We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplendor Plaza Francia
Ranked #89 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good location, bad hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

This hotel has a great location in Recoleta right near the cemetery and some great restaurants/shopping. The staff was pleasant and friendly. However, the rooms are rather run down. The carpet was filthy in our room and one of my travelmates would only shower in flip flops because the shower was so dirty.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandito912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    180
    38
    4
    11
See reviews for
63
149
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2007

We loved staying at the Plaza Francia so much we came back twice. Both times we had a room facing the park. Loved the location with easy cab access to other parts of the city. There is some car noise but it is not bad. The staff were always extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. This is a great alternative to the larger and more lavish hotels in the area. Breakfast was better than average Argentine fare.

  • Liked — Service, location
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

My partner and I stayed here in Jun, 2006 for our last 2 nights in Bs.As. before heading out to Salta.

We decided to stay here mainly due to the close location to the cementary and not too far from the local airport.

Prior to that we stayed 4 nights in Centro, then 3 nights in San Telmo. We did so much walking and our legs were starting to get sore. It was a blessing that the cementary was almost across the street from the hotel.

This is a very average hotel. We had the standard room. The room was fine but only had a view to the back of the other buildings. I suppose nicer rooms have views to the Recoleta Park.

Breakfast was standard. The location being in Recoleta is so-so because it's so far from other attractions that we had to take taxis in and out.

We got tired of eating the parilla and we decided to try the Empire Thai. It was a total disappointment due to food and especially price.

Cementary tour is great! It's free and the guide was a very nice lady. By visiting all the important tombs, one may get an idea how much the argentines pay their respect to their history and their heros.

To our suprise, we found the Design Mall which is right near the hotel. It's a great idea to have all the trendy home store in one location.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Emeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2007

This small hotel is a great value in the pricey Recoleta neighborhood. I stayed four nights. The first two nights I had an inside room: no view, obviously, but comfortable, spacious and very quiet. The next two nights were in a bright 7th floor room with excellent views of the neighborhood's parks and busy avenues. Some distant traffic noise, but not intrusive. Only 4 rooms to a floor, so the whole place has an intimate, cozy feel. A very comfortable hotel, but not a fancy one. You'll find a few nicks and scuff-marks -- nor is the decor likely to be confused with one of those hip new places in Palermo. The breakfast buffet was okay, but I usually found the dining area overcrowded. This is a lively neighborhood, extremely well located for seeing the sites, eating out or just strolling around. The Plaza Francia stands out for its reasonable rates. Plus they had a room over Christmas week when my first 5 choices were full up!

  • Liked — Great location and reasonable price
  • Disliked — Bland decor
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Apple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2007

This hotel is well-located in Recoleta and among the best values we found on our trip (we mostly stayed in hotels in this 3-star category). We paid $88/night for a double room. There are two computers providing free internet in the business center on the first floor. Breakfast was the standard buffet. Staff was polite and honest about advising us where (and where not) to go. Rooms are a good size and well-appointed (much nicer than other hotels in this category). Bathroom was in generally good shape, though not immaculate.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SFCA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2007

Our family spent two nights at this charming European style hotel in the heart of Recoleta before driving to a beach vacation in Mar del Plata. My husband and I had a junior suite and our three teens had a triple across the hall. The rooms were clean, with old world (but not shabby) decor, and had plenty of space for our family. I am surprised that others found this property lacking in any way. We were delighted and would gladly have stayed longer if not for our kids pining to get to the beach. If you want a luxurious American style hotel with rooms that look like a Pottery Barn ad, then go elsewhere, but Hotel Plaza Francia gave us everything we wanted in Buenos Aires at a great price.

  • Liked — location, English speaking staff assistance, price, city view
  • Disliked — small lobby
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nycoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2006

This hotel provided good service but was overpriced for the size of the room. The double glazed windows blocked out most of the street noise. Breakfast consisted of fruits, pastries, and breads along with ham and cheese. It was good but I became board with it since it was exactly the same every morning. The hotel is about two blocks away from nice restaurants and the famous Recoleta cemetary. In addition, there is a large park across the street from the hotel - perfect for jogging or walking. Unfortunatly, there are no subway stations near the hotel, so If you want to visit the Recoleta area then stay here for a night or two but then change to a different hotel in another part of the city. ( I liked the convience of the Microcentro area.)

  • Liked — The great coffee
  • Disliked — It is far from subway stations
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alta Piazza
Alta Piazza
#77 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#51 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#52 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Recoleta
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
#93 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#151 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Plaza Francia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Plaza Francia

Property: Esplendor Plaza Francia
Address: E. Schiaffino 2189 Esq. Av. Del Libertador | Recoleta, Buenos Aires 112 9A CC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#119 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplendor Plaza Francia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Hotel Plaza Francia is located in the heart of Recoleta, one of the most representative neighborhoods of Buenos Aires. This area is famous for its one of a kind architecture and history. It also has easy airport access. Its 49 modern rooms make the perfect combination between confort and design, offering our guests a comfortable and trendy environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Plaza Francia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Francia Hotel
Plaza Francia Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing