We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, equally useful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Argentino
Ranked #200 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The first time we visited this great hotel was for 2 nights in 2008, thanks to Tripadvisor! Now we came back for a one night stay. It is just what you need if you plan to use the hotel to sleep and have breakfast. The double room is adequate size with a very clean bathroom and a great shower. The Wi-fi is only free for the first minutes and then it about $2/hour or $10 for 24 hours, so if you NEED to stay connected, opt for the 24 hours, like I did. The people at front desk are polite but no smiles. However, some of the bellboys can be very helpful with suggestions of places to visit and can be also quick to call you a "remis" (private taxi cabs). Breakfast is very good if you get there around 8 a.m. before it gets really crowded. There is no minibar in the room, so keep that in mind.
The hotel location is excellent, beign a couple of blocks from the Obelisco and all the good places to go downtown from sights to shopping stores and coffee shops. Just be careful if you stay out late. Downtown streets can be poorly lit.

Room Tip: If you plan to sleep in, don't get a room on the 7th floor or close (cafeteria floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We chose this hotel for an overnight stay between flights in and out of Buenos Aires. The location was good and we were able to walk to a very interesting restaurant in the main tourist area of Buenos Aires. The room was clean enough but I felt like we were staying in a rabbit warren because the corridors were narrow and I felt it might be hard to get out of in a fire.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I can't even begin to describe how atrocious my stay was here at this hotel. When I first arrived, my bathroom was filthy. I asked the staff at the front desk if they can send housekeeping over to clean to which they acknowledged they would do so. When I returned to the hotel a few hours later from a city tour, no one had gone to my room to clean the bathroom. I had to ask three more times until finally someone came to clean it up. The elevator in the hotel is super slow, give yourself an extra 10 minutes when leaving the hotel, seriously. Another gripe was the charge for Wifi service, it was only free for 20 minutes if you went downstairs to the coffee shop and got a password. The only good thing I can say about this place is the car service to/from both airports. Otherwise, look to stay elsewhere when visiting BA.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank Armo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hotel is decent, the location is great and the staff is friendly. But if you are looking for something more from a hotel than sleeping, this is not the best option. I had a reservation in a twin room - which is tiny. The beds are very small, the AC is noisy. But the room was recently renovated so you will not find carpets or old furniture. The bathroom is great - spacious with a fine shower. Breakfast is OK, but crowded from 8.30 am. You spend a lot of time waiting for the elevators, which are small and slow. There is no room service and no fridge in the room. The hall was not very clean at all (but I complaint and they cleaned it). I would only come back if I could find no other option in the region.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, the Suites are much better and spacious than the regular rooms - but I am not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHG_Brasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The good things about this hotel are: is well located although this area is not nice, rooms are clean and breakfast is correct

The bas things:
The morning staff is horrible and prefer smoking and playing online games rather than help customers
The rooms are Big or small, it dépends on the receptionnist
Wifi is not free! They charge you everyday
Rooms are too noisy!!!! You can hear the bell of the elevators, the crazy houskeeping staff and other customers...

I guess quiet rooms are given to locals not europeans... Again the staff does not care... Sade to say for a hotel that prétends to high standard

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkiddo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel was going thought renovations when we were there. No big deal. They respect the times for when they could make noise or not, and there was absolute no noise regarding the renovation.

The room looked fairly new, good size, wood floor, flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was big and the shower was just the best! Really good pressure, perfect after a day walking in Buenos Aires.

The breakfast was good even better because they included when I booked the hotel with them. Simple but tasty. The staff was very helpful. Giving us directions and tips about restaurants. The best thing about this hotel is by far the location! just a few steps away from the metro station, a Carrefour supermarket, and the nice stores at the Calle Florida all very close.

Also try to book the tango shows with the hotel. Much cheaper than if you do it with someone else on the street. Not sure why... but it was much cheaper booking at the hotel.

If you like steak here is a great tip for you: Go to La Estancia (Just amazing) about eight blocks from the hotel. marvelous steak at Applebees prices!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Jernigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
#167 of 443 in Buenos Aires
496 reviews
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel de la Paix
Gran Hotel de la Paix
#390 of 443 in Buenos Aires
317 reviews
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#100 of 443 in Buenos Aires
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Conte Hotel
Conte Hotel
#173 of 443 in Buenos Aires
480 reviews
San Nicolas
Tribeca Buenos Aires Apart
Tribeca Buenos Aires Apart
#191 of 443 in Buenos Aires
409 reviews
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#118 of 443 in Buenos Aires
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Argentino

Address: Carlos Pellegrini, 37, Buenos Aires 2004, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas , El Centro
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £30 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Argentino 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Argentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing