We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Buenos Aires!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Buenos Aires!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The Alvear Palace is the best hotel in Buenos Aires. It has a Great location and the staff is bi-lingual and very helpful and pleasant. Try the brunch if your there on the weekend, it is spectacular or if you might just want to enjoy a cocktail and people watch in the lobby bar, also spectacular. It is my first choice when in town.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank55065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate your kind words about our team members.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Best Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,508
    223
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
293
790
87
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Alvear with my husband for a weekend in BA prior to a business meeting. The accomodations and hotel in general live up to expectations, very confortable and beautiful. The breakfast is outstanding and the restaurant is just beautiful. My husband and I enjoyed a glass of wine at the lobby bar and the smoking room. I would definetely recommend it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Regina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to have an opportunity to host you again soon!

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Let's begin with location. It couldn't be better. You are near great boutiques, five star restaurants, delicious ice cream parlors dispensing dulce de leche ice cream with added chocolate and the great cemetery where the Perron family is buried in an understated tomb compared to the other gothic style tombs that are owned by other great BA families, and now the hotel itself. Breakfast is a joy in the conservatory, a high domed glass ceiling hovering over the opulent buffet offerings,.
The suites are done in brocades and silks. Be sure to book a suite or a junior suite and you'll feel like royalty. The service is delightful from unpacking your bags and putting your clothing in the proper drawers and hanging suits and dresses just as you would. The marble baths with designer amenities are a perfect addition. The concierge can get you tickets to a concert, the best restaurants, a tango show but not for dinner. - not worth it - good dancing / bad food. Have him get you a guide. You'll see more in one day than you could in three days on your own. All in all it has everything an upscale traveler could or would want.

Room Tip: Go for broke. Take a jr suite or a suite. They're the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. I am thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us - this is just what we love to hear! Our team of service professionals work very hard to ensure that each and every guest has a most memorable and enjoyable stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Alvear Palace is a fantastic hotel to stay in BA if you like traditional and classic luxuary hotel and services. The hotel interiors are decor in European classic luxuary style that is highlighted in enormous main dinning room. Rooms and large and weel equiped. The concierge is fantastic and suggested lots of activities in BA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay.

It looks like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us - especially our decoration, spacious and well equiped rooms and our helpful staff.

I look forward to hearing from you and speaking with you very soon.

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Alvear Palace Hotel in Buenos Aires is one of those hotels which makes one feel truly privileged to stay in. It is a Grand Hotel in the truest sense of the word. Every aspect of the hotel is as near as faultless as can possibly be! To my mind there is only ONE single shortcoming in this hotel. Unbelievable but very true! Just ONE! And that is the disappointingly small indoor swimming pool and the lack of an outdoor one. Other than this minor gripe there is absolutely nothing else that can be faulted. It delivers comfort, luxury, service and opulence in heaps and bounds. Don't believe me. Read for yourselves all the other reviews and see for yourselves. Or, better still, go there and experience the outstanding luxury that this hotel offers. This is one hotel (admittedly one of very very few ) where one dreams of returning to at the very first opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issibni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely review!

I cannot wait to share your kind comments with our team, they’ll be thrilled to hear back from you.

regarding your comment about our swimming pool we are glad to inform you that we started a project which involves building a new swimming pool with an outdoor area.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is my second time in Buenos Aires. A friend recommended to stay here, claiming that this is the best hotel in Buenos Aires. Boy she was right. Excellent service from everyone, Great spa service. Definitively a must......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review of your recent stay. It looks like you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed at the Alvear Palace for 3 nights in March. Were upgraded to a junior suite. Beautiful room and gorgeous bathroom. Very good breakfast buffet, but wish they had more egg choices included in the complimentary breakfast. Afternoon tea was very nice too. All the staff very courteous and helpful.
Very safe neighborhood. Walked in the area around the hotel during the day and night with no problems.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review. We enjoyed hosting you for your three days stay.

Look forward to your next stay.

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 446 in Buenos Aires
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,615 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,294 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Property: Alvear Palace Hotel
Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing