We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy and Sophisticated.”
Review of Faena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Faena Hotel
Ranked #22 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trendy and Sophisticated.”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Large rooms, nice pool area, excellent spa. They have a Tango show every night.
This hotel have everything a 5 star hotel should have, and more.

The staff is very friendly and with a big smile all the time, there are always 2 or 3 mercedes with chauffeur at the door.

When I arrived, there were 3 doorman to greet me and a very helpful manager to check me in. Despite the fact it was late at the night.

The location is super safe, and clearly very new, it's the former harbor area. The hotel itself looks it was built on a old warehouse, and is surrounded by nice residential buildings and office towers. Very scenic indeed!!

All this complaints from other users are non-sense. These are probably old and boring people who are only used to the Four Seasons model. This hotel is more modern and a lot more interesting.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    216
    83
    37
    33
See reviews for
94
547
50
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

First of all, the hotel is not walking distance from places like Ricoletta, Palermo, Caminito or San Telmo, although Puerto Madero bars and restaurants are very close. In a rainy day only taxi is the way to leave the hotel.
The hotel is beautiful and dark. The corridor from the entrance access to the reception and restaurants is pompous, with low light, benches and a long red carpet. Pool is very pleasant, beside the library - a beautiful and glamorous bar with sofas and live music. El Bistro, the other restaurant, is modern and worth the visit. They have wine by the glass, for reasonable prices, and the food is excellent, as the service. A dinner with 3 glasses of wine and 3 plates costs around 100 USD per person (and for a little more they have a multi-courses menu with wines).
The room is very nice and charming but the ultra modernism can cut out the comfort for some: bed and TV diagonal, low and focused lights, huge white armchairs and bathroom without walls (it is surrounded by glasses and a heavy velvet red curtain). The TV has many channels and there is a potent BOSE sound and DVD system behind it. The problem was the next room guest decided to hear it loud until 2 am. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and the possibility of opening and closing venezians and curtains from the bed is great - and they block totally the light.
The wall-less bathroom is alluring although not so cozy. The cosmetics are delicious and there are large and comfortable robes, slippers and towels available. The functionality of the bathroom is not its best. Towel holder is 2 cm long and straight and doesn’t hold even a t-shirt. Tap and sink are not aligned, so the floor and glasses (the walls) are always wet. Telephone falls if you pick toilet paper.
Most of the staff is incredibly friendly - Argentineans are adorable -, but they are not so prepared as they should. For example, a suite was reserved (a guaranteed upgrade) and they gave us a regular room. When I asked they confirmed that room was a beautiful suite. Later (too late) we found out it was just a room, as it seemed.
Another example, it was a birthday and they had its records (I mentioned it on the dinner reservation and on the check-in). However there was nothing or nobody saying Happy Birthday in any occasion, as usual in other hotels (normally there is a card and a mini cake). I missed also the door man with an umbrella when it was raining to take me to the taxi and to get me from the taxi. The concierge/receptionist is usually alone so we have to wait in a line to talk to him - and there is no guide or magazine about the city in the room.
The breakfast is very good though only cold plates (except the scrambled eggs). But it is very tasty and diverse, with raw ham, salmon, different kinds of cheese, juices, croissants and fruits, served in a charming old house style restaurant with visible kitchen and a terrace.
There is a beautiful spa but the price is comparable to famous spas in cities like New York, Miami or even Dubai. My point is Buenos Aires is not so expensive to have a spa that charges you 185USD for one hour treatment. I cannot say it is worth - I didn’t try.
Overall it looks like a wonderful hotel and probably people don’t mind some lack in the service or if the room is not like home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We had a short stay stopping over in Buenos Aires on the way to Chile and decided for Fanea hotel. The place is very modern and a mix of loft style and modern chique. Our room was pretty big even though it was the cheapest category. We also enjoyed the pool area after doing some sightseeing in the city. It's relatively cheap to get to the city center by taxi but in general the location of the hotel is not very central. There are some nice restaurants and bars in walking distance however.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankfurtGypsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We've stayed at the Faena on two occassions and both times have been memorable - for all the right reasons! I felt compelled to write a review after reading so many negative comments. We always stay at 5* hotels - Four Seasons, Leading Hotels of the World etc. and we weren't disappointed with the Faena. The rooms are incredible - even the standard rooms have the wow factor - and the Kiel's toiletries are a nice touch. The pool area is lovely, well kept and the pool bar offers great drinks / snacks. The bar is great - and really comes alive later in the evening. We never had any problems on either stay with it being closed for private parties. The area around the docks is brilliant - lots of cool shops and nice reastaurants. Although eating in the hotel is a touch pricey, that's usual for a hotel of this standard - and there are loads of places just a short walk away that are a lot cheaper. The treatments are the spa shouldn't be missed - we had a lovely massage / facial.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

It's an amazing environment! If you're older than 45 don't come to this hotel.
The bar and pool are a meeting point to the trendy BA stylish people.
The decor is unique, the service from the "experience managers" is something you don't get from a regular 5* hotel and the rooms are beautiful.
The tango show is by far the best in BA. Don't miss it.
I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipa_Campilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

hotel that want to be very "tendance" but the service is awfull. One evening all the bars were booked for private party (the three bars) and as a customer the only possibility to have a drink was....to go to a bar outside the hotel!!!! And I was told that it s very commun...

When we asked for the manager, we ve been told that he is at the bar and cannot come !!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olivoliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMsenior, Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
The hotel has this kind of private event extraordinarily every year but as we have several restaurants and bars, we have always an option available for guest or outside clients. We regret the information was not given accurately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2010

The over the top design suggests high standards and a touch of class, but the service is awful and numerous mistakes made our trip unbearable. Wake up calls didn't happen, the useless staff called one of our party in the middle of the night searching for lost bags, we often waited 15 minutes to be served. The worst thing was that we could not leave. The ridiculous cancellation policy meant we were trapped in this hellhole for what felt like eternity.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMsenior, Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
We really appreciate your comments and we regret all the inconveniences. Regarding to the cancellation policy, as it was explained to the guest staying in the hotel, it was a group negotiated locally and there were terms on the contract related to early departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#50 of 445 in Buenos Aires
3,300 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hotel Madero
Hotel Madero
#38 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,802 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,813 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 445 in Buenos Aires
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faena Hotel

Property: Faena Hotel
Address: 445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Puerto Madero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#14 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#16 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Faena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the waterside neighborhood of Puerto Madero and a short walk to the city’s major tourist attractions, Faena Hotel Buenos Aires redefines the travel experience by combining art, recreation, nature and technology. The hotel’s 87 rooms and suites feature exquisitely designed details, sophisticated technology and exceptional services. Oversized windows invite you to enjoy the magnificent views of the skyline, parks or Rio de la Plata. Unique room layouts features custom ivory leathers, deep red accents and warm brown furnishings. Amenities include LCD televisions, complimentary wireless Internet and Egyptian cotton linens. The hotel’s amenities include five restaurants and lounges. Faena Hotel Buenos Aires is an epicurean destination with dining experiences ranging from an authentic estancia-style asado barbecue at El Mercado to contemporary Argentinean cuisine at the Phillipe Starck-desgined Bistro Sur. A staple in the Buenos Aires social scene, craft cocktails and bottles of Malbec are sipped nightly at the chic Library Lounge and outdoor on the terrace at stunning Poolbar. Sizzling with seduction and awash with red velvet, El Cabaret is home to the world's most riveting tango show—Rojo Tango. Faena Spa, an oasis of holistic therapies for the spirit, mind, and body, blends ancient healing rituals from around the world to awaken consciousness and restore wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Faena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires
Faena Hotel Universe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing