We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a Kempinski, but at best a 2 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Unique Executive Central
Ranked #174 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
American
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is not a Kempinski, but at best a 2 star hotel”
Reviewed 8 December 2006

I booked this hotel via Hotels. I have stayed at other Kempinski hotels in Europe and have found them to be luxury hotels. This hotel HARDLY qualifies in this category. The furnishings are old and look put together, the rooms need repair, beds are like sleeping on a box spring. Their bathroom look pieced together. The breakfast is a joke compared to other hotels in Buenos Aires. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is the staff tries to make your stay enjoyable, but it is difficult with what they have to work with.
Do yourself a favor and book one of the other fine hotels in Buenos Aires, but dont expect to get a Kempinski while there. I walked into another of the Kempinski Hotels while in Buenos Aires and it was worse, the Kempinski Elegence. I do not know how the Kempinski name is on these hotels, but I will never stay at one of these hotels again.

  • Liked — Nothing to be honest
  • Disliked — The entire experience
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not book the Kempinski Hotels in Buenos Aires, try something else
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank wrldtravlr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    281
    170
    56
    67
See reviews for
204
274
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2006

Hotel is located right in the centre of Buenos Aires near the Obelisk. I found staff to te be freindly and helpful - rooms are adequate - dont expect any great views.- they offer a good breakfast buffet in the morning - can recommend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No view from rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 747/400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA, USA
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2006

This was my first trip to Argentina and this little hotel beat all my expectations. It was very clean, the staff very friendly, and its location was perfect. It fronts onto a pedestrian-only street and it steps away from the Obelisk, the subway (Lines A, B and C) and the shopping streets of Avenida Florida and Avenida Lavalle. At night it is quiet, there is 24-hour front desk service and the restaurant served a great breakfast. I would stay here again without question.

The drawback is that is it a small hotel and doesn't have all the amenities and features that large hotels possess. If you want multiple restaurants, room service, spa treatments, etc. then this is not the place to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — The doors are locked after midnight, so when you come back afterhours, you have to get your ID checked and your room verified.
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkorpioGregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

Right from the word go we liked this hotel. The Kempinski has character: the decor's a bit over the top in the foyer and the staff have great personalities as well as great English. Our room wasn't one of the best they have to offer I gather, but it was clean and elegant, with aircon, lovely sheets / towels and, in the bath/shower, excellent water pressure (ok the bathroom wasn't modern but it was well-equipped). If we could have got up earlier we might well have lingered the full 3 hours over the hot and cold buffet breakfast & great coffee. And if you are one of those people who must have air in your coffee, they will make you a capuccino specially. Our only caveat is: take some earplugs in case you want to nap during the day and your room is at the front. (Suggestion: when booking, ask for a room that isn't at the front?) Again, the mini-bar is well-stocked but this is one of those rare occasions when you will need your travel kettle with you, if you like to make hot drinks in your room. In fact we didn't miss this - it's so easy (and more fun) to pop round the corner for a late night tea / coffee (and cake) or just order room service. Eating out is cheap compared with Europe and even compared with NZ & Australia and the USA. We spent a happy, comfortable week in this hotel which made the whole experience in Argentina memorable for the right reasons.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Asarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

If your looking for a place that is centrally located and comfortable, this is a good choice. I spend a week in Buenos Aires with my husband and kids. We had two connecting rooms, decent and clean. The staff was very helpful in complying with our needs. Breakfast was good. Really enjoyed stepping outdoors and not having the busy street traffic. Part of the street is closed off. Three cafes across from hotel, one with nightly music. Enjoyable after a long day of sight seeing. Saw a concert at Teatro Colon, a block away. Beautiful theatre, must see. The alley, a miniature city walk, is a couple of blocks away. There you'll find stores(good shopping), restaurants, cafes. Government buildings around the corner. Plenty of local attorneys walking the streets. This hotel served its purpose, safe,clean, and centrally located. Not a Four Seasons. But In a city as big as Buenos Aires, staying at a hotel close to some of the cities highlights was a plus.

A happy traveler from Southern California

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no internet service
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a remodeled room. Not all rooms are remodeled and some look very dated.
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hur3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2006

Despite an excellent central location, just a few metres from Buenos Aries' famous obelisk, some aspects of this hotel would make Fawlty Towers look like the Ritz!! And by the way, don't expect to see a Park - there isn't one !!
They didn't get much right on our visit last October. Staff who at first impression seemed efficient soon became disinterested and paid little attention to guests' needs. For example we were made to wait five hours after arrival from Honolulu via Dallas (some 30 hours without sleep) to be grudgingly given a room after the extreme wait.
A non-functioning bar fridge took three days to fix; staff refused to change even small denominations of $USD into local currency; waiting staff in the quite pleasant dining room had almost to be tripped up before paying any attention to guests, and the street noise permeating into rooms was significant.
On the brighter side breakfasts were good, the hotel's lobby and facade quite smart, the laundry servive inexpensive.
Stupidly we had paid for a three day voucher for this hotel before reading the reviews at this site. They were pretty well spot on.
Unless you get a super deal at this hotel try some alternatives.

Helpful?
6 Thank bfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Spent the last week of February in Buenos Aires and Bariloche. The Park Central Hotel was great. The rooms were very clean , the staff was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. It has a good central location & we were able to walk almost everywhere. Three subway lines were close to the hotel if you wanted to be like the locals & give your feet a break ( at .40 pesos it's a great bargain) If your feet and mass transit aren't for you the taxi's were very inexpensive too. A ten minute ride cost us $3!!
They were having a heatwave when we were there but the air conditioning in the hotel room was great and it was pleasant to come to back to the cool room after a day of sightseeing in the heat.
The breakfast was very good with plenty of fresh fruit.
The rooms were a little noisy but coming from New York City it wasn't that bad.
I am concerned when I travel that my room won't be clean and there won't be decent air conditioning. The Park Central met this criteria & more. I would definately recommend this hotel.

FYI -- once you see all the major sites, I would recommend you take the D train to Plaza Italia and take a walk through the SOHO area. It has lots of boutique shops, restaurants & cafe's on tree lined streets. There were more locals there than tourists & it was a nice calm day to end our vacation.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gypsy526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Unique Executive Chateau
Unique Executive Chateau
#405 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Retiro
Unique Luxury Park Plaza
Unique Luxury Park Plaza
#352 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
San Nicolas
Broadway Hotel & Suites
Broadway Hotel & Suites
#85 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Unique Art Madero
Unique Art Madero
#264 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Montserrat
Unique Palacio San Telmo
Unique Palacio San Telmo
#177 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Recoleta
Unique Art Elegance
Unique Art Elegance
#254 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Executive Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Executive Central

Property: Unique Executive Central
Address: Diagonal Roque Saenz Pena 1178, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Unique Executive Central 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan and multifaceted, Unique Executive Central condenses the essence of the exciting city of Buenos Aires, in an elegant, modern and comfortable setting. Enjoy its privileged location in downtown Buenos Aires, a few meters from the Obelisco and Av. Corrientes and live in the front row a stay at the pace of the shows, theater, and nightlife of the vibrant Buenos Aires. Located just a few meters from the prestigious Teatro Colon and close to Florida Street, the most important tourist pedestrian street in Bs. As. The hotel has good access to the domestic and international airports, as well as subway lines in the city. The hotel offers buffet breakfast and bright and spacious rooms. Its decoration combines design, art and modernity in all its facilities, providing a unique experience for their guests. Rooms are equipped with LCD TV, telephone, individual air conditioning/heating, bathroom with bathtub, bidet, hairdryer and amenities, digital safety box, minibar and access to high speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unique Executive Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Central Unique
Park Central Unique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing