We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Designer Hotel”
Review of Faena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Faena Hotel
Ranked #23 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Designer Hotel”
Reviewed 12 March 2008

My wife and I stayed here 15 and 16th Feb. The previous reviews say it all really. Not to everyone's taste (or pocket!). Some of the "designs" are not as practical as they could be - especially in the bathroom. Overall we did like our room, overlooking the pool area and looking towards the city. Although we had our own "experience manager" we never used him - we just called at one of the desks in the lobby area. All the staff we came across were very helpfull and spoke good english - and were very attractive!! (Male and female).

We used their limousine service (Mercedes 320) to meet us from the international airport. Although expensive it worked very well and there was no problem with an early (noon) check-in.

We had only one meal at the hotel. It was our wedding anniversary on the 16th and we decided to dine at El Bistro. It is not a bistro; it is a silver service (and a bit pretentious) restaurant. You get used to the Unicorn heads looking down on you!! While the service was good the food (not large portions) was sometimes disappointing and more Heston than Gordon. I felt that some of the dishes did not work - but it was an experience I would not have missed. Also the wine list appeared quite good but what sommelier would spell Claudy (sic) Bay or include a 1998 Petit Chablis on their list? It is also one, if not THE, most expensive restaurant in BA (see my review of Park Hyatt for good restaurants) £100 for two compared with £60 at other top spots.

We did overhear people say how good the breakfast was, but we prefer to explore and found a great cafe/restaurant less than 4mins. walk away - I Fresh Market - thoroughly recommend this deli/restaurant which is open 8am till late. Very good staff, large servings and fresh ingredients and inexpensive.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and Puerto Madero is a good place to stay: far less busy (in fact very quiet) compared with say Recoleta area, with a large selection of good cafes and restaurants (but very few shops - at the moment). Will be interesting to see this area in 2/3 years time as the Faena group are redeveloping two large sites very near by.

  • Liked — Slightly quirky!
  • Disliked — Small design practicalities in the bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winerunner52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    217
    83
    37
    33
See reviews for
95
547
50
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

I must say this is the coolest hotel ever and yes we felt like rock stars. That being said the bathroom must have been laid out by a blind man because it just doesn't work. It is the worst design I have ever seen. The whole thing is glass and there is NO Way two people can be in there at the same time. There is only one robe hook and if the robe is on it you can't open or close the shower door. Also you can't put a towel down by the shower because the door won't open or close. The sink area has no room at all, just about enough for a tooth brush. Enough on that I loved the place but as still had problems. When we arrived late in the afternoon the room wasn't ready. Two nights in a row our experiance manager booked resturants that when we arrived they were closed. I must say that was a big problem but he did send us a nice bottle to our room. Now the best part was one night the power went out in the hotel a total of four times within 2 hours. This occured after 2 am and each time it came back on it turned on all the room lights and tv and stereo and the ac made loud banging sounds. That was not much fun and made for little sleep. The sheets and bed were awesome though. I still love the place and the Tango show was awesome. The breakfast is great and the bar area is excellent. Very cool place but not too practical with the high design. The pool area is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

We stayed here a number of years ago, but we still talk about it. The hotel is an amazing site - the decor is quite striking and thoroughly modern, yet it feels welcoming and warm. The rooms were very spacious, but the bathroom was not, which surprised us. The service is impeccable. We felt like rock n' roll stars. The cabaret show in the night club was spectacular. We would love to visit BA again and stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — Felt like a rock star
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed May 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

This hotel is absolutely top notch! Every detail is accounted for and the personal experience manager made my stay special. I only wish I had a few extra days to truly enjoy the hotel. The pool is spectacular and gorgeous. The spa is pristine and the staff is friendly and thorough. The restaurants offer great food and again, great service. The location is safe and convenient to a number of local bars and restaurants. One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ekkasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

We (women) stayed here in January. The service was extraordinarily friendly and accomodating. The concierges (experience managers) helped us with every request quickly and without question. The rooms were clean and stylish. The location is fabulous. Although the area is still in development, it is a very short walk to the promenade where there are several noted restaurants and bars. We were out nightly-as portenos, staying out until 2am or so--and never felt any sense of insecurity in walking to the hotel. The location is also within walking distance (albeit a bit further) to the Buquebus should you take a day trip to Uruguay.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sduprie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Just spent a total of a week in Buenos Aires - 3 nights at Faena. The hotel is a very cool space - I termed it "haunted house chic" - it is modern with traditional elements and some whimsical finishes. The pool area is very cool and relaxing, and if you don't wind up staying here, you should definitely enjoy a drink at the pool bar at night. The spa for guests (La Prarie) has a meditiation room (free) with relaxing music, lounge chairs, dim light, and all the fruit you can eat; I spent several afternoons between touring and a late dinner just chilling there - welcome respite from a busy city. There is also a hammam (turkish steam room) with a great eucalyptus infusion- free to guests - very fun and unusual. Be advised that the hotel is in Puerto Madero, which if you're from New York, is sort of akin to a less developed meat packing district. (No real attractions but some touristy nightlife.) You will need to take cabs to the B.A. attractions (nothing you would care to see is in walking distance), but cabs are cheap in B.A. There is a tango show at the hotel which is $120 US dollars per person (more if you want dinner) and be forewarned it is super cheesy; do yourself a favor and spend a quarter of that money and go to a more traditional show. The restaurants are good and breakfast is included in the rate, which is nice. Also unusual - there is no actual "front desk " but rather a group of "experience managers" (basically a bunch of concierges) who you can turn to for reservations and other conveniences - I found them all very professional, helpful, and approachable in navigating this large non-English speaking city. Beware - this is a very expensive hotel for B.A. - our "standard" room was $425 + tax per night and is among the most expensive hotels in the city. I enjoyed my stay but was disappointed about the size and condition of the room considering how expensive the hotel was. Clearly my room rate paid for the cool factor of the place. The bathroom design was really silly - one hook for one towel in the whole bathroom and a very awkward means of egress from the toilet to sink to shower. Do not expect privacy in the bathroom from your travel companion - the bathroom is surrounded by a transparent glass wall which I guess is "cool" but gives you a front row seat to your significant other's "bathroom activities".

  • Liked — The pool and hammam
  • Disliked — Stingy room size and areas of shabbiness in the room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCGal1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIGHTON ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

I chose the Faena after reading many travel reviews thinking it would be perfect for my first visit to BA.

The approach to the hotel is very cool, although somewhat off putting to be greeted by about half a dozen men in suits. Throughout our five day stay it did not become apparent what most of them actually did apart from hang around the entrance.

Christmas is definitely not the time to stay at this hotel, staff could not cope with the volume of guests. The pool area while looking good could not provide sufficient beds or seating for all guests, let alone outsiders who apparently can obtain a day pass to the pool area while using the restaurants. On Christmas day after a long and protracted check in it took nearly two hours to get a drink and salad which when it arrived did not contain half the ingredients listed on the menu.

Dinner at the Mercado restaurant was completely different, slick efficient service and excellent food and wine list.

Rooms were very large and beds extremely comfortable. Felt the bathrooms were very poorly designed, two people could not use the bathroom at one time as it involved you having to shimmy past the other person if you wanted to get to either the wc or the shower. You could not place the shower mat provided outside the shower door as the door opened outwards into the bathroom and went down completely to the floor, so you had to open the door wide and then jump to the mat placed a metre away.

There were various other niggles like not enough hot water to shower at peak times, lights not working etc.

Biggest issue had to be with the pool bar service, or completely lack thereof.

Too many suits wondering around doing very little and insufficient waiting staff.

Experience managers waste of time.

Finally, turn on a few more lights ... too dark in the public areas!

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#50 of 445 in Buenos Aires
3,304 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hotel Madero
Hotel Madero
#37 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,804 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,814 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 445 in Buenos Aires
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faena Hotel

Property: Faena Hotel
Address: 445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Puerto Madero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#14 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#16 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Faena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the waterside neighborhood of Puerto Madero and a short walk to the city’s major tourist attractions, Faena Hotel Buenos Aires redefines the travel experience by combining art, recreation, nature and technology. The hotel’s 87 rooms and suites feature exquisitely designed details, sophisticated technology and exceptional services. Oversized windows invite you to enjoy the magnificent views of the skyline, parks or Rio de la Plata. Unique room layouts features custom ivory leathers, deep red accents and warm brown furnishings. Amenities include LCD televisions, complimentary wireless Internet and Egyptian cotton linens. The hotel’s amenities include five restaurants and lounges. Faena Hotel Buenos Aires is an epicurean destination with dining experiences ranging from an authentic estancia-style asado barbecue at El Mercado to contemporary Argentinean cuisine at the Phillipe Starck-desgined Bistro Sur. A staple in the Buenos Aires social scene, craft cocktails and bottles of Malbec are sipped nightly at the chic Library Lounge and outdoor on the terrace at stunning Poolbar. Sizzling with seduction and awash with red velvet, El Cabaret is home to the world's most riveting tango show—Rojo Tango. Faena Spa, an oasis of holistic therapies for the spirit, mind, and body, blends ancient healing rituals from around the world to awaken consciousness and restore wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Faena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires
Faena Hotel Universe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing