We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so Obelisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Obelisco Center Suites
Ranked #193 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Not bad, not great. The staff was friendly. The room was very clean, but it needed a lot of TLC. The lights that were working were very dim -- if I wanted to read or write in the evening, I used a flashlight. Worn carpeting, worn furnishings. Breakfast buffet was generous and good. Location was good for walking to Florida Street, and the staff was great about calling taxis for me. I booked a tango show through the hotel and was pleased with it.

However, on my last day, I booked two tours through the hotel, and I asked and was informed the second one would be back at the hotel by 6:00 pm. They arranged for a taxi to whisk me to the airport at 6:30 pm. However, the tour didn't get to the hotel until 7:00 (and that was only because I talked the guide into dropping me off first). By then the taxi had left and the staff chided me for missing it. They called for another, and eventually sent me in an unmarked taxi to the airport --I was charged $105 Arg. (But I did still arrive in plenty of time to catch my flight).

I wouldn't stay at the Obelisco again -- but maybe it would work for you.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank marygone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 513 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, NV
18
Reviewed 4 March 2006

This hotel is on the same standard as a first class european tourist hotel. The service and professionalism of the staff was great. The rooms are not what one would expect in a four star hotel in the US as the standard Argentine beds are all smaller. The twins are the same as US beds but the "matrimonial bed" is the size of a small US queen. The Amreican hotels in Argentina are different. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are nice, just not to a US 4 star standard. The air conditioner in our room worked very well and the staff arranged for some outstanding tours including the City Bus tour ($10 us), and a two day trip to the Iguasu falls ($400 us) that was all very much first class by US standards and a trip we would recommend NOT BE MISSED. This hotel is litteraly in the middle of everything in Buenos Aires and we recommend it as a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
14
Reviewed 16 October 2005

We stayed at the Obelisco Center Suites for six nights. It's located right next to the Obelisco, close to a metro, walking distance from Florida. We had a large room at the front, which some people may find a bit noisy, but after all if you're in Buenos Aires you may as well appreciate its atmosphere. The staff were very helpful, security is good, and we highly recommend the buffet breakfast which was part of the accommodation cost.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank escorpiano968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: llevar adaptadores a 220 para al electricidad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidbC8302KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank lorenacervantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#164 of 442 in Buenos Aires
515 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#131 of 442 in Buenos Aires
589 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#50 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
NH Buenos Aires City
NH Buenos Aires City
#83 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,781 reviews
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#138 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,330 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#221 of 442 in Buenos Aires
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obelisco Center Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obelisco Center Suites

Address: Avenida Roque Saenz Pena 991 | Diagonal Norte 991 - C.A.B.A, Buenos Aires C1035AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £60 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Obelisco Center Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the cultural heart of Buenos Aires, the Obelisco Center Suites offers the facilities, service and comfort of a 4-star hotel for your business or leisure trip. Within walking distance from the main tourist attractions, its unbeatable location also provides easy and immediate access to airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Obelisco Center Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obelisco Center Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing