We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went from mediocre, to excellent in one stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Tower
Ranked #29 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Went from mediocre, to excellent in one stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

I'm a frequent traveller and stay in starwood hotels all the time. They tend to be my default choice, and as such Ive stayed in the Park Tower on at least four occasions since 2006, when visiting Bs As.

I felt increasingly over time that the hotel getting rather tired...although I personally like the old world luxury style, unless its maintained spotlessly these hotels can quickly start to look a bit dusty and tired. Once out of the gleaming impressive reception area, this certainly seemed to be the case with the PT... the corridors of the guest room floors in particular are starting to show signs of neglect.

All in all, with this in mind I tried to book the Hilton on my most recent stay as I remembered it was similar, but smarter... but for various reasons ended up back at the Park Tower. I have to say my experience was great this time.

I was upgraded to room 350... what they term the mock up suite, a slightly different styling to the regular rooms, as it was created prior to a planned conversion to another hotel brand which never came to pass. They kept this rooms style, as a curio and I was given the room, which was delightful, for my three nights here.
The room service is spectacular and deserves a special mention. The overall standard of service was exemplary.

There were two problems. Firstly the wireless internet is a bit patchy, and had entire periods of drop out during my stay. Secondly, there is a problem with the water supply. It continually ran dark brown, which apparently is down to the hotel running at that time, at only 20% capacity. Its rust in the water pipes. Its always a little concerning to see brown water running out of a five star establishments water supply, it just doesn't look good!

A regular stream of well meaning and industrious engineers arrived at the room who fiddled with the taps and smiled, but they couldn't really sort it out. Finally, the excellent duty manager Snr L. Fernandez came to my room, offered me another room, explained the reason for the problem and from then on was personally on hand to sort out any further issues. He also upgraded me twice during my two consecutive stays and gave me a personal assurance of future help when I return.

All in all despite the niggles, this level of service restored my faith in the Park Tower and will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank modjis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    200
    62
    16
    11
See reviews for
87
305
45
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

Great location in downtown, clean large renovated rooms, attentive staff, very good facilities, small gym in the hotel and full gym + pool in the ad-joint Sheraton hotel.
An excellent choice for Buenos Aires

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blimele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

This small tower next to a Sheraton Hotel felt like a boutique hotel. Check in was simple, at individual table/stations. The rooms (we stayed twice) were excellent. The staff was also wonderful; with a special mention to the excellent concierge team. Everyone was most helpful. Why stay in a large impersonal Buenos Aires hotel when you can have all the benefits and still be in a small(ish) hotel?

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

I booked this hotel using Starwood points, where I have platinum status. Had no problem checking in upon arrival at 9:30am. Bellman and reception very friendly, offered water or OJ while completing the process. No upgraded room available, but was happy to have a chance to nap after an overnight flight from the US.

We had to switch rooms after a few days due to some soundproofing issues; our new room didn't suffer the same problem. L'Ocitane toiletries, which were very nice. Bottled water in the room is $36 pesos, but there's a supermercado a few blocks away where you can get 1.5L for $4.

There's a small gym in this hotel, or a MUCH larger (and busier) gym in the attached Sheraton. The pool and spa is also located at the Sheraton. I don't know if Sheraton guests are charged, but it's part of the room charge at the Park Tower.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, as it's not part of the room when you use points. We did have brunch, and it was very nice, but didn't have many of the things we're used to from US hotel brunches (no omelet or carving stations, really no breakfast items other than fruit and some pastries).

Overall, it's a very nice hotel, and the staff goes out of their way to meet your needs. We had some issues with timely communications, and I wasn't overly impressed with the concierges. We knew what we wanted, but they seemed to direct people to areas rather than particular restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizzy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

Great location next to Retiro Station; within walking distance of Retiro, MicroCentro and only a 10-minute walk from the chic Puerto Madero area.

Staff attention was superior. Room was clean, terrific; attentive housekeeping, quiet, despite being on a main artery. Hotel adjoins Sheraton, which contains dining, easy access to Av. Alem. Across the street are ATM machines (Galeria and Recanter both are accessible with a swipe of one's ATM card).

Within two minutes walk is a wide variety of excellent restaurants on Av. Reconquista. Portenos dine outdoors (they smoke), but simply walk up to the door of a restaurant and one is immediately seated. Recommend Rigoletto II and Dora, which are at the north end of Reconquista. Both have excellent Italian and beef dishes.

Terrific experience and recommend the Park Tower.

  • Liked — Location and service.
  • Disliked — Price can be a barrier, but if you can afford it, Park Tower is terrific.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RCaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

Stayed here for one night as a stop-over on a trip to elsewhere within Argentina and thought the hotel was very pleasant. Designed as a business hotel, our corner suite was very nice with a pretty view of the train station and a park. Service was very attentive and checking in was very quick and easy.

The room didn't have the character of some other hotels in a similar price range but was cleanly decorated and unattractive. The attentive staff and service makes up for this (and the nice view helped alleviate this concern as well). This hotel is best for business travelers but is a very nice hotel to stay in on vacation.

  • Liked — Great service and business services
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTraveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

Both my wife and I agreed that the hotel represented the best Christmas present we could have given each other this year!. Five star service, outstanding room with a view and a knowledgeable concierge who wasn't afraid to recommend venues that were off the beaten track (but safe) so we could experience a little bit of the real BA!

The hotel is an easy USD 5.00 to 10.00 cab ride from the major neighborhoods: San Telmo (not all it's cracked up to be), Recoleta, Palmermo, Puerta Madero etc.

My only negative comment is that there is no Club for Starwood Platinum members so breakfast and evening cocktails either have to be taken in the lobby bar area or a short walk from the hotel towards the Florida mall area.

Otherwise, it was outstanding.

  • Liked — Service quality
  • Disliked — No Starwood Platinum Club
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Flozell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#23 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Tower

Property: Park Tower
Address: Avenida Leandro N Alem 1193, Buenos Aires C1001AAG, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#18 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#21 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#22 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#66 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Tower Hotel Buenos Aires
Park Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing