We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November 2012 trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Unique Art Elegance
Ranked #252 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
north carolina
1 review
“November 2012 trip”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Hotel front desk staff speak excellent spanish and are very helpful/polite. 15 min walk from nearest train station...bus station directly outside the hotel door...plenty of inexpensive taxis in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    164
    141
    57
    54
See reviews for
113
185
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great location, near Ricoleta Cemetary and lots of bars / restaurants. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in a great neighbourhood, this one is a decent option.

With that said, the rooms themselves smell smoky (not possible to get smoke-free) and had another funky smell, sort of like an old folks home. I didn´t find the rooms particularly clean - the sheets were thin and stained. Our window didn´t close properly and the heating system wasn´t working - but the reception refused to admit there was an issue. Also, our lamp didn´t work and the hotel staff could not devise any solution because it was 10 PM and no maintenance staff was available - apparently they couldn´t find us another lamp or try changing the light bulb!

The internet is very expensive - $14 USD for a limited use over 12 hours. I felt like I was in a third world country! What hotel doesn´t have free internet (or at least cheap unlimited internet)!

The breakfast buffet was reasonable - pretty typical for South America. It ends early though, at 10 AM.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeylandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Costa Mesa, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

i'm going back to buenos aires and just saw this hotel-- remembering my stay in 2010. they did move me from my preferred location and exhausted, I just went. the first place was much better in eivery way. the hotel should comp visitors a night or something. i was by myself and ended up staying for 3 days though, so it wasnt that bad!

Room Tip: the back away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debmarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Good location but old fashioned and dirty. A cockroach in the room was my first experience after being in trips all over for the past twenty years. Just three with no luggage fit in the elevator. Breakfast was average, with little variety. No yogurt or dulce de leche (obvious things in Argentinian hotels). Towels on the first day were nice and fluffy. For the next 4 days they were stained and thin. I couldn’t use them to dry my two-year-old son. The beds were OK and there was a crib for my baby which was what I asked for. I've been to Buenos Aires for 6 times and I won't stay there in any of my next trips.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

On the good side : if you are a fan of design , and love the combination between old/modern/bit of fashion vibe and a feeling of luxury , you will find this hotel very nice. As i did and it was a reason to choose it. Although it looks way better in the website , i have to say.
The rooms are spacious and the beds are super comfortable , has a minibar in every room , flat screen tv with cable. The breakfast it´s standart buffet as in most hotels.
If you are looking for a hotel that is so quite that you feel like whispering when in it , this is your hotel , its very quite inside ...extremely.
Great Location in the heart of Recoleta , near banks , supermarkets , taxi , drugstores , restaurants and bars , everything!.

On the down side : it´s a very very small hotel (or at least feels like one) , they don´t even have a bar , in fact they don´t even have ICE , we request for it one night to the reception and we didn´t even get an answer back.
The eating areas are tight too , two people barely fit in one table.
The breakfast starts super early and only till 9 or 10 am. So you better be a morning person if you like having breakfast. by 9.30 there is nothing left in the buffet , thanks to our brazilian friends who reach up to the 90% of the hotel booking.
As i said before the hotel is very quite , incredibly boring. If you are young and expect a place where you can maybe meet people , or hang out in the luxurious facilities , don´t go there. Its so boring , i would count the minutes to go out to the street everyday. Talking about the street and the location , i mean is right there in puyrredon , wich is a large noisy street. For me is no problem , but maybe some like staying in more laid back neighborhoods , if that so , maybe Palermo is more your style.

The staff although helpfull (when it comes to restaurant reservations and that kind of thing) , are really uptight , so the service is really cold and impersonal. Not recommended for sensitive people since just by looking at them it makes you feel bad and unwelcomed.

The wi-fi isn´t for free , so you have to buy a code written in a piece of paper for the amount of hours you want to use it , very inconvenient and it´s not cheap. They do have ONE old computer by the reception , its kinda sad.

Anyways , it is ok for the price , and there are some other technical details i didn´t like , but i think i´ve made my point already , so no need to go further.

but am sure there are better places.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The hotel is a good value proposition. Quite well situated in Recoleta and if booked by booking.com or similar you can get a room at lower than US$100, which is great for a 4* hotel in a big city.
The toilets are not great, they need a serious update, as well as the elevators and some doors in the hallway, which make a terrible noise. But apart of that it's a very good hotel which is worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the unique elegance in Recoleta. We stayed here because the location was ideal for the price. We found the staff to be very courteous and helpful.
The rooms were just okay... Like others mentioned there were some problems with things like old towels and a moldy shower curtain. But our main concern was noise. Our room faced the street and it was unbearably loud... The single pane windows do not keep out traffic noise or even the noise of simple conversations on the street below. We would have asked for a room change but since they had a sign at the desk saying room upgrades would cost we just decided to put up with noise. So if you decide to stay here I suggest you ask for a room away from the street

Room Tip: Not a room facing the street!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Unique Luxury Park Plaza
Unique Luxury Park Plaza
#362 of 446 in Buenos Aires
596 reviews
San Telmo
Unique Art Madero
Unique Art Madero
#264 of 446 in Buenos Aires
953 reviews
Retiro
Unique Executive Chateau
Unique Executive Chateau
#405 of 446 in Buenos Aires
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Epico Recoleta Hotel
Epico Recoleta Hotel
#244 of 446 in Buenos Aires
245 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#122 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,228 reviews
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#133 of 446 in Buenos Aires
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Art Elegance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Art Elegance

Property: Unique Art Elegance
Address: Avenida Pueyrredon 1940, Buenos Aires C1119ACP, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Unique Art Elegance 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant and modern, Unique Art Elegance is located in the exclusive neighborhood of Recoleta, strategically close to shoppings centers and most popular tourist circuits of the city of Buenos Aires. Feel the refreshing pulse of this amazing city, and free your spirit in the Buenos Aires urban circuit of fashion, design and art. The hotel combines design and modernity with elegance and comfort. It offers Buffet Breakfast and bright and spacious rooms. Rooms are equipped with LCD TV, telephone, individual air conditioning/heating, hairdryer and amenities , digital safety box, minibar and access to high speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Unique Art Elegance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing