We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good price, but loud”
Review of Exe Hotel Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exe Hotel Colon
Ranked #332 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good price, but loud”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The best location in Buenos Aires, just in the centre, close to great restaurants, shops, travel agencies etc. Rooms are quite comfortable. Large and good breakfast buffet. Due to it's location it can't be quiet and it isn't. But for a 4 star hotel in the centre it is cheap. Staff speaks English and they have 2 internet connected computers at the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west are very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    368
    365
    160
    109
See reviews for
299
385
56
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

One of the worst hotels i have stayed in, cocroaches in the bathroom, bad service from part of thenstaff. I do not recomend it at all. The breakfast is ok, but comsidering the cocroaches, it gives you to think about the quality.

Helpful?
Thank Consuelo E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Santos, Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Of course this must have been a great hotel in the past. But it still holds part of its charm. The furniture needs some "varnish" but it is very clean.

We made a reservation online and specified we wanted one of the refurbished rooms. When we got there, there was no one available. To compensate for that, they gave us a huge room with a nice view. They promised to arrange the new room the next day. But the old one they gave us in the first place was so nice, we declined the change.

The breakfast is nice, the location superb and the staff very accommodating. A great value.

Room Tip: The suites facing the streets are not noisy, due to the good windows. Apt final 02 and final 03 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ediroque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Hotel Colon is ideally located in the centre of BA. Its close to the subway, which was perfectly safe when we used it, the main pedestrian street Ave Corrientes, as well as the heart of BA, Obelisco de Buenos Aires, which is a real plus as the area is always busy even really late at night.
It is in need of a bit of an update, but their good service, great location and excellent breakfast more than make up for it! A few staff members do speak English, and those who didn't still made plenty of effort to help us out!
We had a large room, with a great balcony. We did need to flip the rather lumpy bed mattress around to get a better night sleep though.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have great views of the Obelisco de Buenos Aires, and less street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lutfiya_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Plenty of better hotels in BA ie Dazzler Tower San Telmo. In 43 degree heat for 2 days had no air conditioning. Ist room on 5 floor is what others are referring to - YUK. Changed to 10 floor and had newly renovated room. Staff used language as their excuse regarding power outages, no air-conditioning. I know enough spanish to state the staff were totally unprofessional, rude and just lied about everything such as the lack of air conditioning when there was no need to do so.
How anyone can say this hotel was professionally run with helpful, warm staff must work for them.

Room Tip: I can recommend Dazzler Tower San Telmo especially if there on a weekend with the market. If you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot, and this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed. The room was awful, smelly, and at the last day they didnt clean the room. The subway is located right in front, but is way too dangerous to walk around. At 7 pm I got mugged right in front of the hotel, and the staff didnt even try to help me. STAY AWAY!!

Helpful?
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Great hotel, very clean, professionally run, lovely rooms, helpful and warm staff. Within walking distance of the Casa Rosada. Some nice little convenience stores / bakeries nearby.I would definitely stay in this hotel again if was to return to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda_e_Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#108 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
San Nicolas
Obelisco Center Suites
Obelisco Center Suites
#195 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
San Nicolas
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
#111 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Park Silver Obelisco
Park Silver Obelisco
#69 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Globales Republica Wellness & Spa
San Nicolas
Broadway Hotel & Suites
Broadway Hotel & Suites
#84 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Hotel Colon

Property: Exe Hotel Colon
Address: Carlos Pellegrini 507, Buenos Aires 1009ABK, Argentina (Formerly Hotel Colon)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Exe Hotel Colon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Eurostars, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Exe Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Colon Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing