We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 4-star!”
Review of Exe Hotel Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exe Hotel Colon
Ranked #376 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Lone receptionist allocated us to a room looking out into the service duct and rusting plumbing. The bed was sagging and the air conditioner noisy. The room is ancient & the bathroom tiny. One can only wonder how they obtained their four stars? The only upside is the excellent location in central BA and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Av. 9 de Julio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

There must be different value systems here - this is NO 4 star hotel. No alarm clock, two plugs for the whole room, no hairdryer, etc. The carpet and bedspreads, lamps are just so nasty, they must be 40 yrs old. Do not stay on the 3rd floor - all the rooms are old and are obviously not in any of the pictures.

I asked for a clock radio/alarm and the guy left my room and said something to the housekeeper about me being a princess. I would think alarm clocks would be standard, not high society!

I have only been here a day so I cannot comment on anything but the room. will submit picks and more info later

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel is very well located, right next to Lavalle Pedestrian street and thus very near Florida, which makes it good for shopping purposes and well located overall (right on 9 de julio avenue). I stayed for 3 nights and the room was okay, clean and relatively good size. My internet was working more or less (skype calls wouldn't work much, and you had to find the exact location to have a good internet), and 3 other colleagues who were staying at the same hotel had very bad internet connection and would have to leave the hotel and go online elsewhere. Ah, my room looked to the inside, so it was pretty quiet. I would think that the ones looking to the 9 de julio may be a bit noisy but I don't know.

The breakfast was plentiful but for some reason I wasn't really satisfied.

Hotel staff were nice and helpful.

In general, I would stay here again if they would fix the internet connection.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosfpardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was a good spot. The rooms had character and the hotel was in an ideal location. Close to lots of restaurants and centro. The staff were amazing, always eager to give suggestions an answer any questions we had. We booked a tango tour using the hostel that was also quite good, I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtraveller80_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I had a pleasant stay on this hotel , this is a later rating i was there in 2008.
It had excellent view from the "Obelisco" and its a nice place just to walk around .
Had good restaurants nearby and places to just walk trough.
Excellent breakfast with gorgeous view of the City .
Will definitely stay there again .

Room Tip: Good spaced rooms , safe .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgoular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Good location and respectufull staff. Excellent breakfast. BUT: Wifi so bad that it was impossible to use. Mattress extremelly old, like a "nest". Torn sheets, Tiny and old TV. Bathroom worn out...
I asked if this was a "non-renovated room" but they said thet rooms are all the same.
Not worthy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luiz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The best location in Buenos Aires, just in the centre, close to great restaurants, shops, travel agencies etc. Rooms are quite comfortable. Large and good breakfast buffet. Due to it's location it can't be quiet and it isn't. But for a 4 star hotel in the centre it is cheap. Staff speaks English and they have 2 internet connected computers at the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west are very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gringo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Park Silver Obelisco
Park Silver Obelisco
#72 of 443 in Buenos Aires
726 reviews
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#100 of 443 in Buenos Aires
785 reviews
San Nicolas
Unique Executive Central
Unique Executive Central
#214 of 443 in Buenos Aires
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Globales Republica
Globales Republica
#178 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,196 reviews
San Nicolas
NH Buenos Aires Tango
NH Buenos Aires Tango
#60 of 443 in Buenos Aires
888 reviews
San Nicolas
Broadway Hotel & Suites
Broadway Hotel & Suites
#83 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Hotel Colon

Address: Carlos Pellegrini 507, Buenos Aires 1009ABK, Argentina (Formerly Hotel Colon)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £47 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Exe Hotel Colon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Exe Hotel Colón is a modern, 14-storey building in Buenos Aires. The rooms are spacious and light-filled, some of them with impressive panoramic rooms. The Exe Colón is also the perfect choice for business events: we have eight meeting rooms holding between ten and 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exe Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Colon Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing