We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star but friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Obelisco Center Suites
Ranked #196 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I has not (even closely) the features to qualify for a four stars. Not a gym, not a pool, not a buiseness center.
Big rooms but only the bathroom has been upgraded. The rest is '80 styled with old furniture and a tube tv. The common areas are rough.

But the staff is friendly, the breakfast is decent and the location is excelent close to the subway and main downtown streets.
I would recommend it four a single ( low budget) night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosNicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

I would recommend two things before staying here,check your attitude and check the rooms.
The staff if you take a moment to chat and be interested in them will treat you accordingly and give you a newly refurbished chic room and will help you have a terrific time going to see whatever your heart desires.
The hotel is Half good and Half bad ...INSPECT room before accepting the key tag,so you dont just get lumbered with one of the Old rooms.
The service here was terrific over the three days i stayed and explored the inner city (inc:the Jewish presinct full of Fabrics.....amazing)
I only ate breakfasts at the hotel and they were plentiful and were in clean open surrounds...again,a smile and a chat had me getting the best eggs and tastiest bacon going !
There is a Very Convenient Mini Mart across the BUSY road where daily cheap supplies were bought,a tourist centre is also just across the road and major banks are up the same road,everything is a safe handy yet "crowded" walk away,and its surrounded by great diners, This hotel puts you right in the centre of this polluted very busy loud exciting city ! GREAT !

Room Tip: Inspect room before signing the dotted line & ask for a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I chose this hotel because it was advertised as in the center of everything. Well something that's not a good thing when it is in the center of crowded sidewalks, the worst traffic anywhere and a long walk to what you came to see. The reception was rude, the room was shabby and the price just wasn't worth hit. Cheap furniture, hard mattress, sticky floors, a patio chair for the desk, I mean why stay here? I wished I'd looked harder.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiedtothedock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I stayed at Obelisco Center this Easter with my parents. We went in a group tour with CVC (Brazilian travel agancy). The hotel is ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE. The room was old and poorly decorated. The windows were completely dirty. The linen was rough. There were many broken things in the room, the staff was unpolite and, worst of all, there is no room service. I order a coffee at 11h30min and the staff told me to go round the corner and have a coffee at a café. The only thing about the hotel is its location, but I bet there are better hotels around. Think twice about staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acdallago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

The hotel itself is good, has a very good breakfast and service. The only con is that the rooms have some old furniture, but yet i felt very confortable there. The location of the hotel is also very good, right at the Roque Saenz Peña street, very close to the obelisk.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank matheusro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

It is hard to believe this is a 4 star hotel esppecial if we are talking about the service! The staff is not welcoming at all. No smile, and they make you feel you are bothering them. After settling down before going out, we asked when the fitness center is open, the receptionist (a man) answered us without even bothering himself to lift his head and look at us.

The dinner is below the average. The quality of the food is bad (no tast and over cooked) but the service is even worse! I am under the impression that the people in this hotel don't know how to smile. We don't know the breakfast yet, but we won't expect much.

The only positive point of this hotel is the location.

Well, oner all, I won't recommend this hotel to anybody. That's really a pity. After 2 weeks traveling in Argentina, we had so great experience everywhere, before arriving in Buenos Aires, before the Obelisco hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redsandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

People very nice and helpful. Location good, close to main attractions. The rest really bad, including flees in a small additional bed that kept us from sleeping. We told the manager and he changed us to another clean and much better room, but the demage was already made. Very old hotel, only partially renewed, but in general not well kept. Worn carpet, lights not enough to see your face on the mirror, ugly corridors, small elevator. Breakfast very simple, with few options and a rude waiter. I do not recomend it, stay away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GomesSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Park Silver Obelisco
Park Silver Obelisco
#84 of 443 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#163 of 443 in Buenos Aires
504 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#53 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#50 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,045 reviews
Montserrat
NH Buenos Aires City
NH Buenos Aires City
#76 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,746 reviews
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#103 of 443 in Buenos Aires
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obelisco Center Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obelisco Center Suites

Address: Avenida Roque Saenz Pena 991 | Diagonal Norte 991 - C.A.B.A, Buenos Aires C1035AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £59 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Obelisco Center Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the cultural heart of Buenos Aires, the Obelisco Center Suites offers the facilities, service and comfort of a 4-star hotel for your business or leisure trip. Within walking distance from the main tourist attractions, its unbeatable location also provides easy and immediate access to airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Obelisco Center Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obelisco Center Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing