We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #7 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Its October 19th, 2013 -- My wife and I are staying at this hotel right now, two-thirds into a 5-day stay and we are disappointed.

Our room, a "Mansion-View Room", is well laid out, but with some puzzling aspects (like a single sink in the bathroom). Most annoying are the two flat screen TV's situated back-to-back on coffee tables that separate the living room and bedroom space. These TV's are controlled by two remotes that do not know which TV they are supposed to control, so changing channels sends the room into TV chaos if both TV's are on. In addition, these TV's have some kind of motion activated on/off sensor, so they turn on in the middle of the night when you move around in the room. We asked the hotel staff to address this issue and they ended up giving us another remote that is supposed to control the TV's on/off -- which didn't seem to work, so we just unplugged the TV's.

So far, no big deal but there are other issues. Our room is on the third floor and it was recently remodeled. The new carpet looks great, but it is off-gassing like you wouldn't believe. The toxic smell is very noticeable and the hotel (after we mentioned it to them) sent up an air cleaning detail while we were out, with some kind of ion cleaner. This helped a bit, but not enough to make the fumes disappear. If we hadn't unpacked and settled in, we would have moved to a room on a higher floor (which were remodeled earlier). The hotel did offer to move us, to their credit.

We came to regret the decision not to move tonight, because there is a wedding going on right now (Saturday night) and our room is overlooking the pool area and Mansion where the wedding is being held. It is now 1:00 AM and the disco is in full swing, the pulsating music is clearly audible in our room even with all windows shut tight. Not something we expected to run into at a Four Seasons, paying full rate. Not acceptable.

Thus far, we have enjoyed the hotel's gym (above average), their decent (i.e., not spectacular) spa, their enjoyable bar (but too loud for our taste until the third night when it was calmer), and their helpful concierges (except that they didn't seem to know some important details, like how far the polo fields are from the hotel -- they said "a 15 minute ride" -- when it turned out to be an hour and 15 minutes).

So, you add this all up and this is just not a great experience given what they charge. We will take this up with management and let you know what happens.

Room Tip: don't chose a room overlooking the pool/mansion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    172
    49
    15
    9
See reviews for
203
475
54
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a 3 night stay in Buenos Aires at this hotel. It was extremely comfortable and we felt very pampered. The staff was very friendly and attentive and our room was tastefully maintained. This hotel is located in a wonderful neighborhood with lots of shopping and within walking distance of the cemetery, so the location is ideal. Our room was on an upper floor and overlooked the adjacent mansion, which we learned was where Madonna stayed during the filming of Evita in the 90's, so that was a unique story to share when we returned home. Visiting Buenos Aires was a privilege, as this city is rich with heritage and culture. We had the chance to visit a tango club and see a show. We had a wonderfully vibrant experience, although the weather was cool and rainy in April. We highly recommend this hotel and would love to have the same experience in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agentdeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

You don't need to like the Lobby recently renovated with a poor taste. Maybe you would like the bar, renovated as well with mix feelings, but for sure you will love the restaurant, a five stars restaurant, renovated with elegance, and with a lot of Buenos Aires soul, you will enjoy the excellent food, the wonderful wine, and the incredible attention. In the moment of the check, you will think that that was really cheap for the quality you are paying, an after your dinner, I'm sure you will find in many details, the Four Seasons standards of high quality: clean rooms, good views, excellent beds, a plate of fruit welcoming you, and always someone knowing who are you are, and asking about what they can do for you. In Buenos Aires, maybe with the exception of the Hyatt, the Four Seasons is by far, the best hotel to go. Go before is late. Hope massive tours are not going to arrive permanently to deteriorate this intimate, and close environment created for enjoying one of the best cities of Latin America

Room Tip: Mention always that you want to be with the view to Buenos Aires, and in elevated floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Four Seasons in Buenos Aires is an extremely classy hotel where staff have been exceptionally well-trained, although one gets an impression that their attitude comes entirely naturally. Smiling staff at reception made us feel as though we were coming home (after a14 hour schlep from London). The extremely comfortable bed managed to enfold us in supreme luxury and the view over to the mansion behind the hotel. The low-key lit bathroom - with bath and separate shower had all the usual little bottles and more towels than you could ever use! 24 hour room service and huge tv of course with 100s of channels (if that's what you want!).
The Pony Line bar seems to be agreat meeting place for the Portenos. The hotel's restauarnt Elena is a must-visit destination. Not only for the sumptuous breakfasts, but for lunch and dinner too. Understated and extremely courteous staff. The hotel is situated in Recoleta at Posadas 1086/88 near the French Embassy and the Bullrich shopping mall. The latter is well worth a visit for all the local (and international) luxury brands and assorted coffee shops and fast food places. Cinemas there too. Close by the hotel, and within easy walking distance is a cluster of Italian restaurants under the overpass. The Mansion - featured in most people's reviews of this hotel was originally a gift to the owner's wife..Elena. It is available for private events. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mansion seem to have a nicer view. Effective double glazing blocks out most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Loved the location of the hotel; we could walk to local restaurants and to the Recoleta area. Rooms were large and well-appointed and the concierge was helpful with suggestions and directions. The tango show in the bar was fun! We really enjoyed our trip to the area; look forward to returning!

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank koko214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Excellent, in keeping with Four Seasons' consistently high quality. Good location, great service, beautiful aesthetics. Went all over the city using this as a base. Good restaurants nearby. Very helpful in getting organized for a trip to Iguacu.

Would revisit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I come to Buenos Aires on business a few times a year and have stayed at all the 5 stars. After the recent renovation the Four Seasons is my prefered hotel in the city. Great rooms, service as well as a nice restaurant and bar downstairs. This hotel lives up to the Four Seasons reputation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,786 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 447 in Buenos Aires
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,593 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,288 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#22 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Posadas 1086/88, Buenos Aires 1011ABB, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#5 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#6 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated High-rise Hotel incorporating an elegant turn-of-the-century French Mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing