We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good from far, FAR FROM GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unique Luxury Park Plaza
Ranked #362 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good from far, FAR FROM GOOD”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Horrible service, rude staff, dirty sheets, disgusting breakfast, non-functional elevators, etc. etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope2Help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    179
    178
    88
    98
See reviews for
143
239
38
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The hotel is very well located - close to Alvear ave., few blocks to Recoleta main area, with everything near. I needed to have some cash in a Saturday afternoon, for example, and I found a bank with ATM half a block away. The area has a lot of shops.
The hotel is old, very old. It is a early 20th century building, very nice. If you do not like the idea, do not go there. But if you think it could be fun, it is a good oportunity. The hotel lobby is very beautiful, with a lot of old fashioned furniture. The elevators are also very old - only 3 people can use them and the doors close manually. For some (and me) it is always fun, but I'm sure some people will not like it.
The rooms are refurbished and the one we stayed needed some small maintenance, specially in the bathroom. But it was clean and with a good air conditioning system. Our room had also a king size bed, very nice - we found that other rooms do not have the same bed.
The breakfast area is really small, but it was not a great problem. The breakfast itself is a typical breakfast of a argentinian hotel. We had stayed in other hotels in Argentina, and the standard is the same. If you are a brazilian, for example, even used to budget hotels in Brazil, you will think it is weak. But after you know breakfasts of budget hotels in Europe or the States, you will realize it could be worst !
Staff nice and friendly, but nobody takes your luggage to your room.
In overall it was a good stay, specially if we consider the bargain price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinicius_Morais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is a charming, quaint hotel that is in a great area! The hotel staff is very welcoming and helpful. They recommended tours and tango shows for us and arranged everything. The hotel breakfast was very good. We especially loved the coffee and medalunas. The hotel lobby was comfortable with many seating areas and a computer for public use. The lift was extremely small, it was hard to fit one person and their luggage. The room was spacious and clean. The windows were large and opened with a nice view of the courtyard. The hotel location is close to the cemetery and in a cute, safe neighborhood. La Cabrera is an excellent restaurant with the most amazing meat selection. Any steak you order comes with a ton of small side dishes and dipping sauces. I would highly recommend this restaurant, champagne is also complimentary while you wait for your table. Casa Cruz and Cabana Las Lilas are also great restaurants. Dinners are much later, as many people don't eat until after 9:30pm. The wines are great in BA and very affordable. Many places offer "snacks" if you just order drinks. This is quite nice in the late afternoon after sightseeing all day. Plaza Dorrego for the Sunday market is a must see. Many tango shows and street performers. Many bars/restaurants off of the Plaza are very good, and offer their own entertainment inside while you drink/eat....we were pulled up on stage to dance at one of them! La Boca is another neighborhood worth visiting with bright colors and culture. The malls are very upscale and the decor is impressive. We ventured in one day and were pleasantly surprised, worth a visit. Will definitely stay at this hotel the next time I am in BA!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCGirl130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I chose this hotel based on the location as I wanted to be close to my friend's place in Recoleta. The area is very nice and high end and within walking distance to numerous eateries and shopping.

The reception staff were courteous and spoke excellent English. The rooms were nicely decorated and bathroom amenities were good. The wifi is not free but it's sold in 12 hr, increments so I only needed to make one purchase during my four night stay. There is a free PC to use in the lobby.

The hotel uses a renovated old building. So while the elevators can be slow and manual, there are two of them to use. There were some unexplained blackouts but I would put that down to being in Argentina. Breakfast was average. The cold cuts and juices were good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is a small hotel, in a great location, for a low price (we paid US$ 62/night). For the price and the size, you can´t ask for such things as a great variety in breakfast or a fully equiped business center. We had a nice, quiet and clean room, very good bed and shower and helpful staff. The only problem was the wi-fi, it costed US$14 for 12 hours, but didn´t work properly, after a few hours of frustration, we were given another code and everything went ok.
What seems wrong is that, while there, in the little time we spent in the lobby, we saw at least three groups on the same day whose reservations had been cancelled by the web or by expedia, and they were redirected to other hotels of the chain. It seems to be a hotel policy to overbook.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariMichelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Excellent location and nice room for a very fair price. Local area is an upscale residential neighborhood with great restaurants a 10 minute walk away. Room was recently renovated with a nice televison and comfy bed. Bathroom was a bit dated but clean. Would definately stay again and the hotel staff was excellent in answering any questions about the area and securing a remise to EZE upon departure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEMONPEEL1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

As seems to be a common thread here I also booked this hotel as it was offering 50% discount and a great location in BA (Recoleta) .

I also booked as the deal offered free Wifi as well as a tango show - neither of which i received. When i asked about it the concierge was exceptionally supercilious and said that the free wifi must've referred to the 1 free computer in the lobby - which was constantly occupied.

It was $14 extra for 12 hours for a wifi code. He argued with me as if i was being cheap - of course i could pay for the wifi but that wasn't the point...every other hotel i had stayed in offered free wifi. If it was such a minor thing why did he not just give me a code, and then i would not have felt such distate for the hotel as he would have honoured the contract as well as dealt respectfully with the client especially as the rate wasn't cheap.

The shower in the room as dreadful too, a little drip.

And, it's not for the claustrophic type as the lift is tiny, old-school and broke down during the one day we were there or else you had to wait 20 minutes to reach you (we were on the 8th floor).

to be fair, on first glimpse the hotel was "boutique" and stylishly decorated, but for the price, as well as what else was on offer in the city (stayed at a great place in Palermo that didn't fuss over wifi) i wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjuli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Unique Executive Chateau
Unique Executive Chateau
#405 of 446 in Buenos Aires
606 reviews
San Nicolas
Unique Executive Central
Unique Executive Central
#177 of 446 in Buenos Aires
739 reviews
San Telmo
Unique Art Madero
Unique Art Madero
#264 of 446 in Buenos Aires
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Unique Palacio San Telmo
Unique Palacio San Telmo
#186 of 446 in Buenos Aires
455 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Impala
Hotel Impala
#210 of 446 in Buenos Aires
383 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#125 of 446 in Buenos Aires
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Luxury Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Luxury Park Plaza

Property: Unique Luxury Park Plaza
Address: Parera 183, Buenos Aires 1014ABC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Unique Luxury Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Luxury Park Plaza invites guests to relax in an intimate and charming setting in the most exclusive area of Buenos Aires; immerse yourself in the exclusive neighborhood of Recoleta, and integrate with the art of this majestic city. Enjoy its privileged location, just a few steps from the most elegant shops, many tourist circuits and the most distinguished restaurants in the city; with good access to the domestic and international airports. The hotel offers buffet breakfast and bright and spacious rooms. Rooms are equipped with LCD TV, telephone, individual air conditioning/heating, bathroom with bathtub, bidet, hairdryer and amenities, digital safety box, minibar and access to high speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Unique Luxury Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Buenos Aires
Kempinski Hotel Park Plaza Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing