We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Argentino
Ranked #193 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Maceio, AL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located by the 9 de julio avenue, in a very convenient spot. It's not that close to Palermo, but taxi is so cheap it didn't make a difference. Loved the room, wich faced the street as i had requested after reading the reviews here. The room was spacious, with no carpet and a nice bathroom. The double panned windows kept the noise out. Payment was just as we had agreed. Change you cash elsewhere, though. The rate was not bad but you can get better rates.

Helpful?
1 Thank fcop
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    413
    339
    72
    58
See reviews for
222
346
76
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Gran Hotel Argentino is located pretty much in the Center of Buenos Aires, right on the Avenida 9 de Julio/Carlos Pellegrini rd with 16 lanes across. This is why it probably is a good idea to take a room facing the back yard, where you will only be disturbed by the humming air conditioning units.

The room is furnished to average hotel standards though it is a little bit run down. You certainly notice the hotel was not opened yesterday. This is also true for the bathroom, the height of the shower, for instance, was not adjustable. Moreover I once wanted to flush the toilet and the mechanism somehow locked up, so I just opened the box and disentangled the whole thing so it worked again.
The air conditioning unit provided does help to cool the room down but is rather noisy, the knob would keep falling off, too.

The breakfast buffet is nice and generous, if you arrive to late they do not provide any more scrambled eggs, though. In the upstairs restaurant you can access the wireless Internet the hotel provides, you have to ask for a code which grants you 20 minutes of free internet per room per day, further web surfing has to be payed for. Considering that almost every café and restaurant offers free WiFi in Buenos Aires there is no reason to pay for it at the hotel other than comfort.

The Hotel is situated in the center of Buenos Aires, so the Congress, Casa Rosada, Teatro Colón, Obleisc and many other sights can be reached easily and conveniently by foot, others like the Chacarita and Recoleta cementeries are reachable with the subte or by cab.

All in all the Gran Hotel Argentino is a hotel which lives up to the expectations I placed in it and was totally OK for the 10 nights we stayed here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MD-11P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We found the room to be nice value. It was small but comfortable. The air conditioning was good. Only negative was the sink. The spigot is too far forward and the sink so shallow it was hard to wash without splashing oneself. Wifi was free only for 20 min in the restaurant. Otherwise you had to pay 10 pesos per hour

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 1 + 2 nights en route to Ushuaia and on our return. The first stay was awful as we were put into grubby, dark and dingy rooms on the 3rd floor - facing a wall. Water leaked from the base of the toilet and we were most disappointed as we had already booked and paid for our second stay on Booking.com.

The second stay we were on the 7th floor in a refurbished room facing the main boulevard which was quite acceptable. Breakfast was nothing spectacular (cereals, some fruit, pastries, cheese and watery scramble egg).

The hotel is central for exploring this huge city. If you turn left as you exit the door you will find a large supermarket on the first corner which is useful for stocking up on snacks, fruit, water and drinks .

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor as ask for a refurbished room facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Wow... I owe this one, Last year I arrive to Buenos Aires to transfer plains to Asuncion - Paraguay and find out I couldn't board the plane because i didn't have a visa??? anyway long story short I wasn't supposed to be in Buenos Aires till 4 days latter, all my photography equipment, cash and credit cards where stolen at the airport I ended up in a bad Hotel downtown... next day i when to find the Gran Hotel Argentino I told them what happen and they didn't have a problem to accomodate me 2 days before my original reservation respecting the promotional rate i got on line... the Hotel is very.. very nice.. with a great vibe, style, luxury and great staff... the free breakfast was just impresive... I love the Pudin de Pan... everyday!!! fruits, yogurt, cereal, eggs, great juices and coffee... all included.... Modern and clean rooms... great atmosphere and overall very Dynamic felling... the people at the front desk are just amazingly cool, they kept my luggage for 3 days when I went to Uruguay... Everyone was very cool, specially Luis at the reception that make my life way more easy....

In Buenos Aires this is the place to be!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FERNANDO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
Level Contributor
239 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have stayed here twice and each time is great. it is centrally located on the widest avenue in the world. Staff is very helpful and can arrange airport transportation for you. This is an older hotel in a downtonw type environment but it has always worked well for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jksKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The first time we visited this great hotel was for 2 nights in 2008, thanks to Tripadvisor! Now we came back for a one night stay. It is just what you need if you plan to use the hotel to sleep and have breakfast. The double room is adequate size with a very clean bathroom and a great shower. The Wi-fi is only free for the first minutes and then it about $2/hour or $10 for 24 hours, so if you NEED to stay connected, opt for the 24 hours, like I did. The people at front desk are polite but no smiles. However, some of the bellboys can be very helpful with suggestions of places to visit and can be also quick to call you a "remis" (private taxi cabs). Breakfast is very good if you get there around 8 a.m. before it gets really crowded. There is no minibar in the room, so keep that in mind.
The hotel location is excellent, beign a couple of blocks from the Obelisco and all the good places to go downtown from sights to shopping stores and coffee shops. Just be careful if you stay out late. Downtown streets can be poorly lit.

Room Tip: If you plan to sleep in, don't get a room on the 7th floor or close (cafeteria floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Grand King Hotel
Grand King Hotel
#217 of 447 in Buenos Aires
665 reviews
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel de la Paix
Gran Hotel de la Paix
#388 of 447 in Buenos Aires
310 reviews
San Nicolas
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
#183 of 447 in Buenos Aires
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#147 of 447 in Buenos Aires
535 reviews
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#177 of 447 in Buenos Aires
339 reviews
San Nicolas
Duomi Plaza Hotel
Duomi Plaza Hotel
#163 of 447 in Buenos Aires
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Argentino

Property: Gran Hotel Argentino
Address: Carlos Pellegrini, 37, Buenos Aires 2004, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas , El Centro
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Argentino 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Argentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing