occupy myself while I waited perhaps a bit too long to be served.

I don't know, something about the place made me feel lost in time, like a Borges story. You do feel like you've crossed some meridian when you walk through the door. But you come to this new place -- through the looking glass if you will -- and you don't want to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaraselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Alvear had an old world charm in a magnificent setting The staff was exceptionally helpful and courteous especially the concierge. The rooms and bathrooms were very comfortable and well appointed. When I return to Buenos Aires I will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the five-star review! It is so good to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities of the hotel and guest room. Thank you for choosing the Alvear Palace Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 445 in Buenos Aires
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,637 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,845 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#18 of 445 in Buenos Aires
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Property: Alvear Palace Hotel
Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing