We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, lacks character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #126 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value, lacks character”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel is not close to anything; it was a short taxi ride to most sights. This hotel is huge and caters to pilots, flight crews and cruises, and lacks the “special” touch. Service is fine but nothing that went above and beyond.

The rooms were spacious and our room rate included lounge service. Breakfast was satisfying, but the rest of the meals were a bit light on the offerings.

All-in-all, this hotel was good value for our money especially around New Years’, but there are plenty of better service options around the city including the luxury collection hotel next door.

Happy travels!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the clock tower and the rest of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suman514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    762
    387
    130
    66
See reviews for
275
438
92
820
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I spent one week here for business. I will not go to this hotel again. The ratio cost/quality is very low. You will get more for your money at the Hilton, or at the Sheraton at Libertador. Matter of fact, I spent 3 weeks at the Sheraton Libertador, which is more centric, warning, this hotel at libertador is very old but again the ratio cost/quality was way better..
The personnel at the concierge lounge were not very nice and almost all the time with an attitude.
I will not recommend this hotel.
Be careful, across from the hotel is the a very bad neighborhood.

Room Tip: If you really like Sheraton or are using your point, I would recommend the Sheraton Libertador. Walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paeslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks very much for all of your comments. We really appreciate them. We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cold north
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

After reading all the negative reviews here, I wasn't expecting much. We did get an excellent rate, so we prepaid and went for it.

We were upgraded to a lovely Club room on the 18th floor, with a view of the river. We actually saw some Cruise ships being tugged.

The room must have been renovated, because it was clean and new looking. Service was excellent.

We chose the hotel for the pool, but there was so much rain the last few days that we didn't even get to look at it!

Room Tip: I asked for a renovated, quiet king with a view. And that is what I got!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColdNorthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks very much for shearing your experience with us. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed our services and you have had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Buenos Aires for two nights early in January before going to and returning from Iguassu Falls. The first room we were given was very tired, and smelt badly of smoke despite having requested a non smoking room. After complaining to reception we were moved to the 18th floor overlooking Puerto Madero and there were no problems. On our return to the Hotel 2 nights later, we were robbed of our rollaboard by one of the local taxi (?) drivers. We were understandably upset as the case contained all our documentation (except passports) cash, jewellery, medical necessities, camera, etc. The Concierge desk tried to help us locate the taxi, but, being very busy, was unable to progress our case. We then approached the Guest Services Manager, Augustino Diciervo. She was wonderful, organising for us to visit the local Police Station to lodge a report, took us there by taxi, interpreted for us, and still got us back to the Hotel in time to leave to catch our flight home. Although having travelled extensively this was the first time we have had an occurrence like this, and made us realise just how helpless you are in a foreign country without the assistance of someone dedicated to providing a superior service. Yes, this hotel does have some rooms that are tired, but the service we received from all concerned, and particularly Augustino, means that we will only stay with Sheraton when available in our future travels. Well done.

Room Tip: The rooms on the city side are quieter with less traffic noise, but the Puerto Madero view rooms pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We were pleased to read that you have a nice stay with us. I am sorry to hear the incident you experienced with the taxi l hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to the Hotel. Thank you again for your comments and I am going to share them with Agustina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is definitely a "bulk" convention, group and cruise passenger hotel. Very hectic to check in, with a crowded lobby and reception. I would avoid this hotel if traveling solo. It has almost no ambiance. We arrived early in the morning as part of a cruise-sponsored group of 15 or so. They put us into a holding room (it did have drinks and some snacks) to await room availability. We filled out a registration form to "speed" check in. However, the hotel lost our papers, and our group (and the next 20 to arrive) got rooms within an hour of arriving. When I asked customer service about a room (after a two plus hour wait), they said nothing was available for at least three hours more, even though the others were all accommodated. Not at all friendly in their response. The manager was able to find us a room in five minutes (and friendly, too). Regular staff seemed overwhelmed and the stress showed. The room was average in size and nothing special in amenities. Nothing about the hotel would cause me to go back on my own. I do not know if the price is reasonable for the blandness, because it was cruise-inclusive. However, if I traveled with that line again, I would take their cash rebate and choose my own hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking part of your valuable time in letting us know your comments about the issues you met during your last stay at the Sheraton Buenos Aires, constructive support from our guests is extremely important to us, and help us to work on our weaknesses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This undoubtedly is one of the better hotels in Buenos Aires. Conveniently located it has everything one can ask for. If you are a frequent Sheraton client this will not disappoint in meeting those standards. The gym is immaculate and even has a spa area to relax. A big bonus after the long flight from the US.

Where they get a poor rating is in the Room Service Experience. We had a flight at an ungodly hour and we ordered breakfast to our room. Entitled "American Breakfast", we had the option of eggs to our preference along with bacon or sausage and other accompaniments. I opted for the sausage and placed our order. Remember we are talking about an "American" breakfast. The order arrived as requested at 3 AM on the dot. So far so good. Until I look at my plate and see Hot Dogs as a representation of what sausage is.

I am fluent in Spanish. I understand cultural differences. I get it that "salchicha" in some Latin American countries is indeed hot dogs. I totally get that. What I don't get is calling this travesty and "American Breakfast". When I complained in the lobby, despite being a Starwood Preferred Guest, the best answer I could get from the Front desk was that this was what Sausage was in Argentina. To this I responded, then Stop calling this an "American Breakfast"!!!!!! With a whopping $45 price tag to this breakfast for two with Hot Dogs, they deserve the poor rating I am giving them. Get it right folks! It is not that difficult!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiEpicurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments made in Trip Advisor, regarding your experience during your last stay at the Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel.
Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our clients, and we have noticed that some services in the Hotel have not been according to your satisfaction. Please be informed that we are working in all details in order to continue improving our services. We will share your comments with our Food and Beberage manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We had to switch hotels from the Sheraton libertador because of booking miscommunication . We were apprehensive to switch to the Sheraton convention center because of the reviews posted . We contemplated booking at another hotel but decided to check it out first
The hotel is not new but in comparison to the Sheraton libertador , this lobby is like the Taj Mahal .
The room was stark but very clean and tidy . The bed was certainly up to Sheraton standards .
As club members we were entitled by the club breakfast and were overwhelmed by the club setting and selection
We did not check the other amenities although were told the swimming pool was amazing
The area appears to be very safe . The only possible advantage the libertador hotel has is its more central location . But really , taxis are very affordable in this city

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thanks very much for all of your comments. We really appreciate them. We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#140 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#29 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#46 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#63 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Retiro
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
#101 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Calle San Martin 1225 1275, Buenos Aires C1104AKC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#63 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#74 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#94 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#95 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel And Convention Center
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing