We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay elsewhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Obelisco Center Suites
Ranked #197 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I chose this hotel because it was advertised as in the center of everything. Well something that's not a good thing when it is in the center of crowded sidewalks, the worst traffic anywhere and a long walk to what you came to see. The reception was rude, the room was shabby and the price just wasn't worth hit. Cheap furniture, hard mattress, sticky floors, a patio chair for the desk, I mean why stay here? I wished I'd looked harder.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiedtothedock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    204
    170
    43
    26
See reviews for
157
147
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

I stayed at Obelisco Center this Easter with my parents. We went in a group tour with CVC (Brazilian travel agancy). The hotel is ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE. The room was old and poorly decorated. The windows were completely dirty. The linen was rough. There were many broken things in the room, the staff was unpolite and, worst of all, there is no room service. I order a coffee at 11h30min and the staff told me to go round the corner and have a coffee at a café. The only thing about the hotel is its location, but I bet there are better hotels around. Think twice about staying there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acdallago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

The hotel itself is good, has a very good breakfast and service. The only con is that the rooms have some old furniture, but yet i felt very confortable there. The location of the hotel is also very good, right at the Roque Saenz Peña street, very close to the obelisk.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank matheusro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

It is hard to believe this is a 4 star hotel esppecial if we are talking about the service! The staff is not welcoming at all. No smile, and they make you feel you are bothering them. After settling down before going out, we asked when the fitness center is open, the receptionist (a man) answered us without even bothering himself to lift his head and look at us.

The dinner is below the average. The quality of the food is bad (no tast and over cooked) but the service is even worse! I am under the impression that the people in this hotel don't know how to smile. We don't know the breakfast yet, but we won't expect much.

The only positive point of this hotel is the location.

Well, oner all, I won't recommend this hotel to anybody. That's really a pity. After 2 weeks traveling in Argentina, we had so great experience everywhere, before arriving in Buenos Aires, before the Obelisco hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redsandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

People very nice and helpful. Location good, close to main attractions. The rest really bad, including flees in a small additional bed that kept us from sleeping. We told the manager and he changed us to another clean and much better room, but the demage was already made. Very old hotel, only partially renewed, but in general not well kept. Worn carpet, lights not enough to see your face on the mirror, ugly corridors, small elevator. Breakfast very simple, with few options and a rude waiter. I do not recomend it, stay away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GomesSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

Not bad, not great. The staff was friendly. The room was very clean, but it needed a lot of TLC. The lights that were working were very dim -- if I wanted to read or write in the evening, I used a flashlight. Worn carpeting, worn furnishings. Breakfast buffet was generous and good. Location was good for walking to Florida Street, and the staff was great about calling taxis for me. I booked a tango show through the hotel and was pleased with it.

However, on my last day, I booked two tours through the hotel, and I asked and was informed the second one would be back at the hotel by 6:00 pm. They arranged for a taxi to whisk me to the airport at 6:30 pm. However, the tour didn't get to the hotel until 7:00 (and that was only because I talked the guide into dropping me off first). By then the taxi had left and the staff chided me for missing it. They called for another, and eventually sent me in an unmarked taxi to the airport --I was charged $105 Arg. (But I did still arrive in plenty of time to catch my flight).

I wouldn't stay at the Obelisco again -- but maybe it would work for you.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank marygone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2006

This hotel is on the same standard as a first class european tourist hotel. The service and professionalism of the staff was great. The rooms are not what one would expect in a four star hotel in the US as the standard Argentine beds are all smaller. The twins are the same as US beds but the "matrimonial bed" is the size of a small US queen. The Amreican hotels in Argentina are different. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are nice, just not to a US 4 star standard. The air conditioner in our room worked very well and the staff arranged for some outstanding tours including the City Bus tour ($10 us), and a two day trip to the Iguasu falls ($400 us) that was all very much first class by US standards and a trip we would recommend NOT BE MISSED. This hotel is litteraly in the middle of everything in Buenos Aires and we recommend it as a great location.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Park Silver Obelisco
Park Silver Obelisco
#66 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
San Nicolas
Exe Hotel Colon
Exe Hotel Colon
#304 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#105 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
HR Luxor Buenos Aires
#111 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Globales Republica Wellness & Spa
San Nicolas
Broadway Hotel & Suites
Broadway Hotel & Suites
#87 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obelisco Center Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obelisco Center Suites

Property: Obelisco Center Suites
Address: Avenida Roque Saenz Pena 991 | Diagonal Norte 991 - C.A.B.A, Buenos Aires C1035AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Obelisco Center Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the cultural heart of Buenos Aires, the Obelisco Center Suites offers the facilities, service and comfort of a 4-star hotel for your business or leisure trip. Within walking distance from the main tourist attractions, its unbeatable location also provides easy and immediate access to airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Obelisco Center Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obelisco Center Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing